Ratings based on 3,441 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 15, 2015
Our stay was worry free. The condo was spacious and met every need of a home away from home. If we are in the area again, we will stay here.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

girls getaway

Posted Apr 14, 2015
check in went rather quickly. The condo was spacious, clean and comfortable.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

spacious rooms, great for families.

Posted Apr 14, 2015
unfortunately the person who checked me in was very rude. He insulted my 16 year old daughter. We were only there one night and at 9am they wanted us to go on a timeshare tour. I was not there to view a timeshare property.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom New York

Not accommodating and a pushy hard sell!

Posted Apr 13, 2015
Room was nice. Clean and spacious. No maid service or towel service. Told to use washer and dryer but no detergent supplied. Would think the shorter stays would warrant these services and the longer stays would use the machines. Was hit with the hard sell timeshare as soon as I walked in after driving for 9 hours and they wouldn't let me take the literature to read with money up front. Thought that a little strange. Will definitely go with a hotel next time.
1 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom OH

Would choose a budget motel over this "resort"

Posted Apr 13, 2015
Pros: Room layout was nice.
Cons: See above. EVERYTHING could be improved.
Location: Close, easy access to Williamsburg, Yorktown, Jamestown. Reasonable drive to Richmond, Norfolk. Close proximity to Roman Catholic church.
Wanted a ‘home-like’ place for our kids to wake up on Easter Morning. Reserved a 2-bdrm suite. NOT IMPRESSED FROM MINUTE ONE Forced to provide our name 3 times in less than 2 minutes, (Security Shack, Top of Queueing Line, and Desk) even tho lobby empty. Hostess read off ratty paper lists of incoming guests to find reservation. At a ‘resort’, they should have security guard notify clubhouse we had arrived, staff should have been prepared to greet us by name, queueing hostess should have introduced us to check-in agent. FELT MORE LIKE AIRLINE CHECK-IN THAN RESORT CHECK-IN. Charged extra for ‘resort fees’ (including WiFi) at check-in, even tho stay was prepaid and less than 10 hours (checked in 10pm, out 8am). At end of check-in, were told to enjoy ‘free’ WiFi...that we’d just paid for. Knowing were checking out by 8am, still robotically walked us thru full week’s schedule of activities (FYI - the ‘resort’ fee did not include any activity that involved materials or craft supplies, like tie-dying tshirt, potting a plant) ROOM TO MOVE BUT DIRTY, DAMAGED Suite was spacious, comfortable, incl’d washer, dryer. BUT recent renovations were beyond sloppy: grout globbed everywhere, water damage, gouges in walls, doors poorly repaired. Hand rails, fixed railings very loose. Carpet looked and felt filthy; furniture looked purchased at second-hand store; stove appeared unsafe to use. No TV in Bdrm 2. Dishes in cupboard all dirty. WILL NEVER STAY WITH DIAMOND RESORT AGAIN
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Seaford, De

can't wait to return

Posted Apr 13, 2015
I really enjoyed our stay at the resort. I have no complaints about the room or any of the accommodations. My one and only complaint was that I was not aware that my card would have a $100 hold for the entire stay. My husband and I did not come with much spending money and this caused us to have a lot less than we thought, so we had to watch everything we spent. Other than this, great stay and can't wait to bring the kiddos next year in the summer.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom V

Nice hotel poor staff

Posted Apr 13, 2015
The Historic Powhatan Resort is astetically pleasing resort and even the rooms looks very lovely but the staff and cleanliness of the resort are much to the contrary. Upon checkin which is at 4pm I went into the suite with all my belongings to find the room in utter chaos. Pillows were thrown in the floor, pots and pans were all over the counter tops and beds where not made. I called to the front desk and told them of the situation, only to be brushed off and told the room was "clean" but in "inspection mode". I was advised to stay in the room until guest services could come and fix the room. Keep in mind that this was 430 now. I informed the receptionist that I had dinner arrangements and need to be in a room to prepare for the night. I went back to the front office and was given a new room. The guest liaison did not offer any compisation for the problem until I mentioned that I would appriecte some kind of incentive. She then gave a 25$ voucher to the bar and grille on site and informed me that the new room would be clean. At this point the time was 430. The second suite that I entered had dirty linens sitting on the front stoop. So I had a sense that something was probably wrong with this room as well. Sure enough when I entered the room it was not clean and was in the process of being cleaned. Once again I went to the front office and told the desk clerk of the issue. She then got the manager. The manager redirected me to yet another room with a AC that was broken.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Richmond, VA

Huge space, great value

Posted Apr 13, 2015
Pros: Size and value
Cons: more indoor pools and amenities
Location: close to shops, parks, and BG as well as the historic triangle location
Not sure if this was just a crazy special I stumbled on, but this is by far one of the best values I've ever found in a hotel. The rooms were HUGE, the location convenient, the resort was beautiful, and our stay was as great as could have possibly hoped. If I have to share a few "misses" (and these were extremely minor) they would be that with only one indoor pool at a resort this size (the outdoor pools were not open/still a little cold) the pool was too crowded to enjoy and there were several requests for us to attend a time share seminar. Otherwise, HIGHLY recommend the Historic Powhatan resort.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Virginia

Nice weekend getaway

Posted Apr 13, 2015
Pros: Location and the grounds were beautiful. The accommodations were better than described.
Cons: The shower in the master bedroom did not work. No way to turn it on so the only option was to take a bath. Need updated TV's in the bedrooms.
Location: Historic Downtown Williamsburg, Outlet Shopping, dining
My sister and I were traveling for the weekend and wanted to stay at a location central to everything in Williamsburg. It was perfect. Beautiful facility, friendly staff.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Bay Area, California

Brief Encounter

Posted Apr 12, 2015
Pros: The location was good, and the facilities were nice - except for the one thing noted below.
Cons: The next door neighbor's bathroom exhaust fan was worn out and so noisy that it sounded as though a loud motorcycle was in the next room.
Location: Near Colonial Williamsburg, Mt. Vernon.
We only spent two nights at the hotel, arrived late at night (10 pm) and were out touring Colonial Williamsburg all next day and then left at 5:30am the following morning. We would love to return to explore all that the area and the resort has to offer.