Ratings based on 523 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.0 out of 5
77% of guests recommend
3.1 Room cleanliness
3.3 Service & staff
3.1 Room comfort
2.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice place

Posted Jan 23, 2015
It was clean and great and staff are very accommodating.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

A room of the night

Posted Jan 12, 2015
Cons: Lobby smelled bad. Curtains had issues closing.
A room for the night. Not fancy. But nice enough to sleep in. Good breakfast.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom NJ

Cheap but Bleak

Posted Jan 7, 2015
Pros: Convenient location and low cost. Pleasant front desk guy at check in. Coffee and the usual breakfast items offered in a well-organized eating area.
Cons: "No frills" doesn't have to mean shabby. Small upgrades in basic amenities could make this motel as pleasant as the staff working there.
Location: Convenient to Newark and the University of Delaware. Right off I-95. Lots of eating places between hotel and university main street.
Location and price seemed ideal. Reviews looked promising. Front desk staff was friendly and attentive. But the room. Oy, the room. Remodeled carelessly and in shabby condition. Cobwebs all over. Dusty corners. Smelly air freshener competing with the odor of...what? Maybe wet dog? No comfortable place to sit. Old food in fridge. Heating unit loud and impossible to control. Worn-out, dingy sheets and towels. The whole place felt kind of bleak and shabby. Parking lot and hallway dark. Didn't feel safe.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified travelerfrom New York

Simple

Posted Dec 2, 2014
You pay for what you get, It was clean, neat and tidy. The reception staff were helpful. Easy to find.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent value.

Posted Nov 29, 2014
Definitely a great deal. Perfectly clean, all ammenities, comfortable beds... the complete package at a great price. Will stay here again if in the area.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom New Jersey

One night only but it was convenient & acceptable.

Posted Nov 24, 2014
Pros: Clean and quiet, which is all we needed for a one night stay.
Cons: No comments about this.
Location: We were visiting a relative who attends the university. It was close to the college.
We have stayed at Red Roof's before and this one met with our needs for the one night stay. You cannot beat the price of this motel, and the bed is comfortable and the room is sufficient. You get a refrigerator, microwave, coffee maker, clean and basic comfort.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

HOTEL LOCATION FOR OUR TRIP WAS GREAT

Posted Nov 24, 2014
Pros: sURPRISED THEY HAD A NICE BREAKFAST SET UP, MUCH NICER THAN WHEN i STAYED AT MY LAST RED ROOF
Cons: I did not like thethat they made copy of my driver lic & credit card....I was preregistered & verified thru Expedia.,swiping card should have been eno
Location: NA
ROOM WAS CLEAN AND COMFTORABLE. SOME NOISE RE PETS.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified travelerfrom BRENTWOOD, TN

RED ROOF, Newark, DE

Posted Nov 23, 2014
Pros: The rooms are clean. The TV and WIFI worked well. I did not eat the breakfast at RED ROOF, but .I assume it is OK too.
Cons: No comment
Location: I had a two day business meeting in Philadelphia, and this RED ROOF is very close to the NEWARK, DE commuter train station to get me into Center City.
I stayed in this RED ROOF for 4 consecutive nights, only 2 nights of which related to the EXPEDIA reservation. I had arrived early because of weather related scheduling isues. It was, all in all, a very good stay. The WIFI worked. The Staff were helpful. I especially appreciate the efforts of the afternoon shift desk clerk, RAJ. He was very helpful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom E

Courteous staff, room clean and comfortable

Posted Nov 9, 2014
Convenient, great price, will stay again. Had 7 rooms, no complaints
2 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Like Others have said, you get what you pay for.

Posted Oct 28, 2014 on Hotels.com
I knew I wasn't staying at 5 star hotel, but we were okay with it until the second evening. We had come back to the hotel at 7:30 to rest for a couple hours before we had to go back out. Well, we could not rest because there was a raging party in what must have been a rec/ballroom. There was a DJ with a microphone, and music pounding through the walls and floor. It was RIDICULOUSLY loud. I mean, so loud that you could hear nothing else. Like others have said, the walls are terribly thin. When we finally complained, we were told it was a birthday party and they didn't have permission to use music, which was clearly a lie, and that it would stop, which it did not, and that it would be over by 9:30. Well, we had to leave at 9:15, and it was quiet when we got back at 12:00, but the fact that it was so terribly loud at all, and when other people might want to sleep, was completely unacceptable. the next day we were told it was a soccer team. It all sounded like a lie, and it left an extremely sour taste in our mouth regarding the stay.