Ratings based on 525 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified travelerfrom new york

Decent hotel, very close to Busch Gardens.

Posted Apr 14, 2015
Pros: What I liked was the convenience to Busch Gardens.
Cons: The pool could be improved.
Location: There were a lot of great restaurants. 2nd set had great dinner and Mama Steve's had a phenomenal breakfast.
My family and I stayed at the dbl tree for spring break vacation. The staff was very friendly. But our room was not what we saw online. It was pretty tight quarters. The bathroom towels had someone else hair in it. Good thing we brought our own towels from home. Also the cookies everyone has been raving about, aren't that great. The pool was small and not enough chlorine to kill germs.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Maryland

nice hotel for the money

Posted Apr 13, 2015
The room overall is a nice size. The bathroom is very small. It could have been a bit cleaner but was ok.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 13, 2015
We were there for a mily reunion it was beautiful. Really had a great time
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified travelerfrom Central NJ

Average Hotel - Close to Busch Gardens

Posted Apr 13, 2015
Pros: Proximity to Busch Gardens
Cons: Interior decor and cleanliness
The hotel is quite large and right on the strip of Busch Gardens. There is a arcade and indoor pool which came in super handy since we were unable to go to the park given weather conditions. The interior of the hotel could stand for a bit of an update. The rooms are quite drab and dark and the bathroom smelled like there was a sewage backup. The rooms have a refrigerator but no microwave which seems to be standard for most other hotels. We contacted the front desk regarding a local steakhouse eatery - the gentlemen said he would look into it and call us right back. We never received a return phone call. Hotel was ok for a single night stay but I wouldn't recommend for a longer stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Virginia

Wish we could've enjoyed our stay longer

Posted Apr 8, 2015
Pros: Friendly staff, variety of dining and food options, beds, and overall room accommodation
Cons: Access to room if it's on the OTHER side of the hotel. We were exhausted & kept rounding corner after corner only to find out we could've cut across
Location: Busch Gardens, Colonial Williamsburg and even a few people near us at breakfast planned to venture into Va Beach.
We arrived fairly late in the evening and were immediately greeted by incredibly friendly staff who gave us the low down on the restaurants, room service, etc without asking, which I felt was a nice touch. The room was modern, spacious, and very clean. The beds were extremely comfortable -- I'm a huge fan of covered duvets vs bedspreads some hotels still use and I loved having extra pillows already on the bed in case one we felt one of the other two (per person) was too lumpy, soft, etc. The bathroom lighting was bright, counter space large and the towels extremely generous in size. There's nothing worse than having bath towels that barely fit you, more or less your children! My only complaint, and I hate using the word "complaint" is the fact that not one of us (4 people in our room) could take a hot shower (night & morning). Actually, I would've settled for a warm, but this too was impossible because at best it was tepid. Lack of hot (or even warm water) wasn't isolated to the bathtub/shower, as the water in our sink never warmed either. The hotel was packed and perhaps this had something to do with it -- either way we took it in stride, figured it was an isolated incident and never bothered to call the front desk. If we stayed an additional night, then I would've said something. Breakfast buffet had something for everyone & the staff was EXTREMELY nice, offering tips to various tables of things to see, do, etc. The snack area was also well stocked & priced reasonably.
1 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom ashburn VA

Dirty hotel

Posted Apr 6, 2015
Once I got in the hotel I had to clean the toilet for my boys to use because there were old urine on and unde the toilet seat. The bathroom sink kept over flowing. The sofa was old and dingy. I didn't even take a shower because of how disgusting the room was. Never again
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Busch Gardens

Posted Apr 6, 2015
Convenient to busch gardens. Only negative was not able to regulate the shower temp. Cold one sec and scorching the next on same setting.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom NC

Pull out sofa is all springs

Posted Apr 4, 2015
We paid for a suite but ended up moving to a cheaper room because the sofa bed was all springs. The mattress was ridiculously thin. Of course, since I had prepaid through Expedia I could not get the refund on the more expensive room. What a scam
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified travelerfrom Virginia

Nice Hotel Close to Busch Gardens

Posted Apr 4, 2015
Pros: Location
Cons: Beds are too squishy
Location: Busch Gardens
The hotel is very convenient to Busch Gardens and is in a quiet area of town. The room was clean and the staff very friendly. My family has stayed here a number of times and are very satisfied with the rooms. The only complaint we ever have is the noise from the other guests which is usually due to inconsideration on their part so I certainly wouldn't fault the hotel.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Virginia

Mostly fine.

Posted Apr 3, 2015
The hotel was easy to find and in a good location. The only negatives that we had no hot water in the evening (back on in the morning)and the cookies were always in the oven or gone (missed them because they are so good! ). Everything else was fine and staff was very friendly.