Ratings based on 681 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom wilmington, nc

Great place to stay

Posted Nov 22, 2014
Pros: On beach
Had guest from out if town could not pick abetter place to show off our wonderful community.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 17, 2014
Location: The location is at the very end of the beach so it's more quiet but you do have to plan accordingly when you want to leave into the intracoastal.
Overall theexperience was nice but the rooms do need a bit of a refresher since they are out of date in styling. Great bathroom set up.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified travelerfrom Lynchburg, VA

Kites in the Wind

Posted Nov 17, 2014
Pros: Pools and food.
Cons: Chemicals in the hot tub; they were a little strong.
Location: Great beach and at the end of the strand. Great for walking. We enjoyed the great restaurants near the intracoastal waterway.
Our stay was only for 2 days but we were pleasantly surprised with the kite festival (beach kites right on the beach directly across from our room). Since all rooms are oceanfront we had a great view. Very much enjoyed the event. Staff was very helpful on providing suggestions on eating and directions. The food at this facility was also very good, especially the breakfast. Hot tub and indoor pool were also enjoyed.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

OK hotel on the beach

Posted Nov 12, 2014
Pros: Location.
Cons: A little tired but all beachfront properties take a beating over time.
Location: Perfect location. On the beach. Next to the marsh if you fish. easy drive to good restaurants. About 20 minutes from Wilmington River Front.
Best thing about hotel is the location. Small rooms. A bit dated. Excellent, friendly staff. Reasonable cost for beachfront.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice mini vacation

Posted Nov 3, 2014
Pros: The staff's friendliness and the view were my favorite things.
Cons: The beds were extremely hard. Only two jets worked in the hot tub. Starbucks coffee would be a great addition.
Location: Excellent location...quiet, peaceful and gorgeous views
I booked this hotel for a quick getaway with my son for a night to spend time with him before he goes to basic training. I actually grew up in the area, so I knew where I wanted to stay on the island. The hotel's staff was eager to assist and were extremely friendly, welcoming and helpful. The glass front windows in the room provided a wonderful, relaxing view of the ocean, and the quick access to a quiet beach was just what I wanted.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom chicago

Shell house

Posted Oct 29, 2014
Pros: Price and great view.
Cons: It is an old building. Needs an update.
Location: It is on the ocean. Great location. Not many choices for dining out.
Great price for ocean front. Aaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaa
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Cary, NC

On the Beach

Posted Oct 16, 2014
Good hotel for the price. We loved the location because you're at the end of the island and it's peaceful. The restaurant downstairs wasn't the best but still this place was nice for the price. All rooms are oceanfront.
4 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Chapel Hill NC

Anniversary Weekend

Posted Oct 13, 2014
Pros: I liked the view from both windows - beach and marsh.
Cons: The building is getting a bit old and worn around the edges, even tho it is kept up the age is showing.
Location: Location is great and there are plenty of restaurants nearby.
Our stay was good. It was no fault of the hotel that the power on the island went out for 3 hours early Sunday morning and that the sun didn't come out that day ! We were headed home anyhow.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Right on the beach.

Posted Oct 4, 2014
Nice hotel. Was a little worried reading some other people's reviews but was nicely surprised. Room was clean maybe not spotless but was very happy with it. Great views and loved that it was a little distant from main part of the beach. Gave it more of a secluded feel and the tidal area north of the hotel was really neat to walk around and look at. Loved the convection oven and kitchenette in general. Great to have a full sized fridge and freezer so we had plenty of room for fish we caught. Only complaint is no dishwashing detergent supplied and no cookware to use. So if you're planning on cooking dinner you better bring your own. Overall great stay and will come back again
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom albany ny area

Not what it seems

Posted Sep 28, 2014
Hotel is over rated in stars! Our first room had no hot water in the shower and we saw a huge cockroach! We were moved to 9th floor and the room was much nicer. Overpriced and needs updating but the staff is wonderful! Holiday Inn right down the road was a much much better place... If we return that's where we'll be staying!