Ratings based on 466 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.7 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from SC

Renovation nightmare

Posted Jun 20, 2015
Pros: At this time, nothing.
Cons: Expedia should stay updated on properties they handle.
The worst complaint - they shut off water Saturday afternoon and we could not use bathroom or shower and had a reception and graduation to attend. We had been out all moring in 90+ weather and really needed to shower. The first night the air unit sounded like a motor boat all night. They did replace that . Bathroom light was so dingy, we could hardly see. No mat in bath tub. If it hadn't been for safety rail, we would not have used. We were told only two weeks before our trip that it was no longer a LaQuinta but now a Main Stay. If it had been earlier we could have found other lodging. This place should have been closed down until they were finished renovating. I spoke to manager and all he did was say he was sorry. Unacceptable. I assume when renovations are completed this might be an OK place, but we should have been told of the change of owner and the current work being done. Who would turn off the main water on a Saturday afternoon in a tourist town. We were there for our grandson's graduation and this was inexcusable.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Students
by A verified traveler from Freeport, ME

Servicable hotel for sleeping

Posted May 22, 2015
Pros: Clean, quiet and an adequate contenential breakfast in the morning
Cons: Have the water dispenser available 24hrs. The water out of the tap had an off taste.
Location: Lots to do in historic Williamsburg, Bush Gardens, Jamestown.
We were in Williamsburg for my son's graduation and just needed a place to sleep at night while spending the days on campus and surrounding areas. This hotel was clean and quiet so it serviced the purpose of getting a good night's sleep. Parts of the building look a bit 'tired' or worn but it also appeared that the hotel is undergoing renovations. We were thrown a bit when we tried to find the place because there wasn't a La Quinta sign on the hotel. Instead it said, "Main Stay - coming soon".
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Detroit area

Great place overall and for dog owners

Posted May 21, 2015
We have stayed here before and came back intentionally because it was such a nice hotel and a great place for dog owners. There was a nice area to walk the dogs, and doggie bags; the hotel itself has nice rooms, very clean and attractive and a very nice breakfast bar. Staff is just outstanding, as friendly as ever. I ranked the hotel facilities condition a bit down because we were at this La Quinta literally the few days before it was to be renovated and changed into a MainStay facility.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by tonia from delaware

A Fair Room for the Price

Posted Mar 23, 2015 on Hotels
Room was clean, but needing some maintenance as the backside of the bathroom door's paint was peeling, the door trim needed some repair and paint on the trim; furthermore, one of the window's did not lock. The room smelled as if it had been closed for a while, not musty, just stale. The broken lock on the window would not have concerned me if I had not been on the ground floor, but as it was, this was a concern once I discovered it....the third night of my stay
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Dirty

Posted Mar 16, 2015 on Hotels
I have stayed in about 10 hotels from the northeast to Florida in the last month. Without question, this is the worst.....dirty, grungy, a mistake. The dog acceptance feature is a plus
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Patricia from Silver Spring, MD

Ok

Posted Feb 17, 2015 on Hotels
I know that there was construction going on but the room was cold as was the hotel in general. My breakfast got cold before I could finish it because it was so cold.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Jorge from Lynchburg

Excellent stay

Posted Jan 23, 2015 on Hotels
excellent. the staff could not have been more helpful
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by JOHN

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 6, 2015 on Hotels
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Teri from Camp Springs

Fine place to stay near Williamsburg

Posted Jan 5, 2015 on Hotels
Condition was okay. Could have used a little paint but it looked as if they were undergoing some face lifts. Overall was fine for what we needed but I thought the price was a little high. Would be great for family with little ones with the indoor pool.
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Kelly from Arlington, VA

Under renovation - wish someone told me

Posted Jan 5, 2015 on Hotels
No one told us the hotel was under construction and renovation was being completed. I wanted a hotel with a pool for the kids and the pool was closed. I was one of maybe 3 guests there. Room right near the elevator. Staff were always on smoke breaks with renovation crews. Checked in and checked out. Hated the place.