Ratings based on 192 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.5 out of 5
76% of guests recommend
3.5 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Fairfax, VA

Very little sleep tonight

Posted Sep 29, 2014
Pros: Nothing
Cons: The Hotel in general
Location: Nothing to do. Most places that where there years ago have been closed down and car dealerships have sprung up everywhere.
Parking appears to be limited and it took 10 minutes just to find parking. No stopping area by the registration entrance. Toilet water overflowed and flooded floor after first flush. Major complaint was the quietness... there was none. We could hear conversations from rooms down the hall, as far as 3 rooms. One could hear the TV from other rooms. Conversations taking place in the hallways could be heard as if the people where in our room. People partying until early morning. TV was difficult to watch - "ant races" all over the picture, no clear picture at all. Many channels did not come in at all. The price of the room was $40 - $50 too high. I have stayed in Motel 6 and 8's that were better then this room as well as more sound proof. Breakfast consisted of hot water for tea & oatmeal, 2 types of coffee, muffins and power bars. Better breakfast is served at 7-11. Nothing close by for dining out One has to go for at least a 5 minute drive in heavy traffic to find a restaurant. A candy and soda machine was available at much higher than regular prices for the item(s).
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 9, 2014 by Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our hotel. I apologize for the issues you had with parking and your toilet upon arrival. As well, I am sorry to hear about the noise disturbances you experienced during your visit. I will be meeting with our staff to ensure these issues do not continue in the future. Thank you again for your feedback. We hope that you will stay at our hotel, or any of our other brand locations in the future.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York, NY

Disappointing

Posted Sep 5, 2014
Pros: Water pressure in the shower was OK
Cons: Deep deep cleaning.
Location: Close to downtown, close to the beach...location is good.
The entire hotel smells like a dirty ash tray. You could open a window to help deal with the smell, but the screens are torn or missing. Cigarette burns in the furniture and comforters, and a few of the towels were severely stained. Pretty disappointing.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 20, 2014 by Manager, Hotel Management
Rick - Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience. We are disappointed to hear that you experienced a smoke odor and that your room was not up to standard. Your feedback is very important and will help us to improve our guest rooms. We will work with our housekeeping staff to ensure our rooms smell fresh at all times. We will also inspect our rooms to make sure they are meeting our standards. Thank you again for your feedback. We do hope you will choose to stay with us again so we can have the opportunity to provide you with a better experience.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 20, 2014 by Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay. I am so sorry that there was a smoke odor at our hotel and that the condition and cleanliness of your room did not meet standards. In response to your review, my housekeeping staff and I will be embarking on a deep cleaning process of our hotel to ensure that your experience is not repeated. Thank you very much for sharing your feedback with us. It would be our pleasure to have you stay with us again in the future to show you our positive strides taken to enhance your experience with us.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 17, 2014
Pros: Location. Good.
Cons: Breakfast could be better.
Just what was expected. Good place to rest girl the eve. Reasonable price.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 21, 2014 by Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for taking the time to review your experience with us. I am thrilled to read that you enjoyed your stay and that our location was convenient to you. Thanks to your feedback, we can continue to work on providing an exceptional stay for all of our guests. Thank you for choosing Extended Stay America. We hope we have the opportunity to see you again in the future.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

very minimalist - you get what you pay for

Posted Jul 29, 2014
Hotel was not great, but we also did not pay very much for it. It was only about 10 minutes from the beach which was nice. Rooms were very minimalist....had to ask for shampoo (did not have conditioner!) and a blow dryer. Bed and pillows were hard as rocks. Room was hot. Rooms and hallways smell like a variety of weird cooking concoctions.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by Clair Dixon from Severna Park, Md

No soap, no shampoo, no conffee

Posted Jul 17, 2014 on Hotels.com
The room was nice, but I did not bring a hair dryer because all motels/hotels have blow dryers in the room. Also I did not bring soap or shampoo. I ws surprised there were towels.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from charlotte,nc

Five star staff in a 3.5 star hotel

Posted Jul 9, 2014
My fiance and I are both in the restaurant industry, our vacations are aways last minute and never planned. And, we usually never know where we are staying until we arrive at our destinaton. However, thursday july 3rd we found extended stay on expedia, while driving and were 2-3hrs away. We arrived 30min early and we were starting to get hit from hurricane Arthur. My fiance Joe went inside to check in, I then realized our check-in wasnt til 3pm. A very sweet lady Vivian checked us in, not only was she sweet and informative she actually enjoys her job and is very sincere.We plan on staying at extended stay in wilmington during every visit.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Good stay for the price

Posted Jun 26, 2014 on Hotels.com
Decent room, especially if you like the kitchen feature and take advantage of the pet option. Seems a little outdated, but kept up overall. Pretty thin walls. Overall decent stay. Very friendly and courteous staff.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 17, 2014 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 17, 2014 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Heather from Mebane, NC

Recommended

Posted Apr 21, 2014
Pros: Room and staff
Cons: Our bathroom needs a new sink and counter top. It was a bit tight but we made it work.
Location: Our goal was to be near downtown but on a budget. This place fit the bill although there might have been some hotels a bit closer.
Leslie and Crystal were both very helpful and friendly. The hotel was easily accessible. I'd heard on other reviews that getting in and out was difficult but we didn't have any issues. Of course we stayed off season which helped. Our room was in good shape minus some normal wear and tear. We were pleased with the mini kitchen set up as it saved us a lot of money not to have to go out to eat our meals.