Ratings based on 67 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.0 out of 5
72% of guests recommend
3.1 Room cleanliness
3.5 Service & staff
3.2 Room comfort
2.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Well positioned hotel right next to the promenade,

Posted Sep 16, 2014
Pros: Well positioned hotel right next to the promenade, pleasant friendly staff and prompt service. Room was clean and towels/toiletries/ hospitality tray
Cons: Hotel was rather worn, probably last refurbished 20 years ago with the bath room suffering from severe damp/ condensation problems on the outside wall
Location: Nice bay with long clean beach and walk ways, locality of hotel was rather shabby with several closed down properties.
Well positioned hotel right next to the promenade, pleasant friendly staff and prompt service. Room was clean and towels/toiletries/ hospitality tray were good. However Hotel was rather worn, probably last refurbished 20 years ago with the bath room suffering from severe damp/ condensation problems on the outside wall. Late night disco on ground floor was tolerable on the 3rd floor but wouldn't want to be any closer. Fairly cheap and cheerful.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Stay away

Posted Sep 8, 2014
First impressions, the reception was nice and clean. Very bad cobwebs in all corners leading up the stairs. Corridor was stinking of damp, very bad! Room was huge which could be so nice. Wallpaper hanging off the wall, dirty bathroom accessories. Curtains handing off the wall which did not meet, we had to use the chairs to keep them closed. Very noisy from the nightclub joined on to the hotel. On the upside, breakfast was ok.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Harwich

This hotel is better than the reviews suggest

Posted Aug 25, 2014
Pros: The hotel has character . The rooms are large (even the single rooms). Very comfortable beds with good quality linen.
This is the second time that I have stayed at the hotel. If I had checked the reviews before my first visit I would not have stayed here which would have been a mistake! Whilst the hotel is old and showing it in places, it is clean, reasonable priced and staff are friendly as well as being efficient. Yes, the night club next door can be loud but they do make it clear that there is a night club. I can appreciate that It must be difficult to keep a large old hotel like this in good repair and I do feel that many are being over critically when comparing it to modern purpose built hotels. Yes with a few million pounds spent on it, it could be fantastic, but so would the room prices!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Hotel right on seafront with wonderful view.

Posted Aug 19, 2014
Pros: The magnificent view of the bay
Cons: The appearance of the hotel needs some work
Location: The north east coast has some wonderful sandy beaches.
Hotel is in a wonderful location and we had a room that had a magnificent view of the whole of Whitley Bay. Hotel is need of modernisation and it does have a nightclub attached but we were fully aware of this when booking and feel that we had such a great view that this made up for any negatives about the hotel. Lots of customers were complaining to the staff and were very rude to the lady on reception who handled the complaints with great patience but all the reviews for this hotel clearly state about its tired appearance and the noise from the nightclub so they only have themselves to blame, we feel we had value for money.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Shame!

Posted Aug 12, 2014
Stayed twice in short space, first stay was with my 2 children. It was ok, room clean but tired looking, staff really friendly. Had to stay again at short notice with my 7 year ild girl and booked it via a different website and all I will say is that it was a farce. I will not stay again.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Southampton, UK

Large room with 2 double beds, overlooking the sea

Posted Jul 29, 2014
Pros: Its locality, Lovely sea views, staff.
Cons: Decor and furnishings, soundproofing the nightclub, more parking
Location: On the seafront, has its own nightclub, there a number of places to eat close by, a pub on the next corner, a short walk to the town itself.
Unfortunately the lift was out of order and we were on 2nd floor. Decor needs improving and updating, so do furnishings, but the size of the room and the seaview made it excellent value for the money. We had 2 double beds in our room, the beds were very comfortable and plenty of pillows. Breakfast was very good, although a couple of more options would of been nice. Parking is very limited for the size of the hotel, so this meant we had to return early each night to ensure of a parking space. All the staff were very pleasant and helpful. One downside is the nightclub which operates from a Thursday to Saturday nights, and was 2 floors below us, was extremely loud till 3am, but it does state in the description about this so we were aware just did not realize it was so close, maybe some kind of soundproofing would help.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ashington

Saturday night stay

Posted Jul 21, 2014
Pros: The room was very spacious and clean.
Cons: The decoration in the.hallways. The lift was scary.
Location: Sea opposite the hotel. Very much close to bars,restaurants and shops.
My husband and I stayed here after going to Mouth of the Tyne festival. I was aware that the Rex Hotel has a nightclub downstairs so this didn't mind this. The staff were friendly and breakfast was freshly cooked and very nice.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

A very good hotel, on the promenade, nice sea view

Posted Jun 11, 2014
Pros: Room, staff, location, sea views
Location: ideal seaside hotel, well situated for Tynemouth, beaches and Newcastle
Very good hotel, reception excellent, good room with en suite facilities, sea views, very good breakfast, room was spotless, staff very friendly efficient and helpful.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by Ally Walton from Northants

Fantastic view of the sea

Posted Jun 2, 2014 on Hotels.com
At some time this was a smart hotel, sadly in need of some TLC now
4 out of 5
Recommended
by ecsnwals from leeds

very helpfull staff good hotel

Posted May 28, 2014 on Hotels.com
the staff where extremely helpful I would definitely stay there again