Ratings based on 591 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom New Mexico

Excellent motel in a mountain setting

Posted Dec 26, 2014
Pros: The rooms, the beds and the people.
Location: It is neat Williams, AZ and Flagstaff, AZ. The grand canyon is about an hour away. Sedona is about a hour away.
We were very pleased with this property. It was clean and well cared for. The staff was very good and the restaurant was very good as well. The rooms were clean, up to date and the beds comfortable. All rooms face the mountains and the views are exceptional. We would and have recommended it to our friends.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 4, 2015 by Janine, Hotel Management
Jim, Thank you for your five star review! We are overjoyed to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to seeing you again the next time you are in our area. Frank & Janine Rotter-Owners
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Spacious , clean and neat

Posted Dec 23, 2014 on Hotels.com
Visited polar express , stayed here for 1 night and went to bearezona .. Nice hotel specious rooms, very clean. Free breakfast was OK .. There is nothing like restaurants or stops within 5 miles .. But gr8 location nice views ..
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 7, 2015 by Janine, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking your time to review Mountain Ranch. We are thrilled to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and our location. We hope to see you again in the near future. Frank & Janine Rotter-Owners
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Lanefrom Phoenix

Quiet Cozy Night

Posted Dec 22, 2014 on Hotels.com
Stayed here for one night before going to Polar Express in Williams. It was not too far away from Williams and was a comfortable night.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 7, 2015 by Janine, Hotel Management
Lane, Thank you for your five star review! We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us during your journey on the Polar Express. We hope to see you this summer or for your next journey on the Polar Express or even The North Pole Experience. Frank & Janine Rotter-Owners
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 22, 2014 on Hotels.com
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by hollyfrom San Tan Valley AZ

Do not have cribs available

Posted Dec 15, 2014 on Hotels.com
This hotel looked perfect! We were very excited for our trip up north from the valley. We have three families staying at the hotel and were excited to find out our rooms were all close together. We were all going to polar express. After checking in we had time to play in the snow in the court yard. Unfortunately we weren't able to spend the night. When booked I made sure the had cribs available. Having twins that was a must. When we went to the front desk we were told they only had roll away beds. Which won't work for my 18 month twins. We tried to make a pillow fort like crib but was easy to escape. My normally 7pm sleepers were still going at 10pm and had no plans on sleeping. Therefore we made the decision to leave. Not worth the money for a place to just play in the snow. They fall asleep as soon as we got in the car. For our 3 hour drive home. So I would say NOT baby friendly. Or be sure to bring a pack n play! Which I did have one but needed the extra crib for the other baby. Knowing you normal only get one crib per room from passed hotels.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This place isn't what your sold

Posted Dec 15, 2014
No personality it's just another place with disappointment. It seems that there are a stream of less then average hotels who spruce up the entrance and add the word resort to the name. We would have been better off at the quality inn. It seems that Nothing is done to convince the guest. It's all about adding on to your bill.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice view of the San Fransisco Peaks

Posted Dec 11, 2014
Pros: The wide outdoors.
Cons: Due to the winter months, the ice machine was not working. We had to go to the restaurant.
Location: Polar Express
We had a good time at Mountain Ranch! The view was wonderful and for young children, they could run in the grassy area. Everyone was friendly and we enjoyed the "forest experience". The restaurant was expensive and not conducive to young children. Because Mountain Ranch focuses on a healthy experience, food included, the longer we stayed, I did get the feeling from adults staying there, that children were not welcome.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 4, 2015 by Janine, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking your time to review Mountain Ranch. We encourage your thoughts, suggestions, and feedback. Although you felt as if your children were not welcome by other guests staying with us, please be assured that this is not the case with us or our staff. We are very active in educating guests that food prepared healthfully tastes amazing. As you can see from other guest reviews, children of all ages are enjoying their dining experience. If you are ever in our area again, I hope you choose Mountain Ranch for your lodging and reconsider dining at The Ranch Restaurant where everything is fresh and made to order, nothing is processed. Frank & Janine Rotter-Owners
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Peoria, AZ

Nice hotel, wonderful staff and awesome chef!

Posted Dec 10, 2014
Pros: The staff, restaurant and facilities.
Cons: Mini-fridge in the rooms would be nice.
Location: Real close to Williams, Bearizona is a 5 minute drive, Polar Express (Grand Canyon Railroad) is a 7 minute drive.
The staff were all extremely friendly and helpful. The room was clean and comfortable and nicely decorated. Hand-crafted soap and Keurig coffee provided in the room. The breakfast provided was very nice. The restaurant on-site was top notch. The food was amazing and kudos to Chef Chad, who made the most delicious meals - just as good as any 5 Diamond restaurant we've ever been to. Even our two young boys who are picky eaters enjoyed the food.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 4, 2015 by Janine, Hotel Management
Steve- A sincere thank you for your wonderful review of Mountain Ranch, The Ranch Restaurant, and Chef Chad. We are estatic to hear you and your family, including your two young boys had such a wonderful stay with us and enjoyed your dining experience of healthful cuisine inspired by nature. We hope to see all of you again in the near future! Frank & Janine-Owners
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Bradley Rfrom Riverside CA

A great stay!

Posted Dec 6, 2014 on Hotels.com
It's a nice clean safe hotel property. Not very fancy, but then again, neither am I. It's a nice stopover location with clean quiet rooms and an outstanding bar and restaurant.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 7, 2015 by Janine, Hotel Management
Bradley, Thank you for your review of Mountain Ranch. We love the fact that you took notice that we do not strive to be a five star establishment. We want our guests to feel as if they are staying with family. Our culinary team and staff were overjoyed to hear you thought our restaurant was outstanding. We take great pride in offering our guests all natural, organic when possible, whole food options. We look forward to seeing you again in the near future! Frank & Janine Rotter-Owners
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by bryanfrom Manitoba Canada

sleeping in the desert

Posted Nov 26, 2014 on Hotels.com
Heater was annoying No coffee cups in room Restaurant was fabulous great waitress good food Hard to find
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 7, 2015 by Janine, Hotel Management
Hello Bryan, Thank you for taking your time to review Mountain Ranch. I apologize that there were not coffee cups in your room, this must have been an oversight on our part. We are thrilled to hear you enjoye our healthful cuisine inspired by nature at The Ranch Restaurant. Frank & Janine Rotter-Owners