Ratings based on 294 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Who wants a bedroom on the pool?

Posted Mar 1, 2015
Pros: hotel staff was friendly except for front desk staff
Cons: the room we had had a huge pipe right outside the only window which was absolutely ridiculous. Simply don't rent that room out.
While the rooms were nice and clean, the bedroom "window" opened to the indoor pool. We were not told about that when reserving. This stay was an anniversary visit for my wife and me but because our bedroom was right on the pool it killed any hope of romance. At 9:30 pm I finally complained about all the yelling and screaming outside our bedroom to no avail. We will not stay there again and would not recommend to anyone. It makes absolutely no since to put someone's bedroom on the pool
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom DC

Posted Jan 4, 2015
Between the construction and the stafff that didnt want to be there made it an unwelcomed feeling. Up-grading is neeeded.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Hagerstown MD

It was really bad.

Posted Jan 3, 2015
1. The hotel was under renovation. I didn't know until my arrival. 2. The hotel was dusty because of the renovation. 3. There were not enough tables for breakfast, because of the renovation. 4. Someone put a "Do not disturb" tag at the door handle, and my room was not serviced because of this. 5. There was a repair in the water system during the afternoon, and I had no hot water in my room at night. I called the reception and they sent me a handyman to fix the problem. 6. The shower was old, partially clogged and loose.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Renovation nightmare!

Posted Jan 2, 2015
Pros: The staff were friendly.
Cons: Renovation should have been better planned.
Location: Location was convenient to the historical area.
Although we knew the hotel was under minor renovations, we had no idea we would be awaken with the sound of jackhammers and construction going on at 8:00AM. Breakfast was good but a plan was not made to accommodate their guests. The "manager's resception" consisted of goldfish and some dip. I've stayed at other hotels under construction that continued to provide quality service during the renovation. The Embassy Suites in Williamsburg was not one of them.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by lisafrom moneta va

ok place to stay

Posted Dec 30, 2014 on Hotels.com
It would have been nice to know it was under construction. It was very noisy. The bathroom was not very clean upon arrival. We called for towels and waited over an hour.
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Susan Bethfrom Pennsylvania

Sad sad hotel, noisy construction

Posted Dec 29, 2014 on Hotels.com
We chose this hotel as a special treat for holiday trip, looking for the space of a suite and quality of the brand but it failed. It is a construction zone - most of the lobby and top 2 floors closed, covered in plastic and LOUD construction noise. Breakfast in the 'lobby' - greasy smell goes straight up to the floors above - like living in the kitchen. The carpet and furniture were stained and worn carpet, the tiny "suite" looked like the hotel built a wall down the middle of a regular room - bedroom so small you couldn't walk on the side of the double beds, outdated decor, bathroom glass chipped and unusable. Other than overall condition, it was clean and beds may have been new - comfortable with clean linen and fluffy comforters. When we checked in, the manager bragged about the "signature" happy hour - 1 bowl of chips, 1 veggies, 2 unidentified dips, some liquor and wine in big plastic cups in the sad sad lobby. Well, it was free so you got what you paid for. The breakfast and cleaning staff were audibly complaining about working on Christmas, but the other 2 days we stayed the entire staff was very good. When the construction racket started up on Dec. 26 we said we could not put up with it and the front desk allowed us to check out early without penalty - this may be their policy during construction and it is a good one. This is not Hilton/Embassy Suites quality. The experience spoiled our holiday and did permanent damage to the brand.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Williefrom Gaithersburg, MD

Christmas stay

Posted Dec 28, 2014 on Hotels.com
The hotel was undergoing renovation during our stay, but the service and location were great.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by changyoung

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 27, 2014 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Crofton, MD

Great place, friendly staff, awesome room.

Posted Dec 26, 2014
We really enjoyed our stay, very roomy for a big family. Awesome place for kids, dinner and breakfast were amazing. The hotel was undergoing renovations, but the staff's friendliness and assistance ensured that the renovation had little to no effect on our wonderful experience. Thank you!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 25, 2014
The hotel is going thru renovation and it was very noisy. If that is the only issue then I understand. However, only one elevator was working throughout stay therefore had to wait long time to get down to lobby or get to the room. Also, the cleanliness of the room and the bathroom was very poor, hair (not ours) was all over the bathtub, hair dryer was broke, and etc. Maybe everything will be much better once the hotel is completely renovated but for now, I don't recommend this hotel.