Ratings based on 984 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

I think they took the complaints to heart

Posted Jul 14, 2014
Pros: Greensprings might be the very first place I would be comfortable calling a home away from home.
Cons: Internet (terrible) - maybe that's too generous. Internet - pathetic, poor, awful despite their (weak) attempt to fix, but WE WOULD STILL STAY HERE.
Location: We found several OUTSTANDING restaurants nearby. The Baker's Crust, for example, was amazing. There is also Martin's, Target, etc. in the area.
I was really worried when I read the reviews of Greensprings. The complaints about the hard sell, the pay-per-user internet, and the conditions had me dreading our visit. HOWEVER, I would say they heard the complaints. There was no hard sell. They tried to get us to attend a session, but they also took "no" well. Wifi was not per-user but included in the small "resort fee", which was $2/day but is supposedly going to be $5/day shortly. The furnishings and appointments were not horribly worn or out-of-date, but they probably could use some more attention. BAD: 1) Internet was very slow, dropped out, and staff was unable to fix. This is despite the fact that the antenna was in our suite. 2) Each building is three floors, with no elevators. If you have one of the 3rd floor suites, it's a bit of a climb, especially if your building is on one of the hills over one of the parking lots. GOOD: 1) Suites were large and well-appointed, and much, much more comfortable than any multi-room hotel suite we have stayed in. 2) Community is gated, security is visible and patrols are visible. 3) Planned activities, movie at the pool, and a wealth of other goodies made the place great fun for the kids. For example, there are tennis courts, a beach volleyball court, shuffleboard, DVD rentals, basketball hoops, etc., and Greensprings has the gear 4) Charcoal grills and picnic tables 5) Close enough to Bush Gardens and Colonial Williamsburg. 5) AWESOME restaurants nearby
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Maryland

The oops hotel reservation

Posted Jun 30, 2014
Pros: Everything.
Location: Colonial Williamsburg, Busch Gardens, Water Country USA, Norfolk, Newport News....
We had booked a one night stay in Williamsburg at another hotel. For the wrong night. I went onto Expedia and found two options, one at a pretty cheesy hotel and one at Greenspring, which was not cheesy or cheap. It was worth every penny. The resort is gorgeous, gated, had an amazing pool and workout facility, with the best equipment I have every seen outside of a gym. Our suite was huge, very comfortable, and very clean. We are actually thinking of going back for a week sometime.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Buffalo,NY

Very Roomy and comfortable beds

Posted Jun 23, 2014
Great hotel! Pool was great! Condo was very spacious, but dated. Some furniture was broken and toilet in master bath had problems. Concierge talked us into going to a timeshare "brand awareness" meeting. They tried to sell us rental time. When we said no, they were very rude.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Lauri from Leonardtown, MD

Stone Buschgarden vaca

Posted Jun 2, 2014
Pros: the suites were side by side
Cons: I though expedia said it was 3-4 miles from Busch Gardens it was 18.
Location: Water Country & Busch Gardens
Very nice. Booked 2 suites for 12 people. Everyone was comfortable.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent

Posted May 24, 2014
It very elegant, had a wonderful view, had lots of fun, it was plenty of things to do at the hotel
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by mother of bride from north carolina

Wedding Party retreat

Posted May 22, 2014
Overall it was a lovely stay but we had difficulty checking in due to our reservations coming through expedia. I booked the reservation but my husband and the wedding party arrived first. The manager did not let them check in even though she had spoken to me on the phone and we all had the same last name. The entire wedding party sat in the lobby and in cars for two hours waiting to check in. Rules should serve and protect ..... That was ridiculous!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 13, 2014 by Diamond, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. We are pleased to read that your stay at Greensprings Vacation Resort was generally a very enjoyable one, but we’re sorry to note that your experience was somewhat marred by your party’s check-in experience. In the interests of our guests’ security, we do require the person whose name is on the reservation to be present before their party will be able to check in – in the event that you have multiple reservations booked, we would strongly encourage you to either book them in the names of different guests, or notify the resort’s front desk of the situation prior to your arrival. We hope that this issue has not dissuaded you from returning here, and we look forward to your future patronage.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from North Carolina

Posted May 18, 2014
Hotel and grounds were perfect. We had a large party arriving for a wedding. The group arrived before me and the manager would not let them check in because the reservations were in my name and booked through Expedia. Even though I called and spoke with her directly while my husband was standing there she made them all sit in the lobby and their vehicles for two hours until I arrived. Rules should serve and protect us..... this was ridiculous.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 13, 2014 by Diamond, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. We are really pleased to read your positive comments about the resort and its grounds, but we’re sorry to read that your experience here was somewhat marred by your party’s check-in experience. In the interests of our guests’ security, we do require the person whose name is on the reservation to be present before their party are able to check in – in the event that you have multiple reservations booked, we would strongly encourage you to either book them in the names of different guests, or notify the resort’s front desk of the situation prior to your arrival. We hope that this issue has not dissuaded you from returning here, and we look forward to your future patronage.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by April from Newport news va

Loved being there

Posted May 17, 2014
Great place for comfort have every compliance a home could have 24hr security
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Posted May 14, 2014
I have been to Williamsburg numerous times and have never considered staying at a resort versus a hotel, but after staying at Greensprings I have changed my mind. The resort was beautiful and very well kept. It has gated security which is nice and all the staff was very friendly. It ended up raining a majority of the time we were there so we didn't get to see a lot but I would definately like to go back and see what other amenities they have to offer.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 13, 2014 by Diamond, Hotel Management
We are really pleased that you chose to stay at Greensprings Vacation Resort for your most recent stay in Williamsburg, and that you had a great time here! We hope you’ll get the opportunity to return here when the weather is more favorable, to take advantage of everything the resort has to offer, and we look forward to being of service to you again.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by liza from arlington va

Staff are incredible, unit needs upgrade

Posted May 13, 2014
The staff are the best- everyone was friendly, professional, competent and fast. The unit was large and well layout Smelled of cigarette smoke , outdated furniture and design, broken tiles in bathroom, bathroom sliding glass door off hinge- upgrade needed