Ratings based on 212 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Mesa, AZ

Really nice but a long drive

Posted Jul 4, 2014
Pros: clean and comfortable
Cons: A little variety for breakfast
Overall we were satisfied with our stay at Kandahar but it wasn't ideal. I did not realize when I booked this hotel that it was located at the top of Big Mountain. That is ideal for the middle of winter and you are up there skiing but we were there in the summer to see Glacier National Park. The first night we arrived pretty late so the drive was a little annoying. I think it would be helpful to have the location obviously listed in the description. We were also a little disappointed in the lack of variety for the continental breakfast since we were there for four mornings. Every morning had the exact same items to eat. Apart from these complaints, it was very nice, clean and comfortable and would be perfect in the winter.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Wisconsin

Nice Place and staff but WAY OVERPRICED!!

Posted Jul 3, 2014
Only stayed one night on a visit to Glacier National Park 7/1/14. Place has great curb appeal and nice rooms. But the inconveniently located outdoor hut tub was not working at all during our stay and there is absolutely no view from the room windows. Narrow stairway and no elevator give you a good workout getting to your room. Would never pay that kind of money again or recommend this place to anyone else.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Billings, MT

Old hotel, but nice rustic feel

Posted Jul 2, 2014
Pros: character
Cons: showers and breakfast
Location: Alpine slide and gondola in the summer
The bad: - no elevator; tough with little kids and lots of luggage - poor breakfast (bagels, yogurt, and a boiled egg). Also, the breakfast area is very small, so we usually brought our food to the room since there was nowhere to sit. - when we checked in there was no one at the front desk - turns out he was just in the back room on the computer, and I had to go in to find him. - Shower was lukewarm with little water pressure. It wasn't horrible, it just was old, and not what I expected for the price The good: - comfortable, cozy beds - We had a loft room which was great for the kids who got to sleep upstairs. - Great fitness area and hot tub - Great location just down the street from the mountain resort activities, and great views.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Atlanta, GA

Mountain view isn't everything

Posted Jul 1, 2014
Pros:
My husband booked this hotel from the Internet. I have difficulty with walking and stairs, and we were told there was an elevator, but I never saw it. Handicapped parking was limited. Breakfast was provided, but was minimal, even for a lesser hotel. Our overall experience was very lackluster. Hotel staff kindly worked through the Wifi problem for us, and was very nice.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Julia from Canada

Loved the ambience and location.

Posted Apr 28, 2014
Nice to have breakfast, and to be so close to the hill. Loved the cookies and apple cider, and the roaring fire. A bit of a slog getting our luggage upstairs (no elevator)
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

European feel close to the ski hill.

Posted Apr 7, 2014
We spent 5 days at the Kandahar Lodge. Great experience. Very convenient to the ski hill. Atmosphere was very comfortable. We really enjoyed the european feeling of the lobby, especially the wood fireplace burning all the time. Only thing that would have improved our stay would have been a balcony with views from our room. All in all I would give it a 9 out of 10!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

No-fuss accommodation at the base of Big Mountain

Posted Apr 1, 2014
We were looking for a hotel for our ski weekend in Whitefish. We have rented condo's at the base of the hill (Big Mountain) before, and we love this arrangement when we are staying for a week and are traveling with the whole gang. This time we were only staying two days, and as we did not want the hassle of bringing and making food, we chose the Kandahar. It was perfect. We had a loft (2 queens and a king) which fit the five of us comfortably. Accommodation included a continental yet healthy serve-yourself-breakfast. The hotel offers transport to the base of the hill. It is not an easy ski-in ski-out like the condos, but it was perfect for us as we were happy to spend our day on the hill. We enjoyed dinner in town both nights.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Seung from Northbrook

Posted Mar 25, 2014 on Hotels.com
Nice decent rooms. Was expecting more of a breakfast.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 24, 2014 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Kevin from Scotch Plains, NJ

Posted Feb 12, 2014 on Hotels.com
Great hot tub and fireplace!!!