Ratings based on 302 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Another Trip to Williamsburg

Posted Feb 12, 2014
Pros: Fitness Center was awesome!
The room was nice. Could have used another sink in the bathroom, but other than that, it was very nice and comfortable. And affordable. I loved the fitness center too!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

good to have fun with kids

Posted Feb 3, 2014
But beware about safety in the game room if you have young boys like 2 or 3 years old.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 3, 2014
3 out of 5
Recommended
by Jonathan from New York

pros and cons

Posted Jan 2, 2014 on Hotels.com
Just know going in that this is a time share resort, not a hotel. As a result, it checking in takes a lot longer and there are more hoops to jump through. Also, it's a massive complex, and getting to your room usually means driving there. The rooms are located in apartment-like buildings, and there are no elevators, so if your room is on the third floor, you'll be dragging your luggage up the stairs. There is a pool near the reception building, but it's a bit small. Also, the hotel rooms are a bit old and dingy, with stained brown carpet and inadequate lighting. You won't want to spend much time in there, beyond sleeping. That said, they are really spacious, with the 2-BR about the size of a regular apartment, with a little galley kitchen and 2 bathrooms. Also on the plus side, the hotel is fairly centrally located, and just a few minutes from most of what you'd want to see in Williamsburg. Just know going in that this is not really a hotel. We were just staying a night, and checking in took 25 minutes, with long explanations about the amenities, getting wristbands, looking at maps, etc.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Dick from Upstate New York

Posted Dec 15, 2013
Suites are spacious and comfortable. The only negative is that you have to withstand the pressure to listen to their timeshare presentation. It's not a requirement, but they really do want you there. If you're willing to endure their high pressure, you do get a great room at a great price.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Williamsburg-Kingsgate

Posted Dec 12, 2013 on Hotels.com
Highly recommend. Smooth check-in, no pressure to attend sales meeting. 2 bedroom condo was large with nice kitchen. Our only complaint was the hot water. They state that they have have tankless, on demand, hot water heater and it takes awhile to get hot water. Boy, was that ever true! You had to run the water for many minutes to even get it luke warm.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not a true hotel, it's a resort

Posted Dec 10, 2013
This would be a great place if advertised as a resort fro long term stay. It is not a hotel in the true sense of the word. At all cost avoid falling for the "free breakfast, tickets and calendar lure" as you will waste more than hour of your vacation time into listening a "power push" to buy the equivalent of a time share, with the known pressure tactics and multiple people that have to sign your release. You will be truly disappointed if you are expecting any and all of the usual hotel fringe benefits (bed made, replenished soap, shampoo, trash collection, etc. supplies). For the use of exercise facilities, pool, etc. you will be charged $5.00 regardless if you use the facilities or not.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by Jody Strauch from Wyndham Williamsburg VA

Posted Dec 2, 2013 on Hotels.com
WE would never stay there again. The quality was poor. We had little to no hot water during most of our stay. Also there was bags of laundry sitting outside of our door for almost 4 days. We were scared to know if it was old or new. The amenities area was very worn down and outdated.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Cheryl from Vienna, VA

Bed very uncomfortable-room smelly

Posted Nov 13, 2013
Pros: The pool, hot tub and smores
Cons: Odor in the room and the mattress in the 2nd bedroom
Location: The location was great, close to everything and easily accessible.
The resort has many amenities and offers much for a family to enjoy. However, our unit smelled of cat urine which had been attempted to cover with other fragrance. Immediately we noticed a different smell in the room but couldn't distinguish what it was. we were there 4 days and by the time we left, it was very clear what it was. Also the bed in the 2nd bedroom was horrible. I have never complained about a hotel mattress before as I am not all that particular about a mattress. This mattress however was terrible. It was like a cardboard box with a mattress pad on it. All 5 of us crowded onto the remaining 2 beds. We did put a little one on that bed for a short period of time but all in all, it was un-useable.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by Kathy from Charlottesville, VA

Mattress needs to be REPLACED!!!

Posted Nov 10, 2013 on Hotels.com
Overall, a nice play to stay especially if you have children. The indoor game room, and the King's Cinema on grounds are very nice. I did not like the quality of the mattress and bedding in the one bedroom unit. The mattress was old, lumpy, and uncomfortable. I returned home with a very sore back from sleeping on the mattress at Kingsgate. These old mattresses need to be discarded.