Ratings based on 171 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hotel near swindon

Posted Aug 18, 2014
Pros: Grounds and the peace & quiet.
Cons: Some Staff require more Customer service training and maybe a better choice of food in the restaurant ie some basic meals as kids are welcome.
Location: Close to most things
Problems with the pool it was cold, ordered food from the bar when it arrived they forgot the wedges, we informed the barman who carried on serving others customers, so I went straight over to the manager, it arrived within 5 minutes. the barman came over later and said I will chase it up now. A joke no apology .
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Training course hotel

Posted Aug 4, 2014
Pros: Quiet location
Cons: Standard of fittings, provision of air-con, quality of WiFi, cleanliness of crockery and cutlery, TV, number of TV channels
Arrived late evening on a hot summer day, receptionist was very pleasant and pointed out the facilities but when I got to the room it was hot, there was no air conditioning (it is a fairly new build) and being on the ground floor, the window had limited opening. There was no robe provided so if I wanted a swim to cool off, I'd have to either get changed at the pool and pay for a locker or walk through the bar and reception area in swimming gear, not good. It was obvious that the hotel had been kitted out cheaply with every expense spared, the TV was only fractionally larger than my laptop screen and only had 8 channels - 5 terrestrial and 3 sport/news. The blind was broken and did not fully close flooding the room with light at about 4.30am as it was east facing. I chose to eat in due to the late hour and isolated location and the menu was quite limited with the only thing of interest being a very expensive steak that turned out to be nothing special. The cheese and biscuits - again expensive was three lumps of cheese and 4 small biscuits that had clearly been pre-prepared and left covered. Breakfast the following morning started with me being put in a corner out of the way as I was clearly on my own, only to have to move as the Wi-Fi signal was very intermittent and I could not access the net to read the news. All of the breakfast bowls that were out were dirty and I had to point this out to the staff who then spent 5 minutes getting replacements.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by mel from surrey

Countryside escape

Posted May 28, 2014
Pros: Very clean bedroom, good decor throughout.
Cons: Food at dinner needs a major improvement. The menu is OK but what arrives on the plate is dissappointing.
Location: Banbury hillfort dating from 6th C BC is very close and commands great views across the countryside.
Well located for Wiltshire countryside and with easy reach of The Cotswolds. The hotel is very modern and is primarilly a conference venue. Great pool and gym facilities, spacious lounge and bar, large restaurant.
3 out of 5
by business trip from B

Did not live up to expectations

Posted May 24, 2014
Room adequate. Pillows were thin so needed to use lots and mattress was uncomfortable . Reception staff good but let down by sulky chap on bar . He was never there and despite bar empty he made us wait for over ten minutes to order food etc. Restaurant was worryingly empty . Venue looked ok but had absolutely no atmosphere at all . Breakfast ends at 9 am which is ridiculous . Will not be back .
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 14, 2014 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 14, 2014 on Hotels.com
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by RobA from Horsham

Serves a purpose

Posted May 13, 2014 on Hotels.com
The hotel looks a bit like a modern private hospital. In reality it is a series of conference rooms with some rooms for the delegates to stay over and weddings at the weekend. That said everyone I met on reception was friendly and helpful and the breakfast team were very pleasant. Wifi is available in the rooms but only for 1 hour with no return for another 3 hours and it is very slow. The rooms are pleasant enough but not very soundproofed, I heard a baby from a couple of rooms away crying. Due to the weddings I did have to redirect a chap who was trying to get into my room in the early hours a little the worst for wear but that is no fault of the hotel. Breakfast is a buffet service but with a good selection of hot food and juices etc.About 1.5 miles away there is a nice pub called the Calley Arms with friendly locals, reasonable food and cheap beer. In summary serves a purpose but lacking soul.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

great location

Posted May 3, 2014 on Hotels.com
excellent hotel friendly staff
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 29, 2014 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 25, 2014 on Hotels.com