Ratings based on 357 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by Nataliefrom West Va

50 years of Blockade Runner

Posted Sep 3, 2014 on Hotels.com
This hotel has been revitalized and offers many of the amenities of resorts 5 times it size. AM yoga by the beach, great restaurant with excellent breakfast. Well staffed. I think my only disappointment was the sparsely furnished room with ceramic tile but in retrospect I assume that is how they keep the rooms cleaner (no carpet). Perhaps the last minute hotels.com deal affected the type of room offered. My oceanfront queen room had sliding glass doors but no seating area/balcony. However, we could hear, see and smell the ocean from our door/window. Overall, it was a great escape and I would definitely go back.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Jenfrom DC

Paradise

Posted Aug 24, 2014 on Hotels.com
What a wonderful experience! From the minute we walked through the doors, the service was fantastic. The grounds were beautiful, and the beach -- stunning. I would stay there again anytime!
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 9, 2014 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
by C Lindquistfrom Alaska

Posted Aug 9, 2014 on Hotels.com
The location is great and the grounds are beautiful. The breakfast buffet was excellent.The only complaint was that the pool bar isnt open late enough. It should be open until 10:00.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 9, 2014 on Hotels.com
Wonderful location. Nice beach. Just the inside of the hotel is really aged
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Tinafrom Dublin

Wonderful Wrightsville

Posted Aug 8, 2014 on Hotels.com
From the moment you drive over the bridge into Wrightsville Beach you know you are somewhere special. You have the beautiful sound on one side and a fantastic beach on the other both visible from The Blockade Runner. The hotel was built in 1960s and this is reflected in the architecture; its weakest point. However do many great points; wonderful Southern welcome and service, a fabulous pool area with the most comfortable loungers, a wonderful breakfast included in the price and the opportunity for outside dining in a beautiful setting. Our room had a view of the sound and was a good size. A little wear and tear but ti be expected with beach material being brought through day in and out and what a beach with private access from the hotel. Great vacation overall
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Diane Millerfrom Winchester, VA

Posted Aug 4, 2014 on Hotels.com
Great location but we had several problems during our three night stay. First, there was a problem with the door to our room and every time we tried to enter, our key card did not work. Maintenance had to be called and door re-programmed every time. We had nine keys made in three days. The first time I didn't mind, but quite frankly, it became very annoying and hotel management seemed indifferent to the problem. Also, no matter how many times I told housekeeping that there were four of us, they never left enough towels. I think they should have reduced the price for all the hassle we went through.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom p

Posted Jul 26, 2014
Light outside window too bright . Should have Ice machines on floors though service was prompt. Should not charge for beach chairs,
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Tiffanyfrom Indiana

Excellent but amenities were expensive

Posted Jul 26, 2014 on Hotels.com
This hotel was fantastic! I looks a little shabby from the outside but once you walk in you are very impressed by how well kept and modern the hotel is. The rooms were very nice and well kept. The only complaint I have is that the amenities were expensive. My sister and I each got 1 drink at the poolside bar and it was $30! So BYOB if you intend to stay here! Great access to the beach and all of Wrightsville Beach and Wilmington. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone going to the area!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Mariafrom Winston Salem, NC

close to Wilmington

Posted Jul 21, 2014 on Hotels.com
Great resort for a beach vacation! Resort staff was friendly and johnny on the spot! I would recommend this place to stay. Also, Blockade Runner is close to Historic Wilmington.