Ratings based on 365 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Washington, DC

Fantastic Staff

Posted Sep 11, 2014
We chose to stay at the Kingsmill resort during our trip to Colonial Williamsburg, because of the great facilities we saw online. What made our stay amazing was the staff! Everyone was very accommodating and extremely helpful, incredibly funny and inviting. We never felt unwelcome, in fact, we were made to feel like part of the Kingsmill family! I wish we'd stayed longer, but if we find ourselves back in Williamsburg, VA, I know exactly where we'll be staying!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Philadelphia, Pa

A kings hotel

Posted Sep 9, 2014
Very nice place to stay, however rooms are far away from main building and shuttle service is in attentive. Beautiful rooms and grounds. Food good but priced high. Lazy pool closes in sept but wasn't made aware of this upon reservation. Overall pleasant and good experience.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Toronto

Beautiful setting

Posted Sep 2, 2014
Cons: Get rid of the police with the radar trap on the way into the hotel grounds. How about starting your stay with a speeding ticket? Nice.
Location: Williamsburg is nice. Busch Gardens is fun, but get there early. Colonial parkway is a great drive.
Overall, this is a very nice hotel and the rooms are clean and well appointed. The facilities are good. It isn't 5 star, but it is very good. The pool and lazy river are nice for the kids. The golf is excellent. The restaurants are good with the Marina Restaurant being the best by far.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from washington dc

Screen door kept falling off. The toilet flooded.

Posted Sep 1, 2014
Not the best maintained rooms. No fridge. Nothing but an apology when the toilet overflowed and flooded the bathroom and wet the hallway carpet - no offer to change rooms or a free night or anything.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 26, 2014
Very good time. Staff was helpful. Restaurants great.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Fairfax, VA

Great place and great people

Posted Aug 24, 2014
Went for a few days and enjoyed the property. Just enough to do without getting bored. Room was nice, licated on 9th hole of the River Course so enjoyed watching tournament groups come through. Every single staff member was great but Brandy that works at Eagles Bar was amazing. She was very friendly and had great recommendations.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 16, 2014
We got the wrong room. Expedia was not good at all. Next time, I will call the hotel directly to get the reservation. We paid double price via expedia. Worst experience.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Syracuse, NY

Posted Aug 14, 2014
Pros: Great location. Awesome lazy river pool.
Location: Great location in Historic Triangle -- Williamsburg, Jamestown, Yorktown. Shuttle service to Busch Gardens, Colonial Williamsburg.
Terrific experience for the whole family. Beautiful, large property with something for everyone. Lots of trails for running, walking. Spa services, including teen spa treatments. The kids and I enjoyed the pools. We stayed in a one bedroom unit with full kitchen and purchased our groceries from Harris Teeter which was less than 10 minutes away.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from North Carolina

Lovely Property! Lots to Do! Wonderful Staff!

Posted Aug 11, 2014
Pros: Resort feel, lovely property, good food, great service
Cons: The rooms are very very noisy, from a/c units to the paper thin walls. Not sure what can be done.
Location: Great shopping, recreation, close to college, and on the water.
This hotel property is lovely and the setting and location is wonderful. The staff are genuinely pleasant and very customer service oriented. Transportation around the property is convenient and timely and the drivers are very accommodating, kind and helpful. Food and restaurants were fabulous. One "negative" would be that the hotel room walls are paper thin! You can hear every conversation, television, music, and noise in the adjoining rooms, entrance ways, and above and below in great, LOUD detail! Awful! Also when the a/c unit switches on, it is so startling loud, and sounds like a freight train. We had to increase the volume on the television absurdly high just to hear, then turn it back down when the a/c switched off again- Over and over. Very annoying! Maybe not the place for a uninterrupted, quiet night's sleep! Other than that, it's a lovey place!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice facilities, below average accommodations

Posted Aug 9, 2014
We really enjoyed the location which is super close to Colonial Williamsburg and right next to Busch Gardens. The facilities at Kingsmill are also great for families, especially the pool which my 6 year old loved. That said, the actual room where we stayed was pretty disappointing. It seemed to have a broken air conditioner or bathroom vent - either way, it was more humid inside than outside to the point where everything was damp. There were cobwebs in the corner with actual spiders in them. The bathroom was finished really poorly - with a big splotch of dark brown putty on a white door that no one had ever sanded down and repainted and a terrible putty job around the tub. There was no fridge or even an icebucket. There was a Keurig coffee maker, but only two small packets of creamer for 3 pods of coffee. I've stayed in many 4 star hotels and this definitely felt like 2 stars, which is fine, but not what we were expecting. We stayed at at Comfort Inn at the end of the trip and had a better room experience for 90 less a night. We ate at one of the restaurants, and found it pretty overpriced for very average food. I also had to send the bread basket back since what I originally received actually seemed like a basket of stale scraps. Again, the facilities and location are great, but we probably wouldn't spend the money to stay here again.