Ratings based on 53 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2.9 out of 5
64% of guests recommend
3.2 Room cleanliness
3.4 Service & staff
3.0 Room comfort
2.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom NSW

Great budget holiday

Posted Nov 12, 2014
Pros: Everything in one location
Cons: Nothing that affected my stay
Location: Walking swimming dining fishing water sports
Thanks to the staff at long island for a great budget holiday over all the whole stay was pleasant and relaxing being a small resort with friendly staff. The whole package was based on staying the whole time on the island and just relaxing and dining with In house activity as a local all inclusive package great job,
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom melbourne

Amazing relaxation

Posted Oct 21, 2014
Pros: It wAs good value for money. It had everything in one spot, drinks food whether you wanted a quick meal or a restaurant experience . Great variety
Had a great time, canoeing, jet skiing, bush walking, swimming, relaxing in such a breath taking environment. People at the resort were friendly and efficient.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Sydney

hotel by the beach

Posted Sep 27, 2014
Pros: Nothing this resort needs a lot of improvement. Poor building maintenance.
Cons: I don't know
Location: No comments, totally disappointed.
my experience with Breakfree long island was very disappointing, the service is poor , our room was only cleaned once out of our 4 night stay, nobody checked if we still have toiletries and fresh towels, when I asked the reception staff why our room hasn't been cleaned she said that because we have "express booking " I don't know what she meant by that, then I went down to the reception for fresh towels, the guy who gave me the towel has said that our room will not be cleaned anymore, so disgusting, I felt discriminated. The door was noisy, during the night when it is windy it moves I have to insert a piece of cardboard to keep it steady otherwise we will not be able to sleep well.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Laura Mortensenfrom Copenhagen

Nice rooms with a great view

Posted Aug 15, 2014 on Hotels.com
About a month ago, I stayed at Break Free with my boyfriend. We had a oceanview ( definitely worth spending the extra on ocean instead of garden) room with balcony in the far end from the reception (ergo, very quiet). The room was fine, however not very big. The bathroom was newly refurbished and really nice! The balcony was awesome with the ocean just 20 meters away. There are some walking tracks around the island, which is really nice for those of us who don't want to be lying on the beach all day. In regards to food, we had brought food with us from the main land, some youghurt, bread and stuff like that. This was a good decision! Once you are on the island, your only options are to buy food at the bar or at the restaurant. We had dinner both places. The restaurant was extremely overpriced compared to the quality of the food and service! I would not recommend people to spend their money here. The bar food was app. 20-25 AUD for a main course, and it was alright. The resort had minigolf, tennis and ping pong available. Also, there were activities every day for those who wanted it. Overall, I was quite happy with our stay at Break Free. You get a little taste of the paradise that is Whitsundays for a very reasonable price.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Nelson, NZ

A disappointing stay

Posted Jul 14, 2014
Pros: The kitchen staff and food.
Cons: Revamp the hotel do up the spa bath, offer entertainment at night. Looks tired and in need of a whole new revamp. The rooms are basic very basic
Location: The location island near to other islands but costly to do other things
Disappointed with the overall experience, the facilities are tired and require updating and need to be cleaned more often. Most of the staff was helpful the only good thing was the food. Rather pricey for a very disappointing and over-rated resort. The wifi coverage broke down and didn't come on line until the day we left.This affected the TV coverage and it really was not a lot to do at night.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Gold Coast

Had a fantastic weekend break!

Posted Jul 8, 2014
Pros: Location, tranquility, beautiful views and an abundance of activities.
Cons: Food quality/variety and food and beverage prices.
Location: If you get bored of the island you can island hop to hamilton, Whitehaven beach and Airlie Beach only a short ferry ride away.
Overall a very enjoyable mini break at this resort for a weekend escape with a girl friend. The resort had a lot of activities to offer free and inexpensive. Would highly recommend booking a beach front room for breath taking views and sunsets. Cons about the resort are the price of food and beverages, food was quite average... Recommended taking your own alcohol and snacks! Many walking tracks at the resort however only 1-2 are worth trekking. This hotel is best for families and couples (but couples beware as the walls are paper thin!)
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified travelerfrom Brisbane QLD

Nice for a couple of days

Posted Jul 2, 2014
Pros: Great location, wildlife Friendly staff Free activities
Cons: Food services
Location: Bushwalking, beach, snorkelling, kayak, pedal boats, mini golf, tennis, table tennis, lots of wildlife
I was very hesitant to book our stay at Breakfree Long Island after reading the reviews about the hotel, however was pleasantly surprised. We just wanted to visit one of the islands during our Airlie Beach holiday for one night and this place seemed reasonable. Our room had a newly renovated bathroom and it was clean, but very basic with a double and bunk beds. As we stayed only for one day and one night, we were able to keep busy for the whole time trying all the free activities, bushwalking and lazing on the beach.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

friendly staff doing their best

Posted May 24, 2014
Pros: friendly staff
Cons: food, cleanliness
Location: 20 minutes ferry out from S hute harbour, daily ferry out to Hamilton Island.otherwise very quiet.
the hotel is very tired, room cleanliness is poor- look up at the ceiling fan and the light fittings, that is more than a weeks worth of dust up there! beds were clean, but the pillows There did not appear to be many other guests at the resort, perhaps we picked a quiet time,? The watersports could be advertised more clearly, there was no clear timetable for them and the person in charge of them was not helpful when we could find him.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by A verified traveler

Quiet and relaxing

Posted May 13, 2014 on Hotels.com
My friend and I stayed here, and it was quiet, because I think it's off-peak season. I like uncrowded spots, but if you book this place during peak season, it might be a different atmosphere as the staff arrange various entertaining activities for guests. All the staff were friendly and helpful. The hotel is nice and clean for its price, I booked a room with queen + single but got queen + bunks instead, and it was too late by the time we got to the room (tiring flight + ferry ride), so it might be worthwhile to check with the reception when checking in. I rated the hotel location lower because it was quite a hassle taking a ferry transfer to hamilton in order to do a tour with whitsundays cruise. The transfers took time, but it's a trade off with the price of the hotel and being on an island instead of airlie beach.
3 out of 5
by Maryfrom QLD

Nice location

Posted May 3, 2014
We had a positive surprise with the rooms. We paid a little extra for a beach front room, and it was totally worth it. The room had a good standard and the bathroom was completely new. Outside, the resort looks very old and shabby, but Happy Bay is so beautiful that you can overlook the poor standard of some of the buildings. We had a good experience with everything except the food. The dinner buffet is $38(!!!), which we didnt know before we got there. Allthough we thought it was insanely expensive, we thought we should give it a go to celebrate our first day. We expected exclusive dining... And got a school cantine. Mac and Cheese, dry chicken, tasteless fish... It was probably the most horrible food experience i have ever had eating out, and for $38! I ate better dinners at gas stations. So we had all our meals at the pool bar for the rest of the stay.. Which was still expensive for the standard of the food (premade cantine food), but it was better than the restaurant. Bar staff where all lovely and they made amazing cocktails. We chose this resort because of the price and the location. It appeared as a budget resort on Expedia, and we thought it would be perfect for two students.. But do not be fooled by the low accommodation prices. Even if it was a budget hotel, everything was insanely expensive. I truly understand that they have to keep prices higher because of their location, but they can still try to keep it to a minimum.