Ratings based on 347 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Fantastic view from Garden rooms

Posted Jul 21, 2015
Pros: Situation and views.
Cons: It is looking slightly tired from the outside although the medieval pub was in very good condition.
Location: Must see the cathedral, including Magna Carta, and walk around the old streets. Also river walk to Old salem, details from Tourist Office in Guildhall
On arrival we were allocated a room in the old pub but because we had indicated that we would prefer a 'garden room' we were duly moved to room 29 which overlooks the river and the cathedral spire and makes the whole experience of staying at the Rose and Crown. Similarly a drink ( not cheap on the outdoor terrace was similarly special. Given directions from reception and soon found our way into town via meadow walk and return route was only ten minutes from cathedral to front door. The hotel has a wonderful situation and if you can avoid the pub section, it is very peaceful and relaxing. Continental breakfast was included in our 'deal' and apart from very ordinary bread available for toast, it was quite adequate to start the day, again there was a delightful view of the River Avon and old bridge.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Close to Salisbury

Posted Jun 23, 2015
Pros: Easy parking. By the river. Helpful staff. Great dining area. Short walk to the cathedral. Easy drive to Stone Henge and Old Sarum.
Walk into Salisbury center and drive to Stone Henge.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Chicago

Extremely disappointing and dirty. Expat Brit.

Posted Jun 19, 2015
Pros: The staff.
Cons: Access, Luggage assistance, cleanliness of rooms, bathrooms and public areas, plumbing.
Location: Just outside of city centre.
All staff that I encountered were most polite and helpful but sadly that is the only positive comment I can make about my recent stay at the Legacy Rose and Crown Hotel in Salisbury. The layout of the hotel means that in order to access most of the rooms you will need to lift your suitcase up at least one flight of stairs, possibly two, depending on the specific room. No lift and no assistance from staff available. Stayed in room 25 which was filthy! Spiderwebs, dead insect carcasses, layers of dust inside the wardrobe, uncleaned surfaces throughout the bathroom. There was also a warning notice about the water pressure in the basin tap....really??....maybe a repair would be a better option...?? Tiny bed was uncomfortable but linens were very clean.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from canada

Amazing stay

Posted Jun 7, 2015
Pros: Stay we're great
Our room was wonderful (half timber walls). We chose to have dinner in the hotel and it was delicious, as was the breakfast.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Australia

Historic hotel by the river

Posted May 26, 2015
Pros: We had an executive room with a king size bed and lots of space which was lovely. We liked the location and the history of the place.
Cons: Not much.
Location: The hotel was close to the river and the town centre and the Salisbury Cathedral.
We stopped over in Salisbury on our way from Bath to Southampton to break our journey and enjoy the tranquillity of Salisbury. We enjoyed a quiet time on the banks of the river Avon on the hotel grounds. Afterwards we moved indoors to the hotel lounge area to enjoy a drink and the view.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Laveno

Tutto bene

Posted May 21, 2015
Pros: Camera ben arredata con vista bellissima
Cons: La colazione. L'isolamento acustico tra camere soprastanti
Location: Salisbury ha un centro che vale la pena essere visitato. L'albergo dista una quindicina di minuti a piedi dal centro.
Camera molto accogliente con vista bellissima su giardino e fiume. Personale gentile, parcheggio molto comodo. Buon ristorante. Unica pecca, avevamo una signora che abitava la camera sopra la nostra e che ha passato gran parte della serata/notte a camminare "pesantemente", a guardare la tv a un volume sopra l'accettabile e a chiamare, evidentemente con skype, a un volume così alto che sentivamo persino le cose dette dal suo interlocutore. Sicuramente andrebbe migliorato l'isolamento acustico tra soffitto e pavimento delle camere poste ai piani superiori. Comunque nel complesso ci siamo trovati bene. Tutto molto pulito.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 21, 2015
Beautiful location, nice room, very helpful, friendly staff
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

環境優美的酒店

Posted May 19, 2015
Pros: 外面有個大花園,坐在河邊很舒服
Cons: 酒店內要爬樓梯, 如有重型行李會有些不便。
環境優美,房間一出去就是一個大花園,很接近河邊,可以近距離接觸大自然!旁邊就是Salisbury市中心,十分方便。
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 1, 2015 on Hotels
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Small time - Small minded - Small town - Legacy

Posted May 1, 2015 on Hotels
Web Pictures look like modern hotel. Staff v friendly & helpful, breakfast ok. Located residential area away from city centre. Room real disappointment! Shabby and cheap. eg only seen TV controls more worn out in second hand shops! Shame, room view really nice. Charge extra for credit cards - first for me! Small time, small minded! On balance would not go back!