Ratings based on 207 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Billings, MT

Old hotel, but nice rustic feel

Posted Jul 2, 2014
Pros: character
Cons: showers and breakfast
Location: Alpine slide and gondola in the summer
The bad: - no elevator; tough with little kids and lots of luggage - poor breakfast (bagels, yogurt, and a boiled egg). Also, the breakfast area is very small, so we usually brought our food to the room since there was nowhere to sit. - when we checked in there was no one at the front desk - turns out he was just in the back room on the computer, and I had to go in to find him. - Shower was lukewarm with little water pressure. It wasn't horrible, it just was old, and not what I expected for the price The good: - comfortable, cozy beds - We had a loft room which was great for the kids who got to sleep upstairs. - Great fitness area and hot tub - Great location just down the street from the mountain resort activities, and great views.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Atlanta, GA

Mountain view isn't everything

Posted Jul 1, 2014
Pros:
My husband booked this hotel from the Internet. I have difficulty with walking and stairs, and we were told there was an elevator, but I never saw it. Handicapped parking was limited. Breakfast was provided, but was minimal, even for a lesser hotel. Our overall experience was very lackluster. Hotel staff kindly worked through the Wifi problem for us, and was very nice.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Julia from Canada

Loved the ambience and location.

Posted Apr 28, 2014
Nice to have breakfast, and to be so close to the hill. Loved the cookies and apple cider, and the roaring fire. A bit of a slog getting our luggage upstairs (no elevator)
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

European feel close to the ski hill.

Posted Apr 7, 2014
We spent 5 days at the Kandahar Lodge. Great experience. Very convenient to the ski hill. Atmosphere was very comfortable. We really enjoyed the european feeling of the lobby, especially the wood fireplace burning all the time. Only thing that would have improved our stay would have been a balcony with views from our room. All in all I would give it a 9 out of 10!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

No-fuss accommodation at the base of Big Mountain

Posted Apr 1, 2014
We were looking for a hotel for our ski weekend in Whitefish. We have rented condo's at the base of the hill (Big Mountain) before, and we love this arrangement when we are staying for a week and are traveling with the whole gang. This time we were only staying two days, and as we did not want the hassle of bringing and making food, we chose the Kandahar. It was perfect. We had a loft (2 queens and a king) which fit the five of us comfortably. Accommodation included a continental yet healthy serve-yourself-breakfast. The hotel offers transport to the base of the hill. It is not an easy ski-in ski-out like the condos, but it was perfect for us as we were happy to spend our day on the hill. We enjoyed dinner in town both nights.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

wonderfull place

Posted Jan 8, 2014 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 30, 2013
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Terri S from Evanston, IL

Nice Lodge if you don't want fresh air

Posted Oct 1, 2013 on Hotels.com
The hotel staff and amenities at Kandahar Lodge were very good. The outdoor hot tub was very refreshing after a day of hiking. But I was disappointed in the noise level of the rooms and surrounding areas due to the air-conditioning. We came to Montana to enjoy the fresh air. Since the temperatures were in the 50's and 60's at night I would have expected to enjoy open windows and fresh air. But I was shocked that the staff turned on the air conditioners during the day and they stayed on all night. I enjoyed our stay at the lodges in and near Glacier National Park, as we could open our windows and enjoy the fresh air, without the noise of the air conditioners, which I don't think are necessary in September. So I don't think I will stay at Kandahar Lodge again, except if we are skiing in the winter season.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by EJ from Boston, Ma

ok but overpriced

Posted Sep 28, 2013
nice entry, nice area (probably nicer in winter, we stayed here in September). Basic breakfast (not enough guests to make it worthwhile to serve a real breakfat in the highly regarded restaurant?). Noisy ACs from other rooms force you to close your own window (it was not hot at all in this period and colder nights, still people think they should run their AC).
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Gail from Belchertown, MASS

Great place to relax!

Posted Sep 27, 2013
Pros: Everything!
Cons: No
Location: Unknown--didn't leave the hotel
After hiking Glacier National Park, we stayed at Kandahar Lodge for a night before heading to the airport. We found the hotel to be just what we needed--a place to relax and enjoy. They have a great fireplace surrounded by comfortable sofas and chairs with ottomans. We decided to have dinner at the "Pub" and the waitress suggested that since our group of four ordered many separate food items and the tables were small in the "Pub" we may want to consider eating in the sofa/fireplace area. We loved this suggestion and moved in there were the waitress served us drinks and dinner--So Relaxing! After dinner we enjoyed a great relaxing time at the outside hot tub--quite large and just the four of us. Even the rooms had comfy, relaxing chairs and our friends--who had a queen bed Room had a sofa and a table that sat four people. Thank you so much Kandahar for a great ending to a perfect trip!