Ratings based on 3,337 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Waldorf, MD

Peaceful and relaxing location

Posted Jan 20, 2015
Cons: The rooms could be spruced up a little, they are rather plain. The indoor pool is small and starts at 3ft.. so my little child was unable to play.
Location: There is so much to do in the area. We tried to visit new places and experience different parts of the town.
My family traveled here for a quick getaway and were not disappointed. The resort was as I expected and I even arrived to find out that I had been upgraded for free. Every call I made to the front desk and concierge was answered adequately and professional. I was so appreciative of the fact that the technology team assisted us so quickly with our internet problems. Made our stay sooo much better.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom FL

Posted Jan 20, 2015
Cons: TV reception was very fuzzy, bad connection.
Our room was wonderful. Had everything you needed. Nice comfy beds too! Close to restaurants and activities.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Delaware

Georgous rooms

Posted Jan 12, 2015
Pros: Bueatiful rooms. Nice pool. Lots of activities.
Cons: Stop repeating sales pitch and also get all working stuff in the teen video activities. b
Very bueatiful place. The rooms were spacious and had everything you could need. This was a 2 bedroom condo so we had a kitchen and washer and dryer. The dryer came in handy for the wet swimsuits. There was a nice indoor pool with 2 hot tubs that we enjoyed. they also have out door pools but it was to cold to use. The beds were very comfortable and I have back issues and slept wonderfully. The staff were very friendly. The reson i only gave a 4 for staff is because this place is a time share place. I booked it as a one night hotel stay not thru a time share thing. Once you check in they ask you to go get your welcome pack, It is a bag with travel booklets for the surrounding area. This gift is just a way to get you to get over to the sales people. They then try to get you to buy a second trip that includes a timeshare presentation. I politely said no a few times. We were in our room about 30 mins and the phone rings. Yep, they were trying to sell the package again. I again said no. I dont know if it was them the next morning calling because i did not answer the phone incase it was them. We had our cells so our family could reach us so I dont know who else it would have been. My son went to the Teen Night activity time for video games. He was alittle dissapointed because the rock band drums and one guitar hero guitar were broken, He said there were other games not working too. overall a good place if you can say no to the sales pitch.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice units

Posted Jan 9, 2015
Pros: Nice
Cons: Don't know was not able to enjoy it
Location: Great locations to grocery store
My husband and I were very sick and was unable to go out and enjoy the sirrounding area.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Williamsburg Letdown

Posted Jan 5, 2015
Having stayed at this particular resort before, I expected a pleasant experience. Instead I was greeted by worn out staff, shown to a room that was falling apart, and was interrupted while bathing by the maintenance personnel. My money will be going elsewhere for vacation accommodations.
1 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Powhatan Resort va.

Just okay

Posted Dec 30, 2014
Check in went smooth except we were told of a grounds fee of $12 a day for grounds fees. We were sy surprised since t th ere were several pools but it was winter and too cold to swim. By worth the grounds fees. Th en we were jumped on right away to sit thru a presentation to buy a condo to get free stuff right as we checked in. We were directed to that line after we checked in and told it was for additional coupons to enjoy for our stay. The reality us you had to agree to sit Thu the long presentation to get the fee stuff. Very misleading! The condo was adequate and comfortable.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 11, 2015 by Diamond, Hotel Management
Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay at The Historic Powhatan Resort. We are glad to hear that your check-in went smoothly and that you found your room to be comfortable. As we are a Vacation Ownership property, we do invite all guests to stop by our Concierge desk after check-in for information regarding on how they can obtain free tickets to area attraction; however, guests are not required to stop at this desk. This department can also assist guests with traditional Concierge services, even if they are not interested in attending one of our sales presentations. We are sorry to hear that you were disappointed with the $12 daily Resort Fee. In addition to the grounds and swimming pools, this fee also includes the usage of our free Wi-Fi, free local calls and other services that most traditional hotels charge a la carte. We hope that will consider staying with us again on your next trip to Williamsburg.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very good.

Posted Dec 29, 2014
Pros:
The hotel room is clean and spacious with two extra single beds upstairs in the loft which is very good for families with more kids. The community is gated and clean too. We feel very welcome by the stuff. We extended the stay for another night. The rate is comparably low, but only when you purchase online from Expedia.The hotel also provides good discount for Christmas Town and other attractions tickets.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom covington, va

Good location but terrible rooms

Posted Dec 28, 2014
Pros: Location
Cons: The rooms
Location: Shopping and historical areas
We have stayed here many times in the past but this time the room was horrid. Unclean, unkept and nasty. It needed a complete overhaul. The ceilings looked to be leaking, drawers were falling apart baseboards falling apart and pictures in pieces.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 3, 2015 by Diamond, Hotel Management
Thank you for choosing the Historic Powhatan Resort again for your choice of accommodations in Williamsburg. We regret to hear that your were disappointed with your particular room during this most recent stay. Your concerns have been brought to the attention of our Maintenance Manager for review as well as training and coaching purposes. We are currently in the midst of a multi-year room renovation project with 100 units having been upgraded in 2014 and another 108 units scheduled for renovation in 2015. Given the appeal that our resort has to you because of the proximity to shopping and historical areas, we hope that your experience will not deter you from staying with us again in the future. Although we cannot guarantee requests, we would encourage you to request one of our newly renovated units should you decide to stay with us again!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom va

Great getaway

Posted Dec 28, 2014
Pros: Proximity of everything needed in one area
Cons: Earlier check ins....at least 1 pm. Much more to do and see
Location: Shopping, grocery stores, churches, you name it
Quick and easy checkin. Marissa and the young lady who checked me in were very pleasant and warm spirited.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location, quiet, and convenient.

Posted Dec 24, 2014
My 1st choice when traveling to Williamsburg. Quiet, comfortable, and great location. Much more comfortable than a hotel.