Ratings based on 393 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.1 out of 5
74% of guests recommend
3.1 Room cleanliness
3.4 Service & staff
3.1 Room comfort
2.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from North Carolina

STAY AWAY

Posted Jul 24, 2014
Pros: Nothing
Cons: Perhaps it should be demolished and start anew
Was very disappointed that the Howard Johnson's company will allow such a run down, creepy motel to bear it's name. The bed in the first room that we were shown was crumpled and appeared to have not been made since the last guests. The second room was no better as the bed spreads had large stains on them. The carpet was old and dingy in both rooms. The exterior needed painting and other repairs. We felt safe making these reservations since the name Howard Johnsons appeared on the motel, but boy were we unpleasantly surprised...In hindsight, I should have left as soon as I saw the run down , drab condition of this place.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NC

Checked In and 5 minutes later we checked out.

Posted Jul 3, 2014
We didn't stay more than 5 minutes, thankfully we were able to cancel out 3 nights stay. Hotel is very rundown and scary.
3 out of 5
by Awkward

Good hotel if you're in town for a night

Posted Jun 16, 2014
Pros: Location
This was a last minute booking for a Friday night. The hotel is in a convenient location. & the surrounding hotels aren't much better, except for maybe one or two. You certainly get what you pay for. But overall, I had a pleasant stay, with no disturbances.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Triad area, NC

Good Value

Posted Jun 2, 2014
We were looking for something cheep in Wilmington for 4 people and this fit the bill. This place was a good value considering it's location and that we stayed on a Friday night in season. Room was clean and the beds were comfy. Only knock is that there is no breakfast, but I can live with that.
2 out of 5
Recommended
by T from Wilmington

Dirty bathroom.

Posted May 21, 2014 on Hotels.com
Staff was friendly. Bathroom was dirty and was not cleaned (other than towels replaced) after I asked them to clean it. I wouldn't stay here again, low price or not unless changes were made.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by wendy from Asheville, NC

Decent hotel for the price -in convenient location

Posted May 19, 2014
Room was clean but outdated. Bathroom had old fixtures, dark grout etc...old cigarette burns on floor and bedspread-in a nonsmoking room. It smelled fine. It was comfortably outfitted with a hair dryer, microwave, coffee maker and supplies, mini fridge, iron and board etcetera. Very convenient location on market street- five minutes to downtown and fifteen to Wrightsville Beach. We stayed for several days and the staff was fantastic. It's a perfectly good choice for a flexible family on a budget.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Michael Dela Cruz from virginia

rm 309

Posted May 19, 2014 on Hotels.com
Great stay. We will be back
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Grad's Aunt & Nana from South Carolina

Shabby but ok

Posted May 12, 2014 on Hotels.com
The parking lot was noisy, the dead-bolt didn't work, there was no tub stopper for taking a bath, there were lots of stains, the shower curtain was torn and the beds were pretty hard. I found the breakfast area by accident when checking out (closed door near but not in lobby) ~~ That said, the sheets, towels, pillows and even stain saturated carpets WERE clean and fresh smelling. The AC and fridge worked great. There was plenty of hot water. We got an ok night's sleep. ~~ I'd recommend for last-minute hotel needs only.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by Andre

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 10, 2014 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 7, 2014 on Hotels.com