Ratings based on 193 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel close to town of Whitefish

Posted Aug 1, 2015
Pros: Breakfast was EXCELLENT and the morning staff was bubbly and friendly, very accommodating.
Cons: Smell in room.
Location: Went to Alpine Theatre Project musicals;road lift to summit;explored Whitefish;swam in Whitefish Lake;hiked Glacier Natl Park;visited Hungry Horse Dam
We wondered why there was a large free standing fan turned on when we opened the door to our room and we soon found out why when we turned it off. There was an odd smell in the room. The fan must have been there, and turned on, to clear the sour smell.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from WA

Like a retreat!

Posted Jul 29, 2015
Pros: The staff - friendly and helpful.
Cons: It's adequate for skiers on a budget. It's a yuppy town - limited eating establishments, none for budget minded travelers except fast food.
Location: Tourist, skiing town. We went to a play. Took the gondola ride to the summit (summertime). Lots of lakes.
It is a large facility. Rooms are adequate. It's at a ski run location about 7 miles from town which we did not know. The breakfasts were good - everyone served the same thing each morning, but changed daily. It was not what we expected, but it was OK.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Iowa

At top of the Mountain

Posted Jul 26, 2015
Pros: Friendly atmosphere and location.
Cons: Need to be more clear about location. Others might not be prepared for the drive up the mountain.
It took me some time to find Hibernation House as it was up at the top of the mountain outside Whitefish, but the views were beautiful and it was worth the drive. Friendly staff, clean and comfortable room and very good breakfast. Wish I could have stayed longer to enjoy the surroundings.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Everett, WA

Nice Place to Stay on Big Mountain

Posted Jul 24, 2015
Pros: The staff were super helpful and genuinely friendly.
Cons: My only complaint is they use the roughest toilet paper known to man in the rooms.
Location: We road up on the ski lifts, and hiked down the mountain.The trails are well kept, and clearly marked. We spent time shopping and dining in Whitefish.
My experience at the Hibernation House was nice. The price is the best on Big Mountain. The accommodations and free breakfast are not lavish, but certainly adequate. What really stood out to me was their service. Their staff are genuinely friendly, and full of useful information. The location of the hotel is also super close to activities on Big Mountain, and just minutes from Whitefish.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Calgary, AB, Canada

Too far from the Whitefish Townsite

Posted Jul 20, 2015
Pros: Cost was good and the room, though dated, was very comfortable.
Cons: Noise-proofing. Could easily include in-room coffee maker.
Location: Winter time would be great. The ski hill is "right there". If not winter, then it's a 15-20 minute drive to the townsite and other activities.
An older hotel well up near the ski hill. It was clean and functional. No complaints there, and the breakfast included with the stay was quite good. No coffee in the room and WiFi was "spotty". It was clean, spacious, and comfortable. Overall, I'd recommend it to anyone as long as you don't mind being quite a drive from the Whitefish townsite. It might need a bit of noise upgrade since it's easy to hear your neighbours and people walking in the hallway, but if you've spent your day exploring the area, if you're like me, you'll sleep thru it for the most part. Great beds! Overall, a good place to call home for a few days, as long as being close to the townsite isn't important. Certainly very peaceful.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from levittown, PA

Nice hotel for Hikers and Skiers.

Posted Jul 20, 2015
Pros: Friendly staff was very accomodating, the breakfast was good and welcome and the price was modest. Not a five star hotel, but it met all our needs.
Cons: Not much. It works and is a very pleasent place to stay.
Location: The hotel is above the town of Whitefish, MT on Whitefish (or Big Mountain) ski area. In winter it is a ski lodge. In summer a base for outdoor stuff
We enjoyed the simple ski lodge. It isn't posh, but it everything we needed. Big good breakfast and a hot tub. We hiked in the immmediate Whitefish area and drove to Glacier National Park. It is a bit far from the east side of Glacier, but it is doable and we were not the only people using this moderate price facility as our base for all kind of outdoor activities. If we return to the area, we might well stay there again, but we would probably look for other accomodations if our real destination is East Glacier Park.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Colorado

Good affordable hotel

Posted Jul 16, 2015
Pros: Affordable, lots of amenities.
Cons: Microwave in every room.
Location: On mountain resort, gondola nearby, 1 hour from Glacier NP entrance.
About 1 hour from Glacier NP. Nice breakfast, but vouchers required, don't forget to specify no. of people staying. Comfortable room, spacious dining area, lots to do around. No air-con or microwave in room, but has refrigerator (small one).
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NW Pennsy

Great home cooked hot breakfasts.

Posted Jul 16, 2015
We loved The Hibernation House. Super friendly staff, great breakfasts, not a fancyfancy place, but adequate... Especially if you are touring and gone most of the day. I took advantage of the laundry facilities....clean and working good. Used their breakfast room several times for carry-in lunches & suppers. We would visit there again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Seattle

Little far from the Glacier National Park but good

Posted Jul 12, 2015
Pros: Courteous
Room was good. The receptionist was kind enough to guide us to the hotel when we got lost at midnight wandering the streets of whitefish.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 10, 2015
The breakfast was excellent. was The staff was/is excellent and very friendly and helpful.