Ratings based on 103 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Chester County, Pennsylvania

Disappointing

Posted Mar 30, 2015
Pros: The suite was roomy and quiet (except for the HVAC).
Cons: Common areas, such as corridors and elevators, should be checked more often and cleaned if necessary. The decor and furnishings need to be updated.
Location: The MainStay is conveniently located near shopping and no more than 10 minutes from Wrightsville Beach.
The MainStay is somewhat dated and in need of renovation, which is planned, according to a sign posted in the suite. The biggest problem was cleanliness of the common areas, such as corridors and elevators. Also, the HVAC unit in our suite was extremely noisy. When we brought it to the attention of the hotel staff, we were told no maintenance person was on duty and we were not offered another suite. There also were minor annoyances, such as a lamp that didn't work and a lack of a channel list for the cable TV. Although we were told that coffee would be available night and day, we had to ask for it and were begrudgingly told that the staff would turn on the coffee urn. The bathtub needed to have non-slip strips installed. We cannot recommend this hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Juliusfrom Jacksonville

great palace

Posted Feb 17, 2015 on Hotels.com
Stayed here for Valentine's Day and it was great room location was great. Will stay again.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 16, 2015
Great location and great customer service. Exactly what we were looking for.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Toddfrom Fredericksburg Va

A nice place to stay

Posted Oct 21, 2014 on Hotels.com
Had a wonderful time. The gym was wonderful after a long drive. We will stay there again when we are in NC
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom NC

Nice hotel, great location

Posted Oct 7, 2014
Cons: The WIFI was extremely slow. There was only a pan to cook with. It would have been nice to have a pot.
Location: The location was great. Restaurants and highway access really close by and it didn't take long at all to get to the beach.
The room was comfortable. The staff was nice and helpful.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 15, 2014
Excellent location. Close to many restuarants. Short drive to Wrightsville beach and downtown.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 22, 2014
Plenty of room for 5. Eas access to uncw, wrightsville beach, and downtown wilmington
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 19, 2014 on Hotels.com
2 out of 5
Recommended
by Martin H.from NC

Posted May 28, 2014 on Hotels.com
Not a good experience at his hotel. We were from out of town, arrived at 1:30, (which we were aware check-in was not until 3). Lady at front desk said our room would be ready in one hour. We came back at 3:40 and room was still not ready. Male employee told us he did not know when room would be ready. His customer service skills were not good. I asked for a manager and he said no manager on site on weekends. Another older couple there had been waiting for 45 minutes for their room. Not sure if we will stay here again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Leslie

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 15, 2014 on Hotels.com