Ratings based on 117 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great value for money.

Posted Jul 17, 2014
This place is an absolute bargain - with an incredible view of the cathedral and a river running right through the back garden. Wonderful place.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by jan from burlington, ont

Good clean hotel, close to town. Walkable

Posted May 5, 2014
Location: Good location
Would use again. Quiet, clean, easy to walk from train station. Great breakfast.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Heather from Adelaide, South Australia

Great location

Posted May 5, 2014
Great location, excellent staff, comfortable rooms, lovely food and views over the river and Salisbury.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by sara from Plymouth

Nice hotel,centre of Sailsbury

Posted Apr 17, 2014
Comfortable hotel, friendly staff. Close to centre of Salisbury, cathedral views from room.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by housefrau from Columbus

Grasmere Hotel near Salisbury Cathedral

Posted Apr 13, 2014
Pros: Grasmere offers a full English breakfast and had parking. Our room was comfortable and modern.
Cons: The numbering system of the rooms is a bit odd.
Location: We walked to the Salisbury Cathedral from the hotel. It's a pretty walk over the bridge and through the gate which closes at 10:30.
We just stayed one night but really enjoyed the view of the river, swans and Salisbury Cathedral from our room. The Cathedral was within walking distance which simplified things a lot.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Susan from West Sussex

Great hotel near Salisbury, even your dog can stay

Posted Apr 6, 2014
Pros: Great views from the back clean room with a very comfortable bed. Good breakfast & friendly staff. We were also able to take our dog who also loved it
Cons: none.
Location: Very close to Salisbury centre.
We stayed in a room overlooking the cathedral and the hotels lovely grounds that back onto the river.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

disappointing

Posted Nov 14, 2013 on Hotels.com
Booked a superior room and overlooked the carpark. Would have expected a room looking out over the river and grounds. Reception and bar very small, whole hotel generally shabby and in need of decorating. Breakfast warm and sitting in hot trays. Not brilliant. This seems to be used for conferences a lot. Both days there were groups of people on business meetings.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Colin from Kent, England

Excellent location, close to the cathedral

Posted Nov 4, 2013
The room was spacious and quiet, hotel well presented, parking was plentiful and and an easy walk to the cathedral. Easy to get to from the highway. We stayed one night, with a young child. To get to the cathedral turn left twice and follow the path along. (The hotel staff gave us the wrong way initially; directing us to a foot bridge a LONG way from where we wanted to go.) Unimpressed with the restaurant for dinner: eat somewhere else; it was overpriced and not great. Breakfast was pretty standard, no complaints. I would recommend and use it again if in the area. Appropriate for families, romantic weekend.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Paul from Somerset

Fantastic location

Posted Oct 27, 2013 on Hotels.com
View from the room was fantastic and service was good, however, was let down by lack of staff.
3 out of 5
by Caz from Salford

Grasmere Hotel, Salisbury

Posted Oct 18, 2013
Pros: The setting was delightful. The staff were all welcoming and extremely helpful. It was relatively convenient for walking into the city centre.
Cons: The food. Maintenance of the decor.
Location: Salisbury Cathedral was within a mile on foot by a short cut explained to us. The city itself, Mompesson House, and Stourhead is a short drive away.
This hotel does not have a lift, which matters to older guests when occupying a room on the second floor. The room (18) was not what one expects in decor: obviously there had previously been a leak (possibly from the roof) which left an unsightly stain on one of the walls. The wallpaper was also bubbling up from the wall in a couple of places nearby. Unfortunately the TV remote control was missing and a request was needed to supply of one. The staff on duty during the stay were extremely pleasant and helpful. The breakfasts were good but the evening meal food was not of the standard expected (e.g. very little fish on the salmon and smoked trout starter; duck breast not very tender) and so we ate elsewhere on the second evening.