Ratings based on 122 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2.9 out of 5
76% of guests recommend
3.0 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
2.8 Room comfort
2.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by kathy from new jersey

Nice hotel and on the beach

Posted Apr 2, 2014
Location: It was great that McDonald 's was around the corner for coffee and breakfast.
Thrilled it was a smoking room so we didn't have to stand in the rain when we wanted to have a cigarette.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great place for a relaxed beach trip.

Posted Mar 26, 2014
Pros: It's a very homey place. Not the usual corporate feel. I like that the owner is on site and greeting guests.
Location: Lots of great food and fun things to do. Hotel is right on the beach so the view was great too.
It was a lovely place with a nice porch to sit and enjoy the ocean view. We loved the kitchenette and comfortable room. Vintage charm.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Nature person from oakhurst, ca

Ocean's just a sand hill away and Gibby's 2 blocks

Posted Dec 9, 2013 on Hotels.com
Quiet in the winter, nice.little place. famous donut shop and most little shops are closed in oct but area is nice if you want peace and the ocean. Just make sure you ask for the Wi-Fi passcode and whatever else you need before the office closes in the evening. Pool closed in winter, well Dec. anyway. Can get a Starbucks drink a couple blocks down at the Courtyard and buy breakfast if you want there.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Heather from Pittsburgh, pa

older hotel

Posted Oct 26, 2013 on Hotels.com
The rooms were very outdated and cramped. The surrounding location also rundown. Beach access was convenient and beautiful. Not a great location for a family.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Ok place to stay.

Posted Oct 14, 2013
Pros: Ocean front.
Cons: Remodeled rooms.
Location: The boardwalk is two blocks away with plenty of things to do and places to eat. Sea Witch Café is right across the street.
The hotel is ocean front, which is nice. The rooms are old and outdated and could use a major remodel. Great place to stay if you're not looking for anything fancy. Parking is very limited and tight, but a lot of things are within walking distance once you get there. Also, no Wi-Fi available. The Sea Witch Café is located right across the street. They have live bands on Fri and Sat nights, that you can clearly hear from your room. So if you're looking for an early evening or quiet atmosphere, this isn't the place to stay.
Comment from
Jan 15, 2014 by
Thank you for taking time to write a review! We are currently going through some property improvements and a majority of the rooms will be completed before May 2014. I am unsure if the Wi-Fi issue was mentioned to management, but we do have Wi-Fi available to our guests. I will check with management to see if there were any issues occurring during your stay so we can avoid any further incidents in the future. I appreciate your comments as it can only help us to improve our services and amenities. Barry Eagle (Manager)
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Phil from Toronto, Canada

Modest Ocean-front Accomodation: Good Value

Posted Oct 10, 2013 on Hotels.com
An older, traditional motel offering ocean-front accommodation. Not new, not fancy, but good value and location for the price.
Comment from
Jan 15, 2014 by
Thank you Phil for taking time to write a review! We are currently going through some property improvements and a majority of the rooms will be completed by May 2014. We hope to see you again in the future! Barry Eagle (Manager)
3 out of 5
Recommended
by Ray from Durham, North Carolina

Posted Oct 8, 2013 on Hotels.com
I was very disappointed to learn that a restaurant that entertains with a band was across the street. Fortunately, the band did cut off around 10:00 p.m.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by J from Raleigh, NC

No Complaints - We got what we paid for

Posted Oct 8, 2013 on Hotels.com
We reserved a room at a cheap beach motel for a quick getaway and that's what we got. The basics were covered - clean and functional. It could use some general maintenance. Location couldn't be better - a few steps from the sand and within a quarter mile of several restaurants and hang out spots. The check-in was easy, staff was nice.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by hk1lucky from Eagleville, MO

So worth the Ocean Front view

Posted Oct 7, 2013 on Hotels.com
We were so happy with the customer service from the Surfside. The room was a little rough but the view was amazing. We will be back.
1 out of 5
by Pete from Surrey UK

Bach hotel to avoid

Posted Sep 28, 2013
Pros: The staff were friendly and we got the impression some of the rooms overlooking the beach had been renovated but we weren't given one.
Cons: The room we stayed in (123) needed a complete refurbishment and updating.
Location: The Carolina Beach area and bars are a bit tacky but the beach itself is fantastic.
We booked this hotel on the cuff through Expedia but it did not match up to the advertising jingoism. The hotel is ideally situated for the beach and there is a nice bar and cafe opposite. However, the room we were given contained dated and solied furniture and it was not worth the extornionate sum of $150 per night. It had a small kitchen but the oven and refrigerator would not have looked out of place in the Victoria and Albert Museum in London. Small touches were missing such as the failure to provide an iron and coffee for the coffe making machine. Worst of all the security was lax as the door chain was broken and no attempt had been made to repair it. We would never stay there again.