Ratings based on 49 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2.8 out of 5
65% of guests recommend
2.9 Room cleanliness
3.2 Service & staff
3.1 Room comfort
2.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

A very good hotel, on the promenade, nice sea view

Posted Jun 11, 2014
Pros: Room, staff, location, sea views
Location: ideal seaside hotel, well situated for Tynemouth, beaches and Newcastle
Very good hotel, reception excellent, good room with en suite facilities, sea views, very good breakfast, room was spotless, staff very friendly efficient and helpful.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not as good as previous stay

Posted May 6, 2014
A sad shadow of its former self. Having stayed on business before, it was never going to be the ritz, but now it is Run down and looking like it is on the verge of closing. No bar open or any form of refreshment available outside of breakfast it would appear. The few staff there were (seemed like only the poor girl in reception) were polite and friendly enough so no complaints there. Won't be returning unless some money spent on it's decor and overall condition.
1 out of 5
by Nina from London

Worst weekend break ever!

Posted Apr 28, 2014
The hotel is old, when we entered the room the wallpaper came down, there was mold everywhere so we requested a new room. This one was better but still not properly cleaned, the bathroom was covered in mold and the carpet was stained, the furniture worn down. On request they told us that there were no other rooms available within our price category. The breakfast was a joke, the omelet dry, poached eggs cooked through and the continental part consisted of pre-packed cereal, one juice and canned grapefruit. I don't even want to start talking about tea and coffee because you could not taste or see the difference, it was plain brown water. We couldn't sleep because the nightclub or the rooms were not soundproof so I was laying in bed singing along to Kelly Clarkson while hearing the party guests and DJ scream at each other (We were staying on the third floor...). If you want a nice and relaxing few days stay away from the Rex Hotel!!!!!!!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Very nice room but......

Posted Jan 13, 2014 on Hotels.com
......rather noisy neighbourhood.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Shopping
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 27, 2013 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Cher from Wales

Posted Nov 5, 2013 on Hotels.com
Again I had a lovely time at the Rex. The reception staff are very friendly and they go out their way to help you.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by GpC from Sheffield

Big clean room....

Posted Oct 6, 2013 on Hotels.com
Not as bad as some reviews had led me to expect. Fab location on beach. Breakfast just ok, felt it had been made and sitting under heat light for while! Staff nice. Tired hotel and carpets worn and scruffy.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Party Town

Posted Sep 25, 2013 on Hotels.com
Great Staff, & Lovely large Room and Location on sea front, Lovely Breakfast, Hotel was great except I was a bit disappointed as there were disco vibrations from 11 to 2am.
2 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 20, 2013 on Hotels.com
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Other
by Sunny from London

Whitley Bay hotel on the cheap

Posted Jul 22, 2013
Pros: Location - the sea is outside, metro station & town centre 5mins walking
Cons: There IS a nightclub downstairs til 3am......be wary if you're a light sleeper etc full of stag & hen groups
Location: Close to everything
There was some confusion about if the room was already paid for even though it's an Expedia booking.....resolved th next morning easily The bathroom has an awkward layout - towel rail is on the opposite side of the en suite. The hotel & surroundings have a shabbyness that a post-season decorating job could easily eliminate Breakfast is nice, cooked or contiental