Ratings based on 17 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Nottingham

Nice hotel with great spa

Posted Sep 21, 2014
My wife and I enjoyed our stay at this hotel with our 8 month old son. The Park Restaurant, spa and staff were excellent as was the decor in communal areas. We felt our room was a little small and the decor dated. The breakfast and room service food was mediocre and we would have expected it to be better for the price. I would however recommend the hotel as overall they treated us well.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 17, 2014 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Jason Lfrom London

First class service in a first class estate

Posted Aug 7, 2014 on Hotels.com
The mile-long tree-lined path to the mansion alone is enough to reduce your blood pressure and calm the senses. The service from reception to checkout is very thoughtful and courteous. The hotel amenities are enviable with a full service spa & pool facilities, equestrian, walking, cycling, tennis, all on their own huge quiet grounds. The restaurant was really impressive in terms of personalized service, food, wine selection, sommelier, etc. The room was great but the standout points are the other items mentioned above. I picked it for a regular weekend getaway but it's almost too nice for that; you might want to reserve this five star destination for a very special occasion as it is pretty hard to top.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Gee

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 4, 2014 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by harryfrom London

Weekend getaway at its best

Posted Nov 20, 2013 on Hotels.com
Excellent stay! Both the hotel and the staff are 5 star quality. Enjoy the library, fireplace and grounds.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by wlondonfrom London

excellent service

Posted Oct 4, 2013 on Hotels.com
Great food, beautiful spa, relaxing treatments, lovely area... we will be back
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Robinfrom Scotland

Good not great

Posted Sep 7, 2013 on Hotels.com
The hotel environs are excellent. Unfortunately we had a remotely located room with limited space and tired decoration. On the plus side, the spa is superb and brasserie offers great food and service. I would use this hotel again but would request a more suitable room in terms of space and decor.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by AJfrom London, UK

Luxurious and Friendly Hotel

Posted Aug 7, 2013
Pros: Friendly helpful staff, luxurious interiors, beautiful grounds and first class service.
Cons: Coffee machine or/and kettle in the room would have been nice, as tea/coffee in the hotel isn't cheap.
Location: Beautiful countryside. Slightly isolated, but that's not necessarily a bad thing!
Wonderful hotel, with very friendly and helpful staff who provide first class service. Didn't know what to expect, as these kind of hotels can often be pretentious and stuffy. Not here! Made us feel very welcome. Free room upgrade to a deluxe room - which was fantastic and a lovely surprise. Great food and service in the Brasserie. The walled gardens (especially near the brasserie) are quite beautiful and a credit to the gardening team. Overall a very relaxing, quiet stay in a friendly and welcoming luxury hotel. Went for a bike ride(on the free hotel bikes) around the extensive hotel grounds, great fun and a great way of exploring the 500(?) acres! Reassuringly expensive, and worth the money. Superb.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Disappointing in many respects - wont be returning

Posted Jul 20, 2013
Pros: The grounds and spa
Cons: Poor room size, quality and facilities - not even able to make a cup of tea!
Location: Beautiful
Whilst the grounds, main parts of the house and spa are impressive and well maintained, the standard of our room and quality of service just wasn't up to scratch. If you are looking for a hotel which genuinely strives to provide you with a five star experience, don't stay here!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by anybodyforlunchfrom Cookham

Wonderful English country house experience.

Posted Jul 16, 2013 on Hotels.com
Best for couples. Fantastic grounds, gardens and spa. Superb service and activities. Really no need or urge to leave the peace and tranquillity of the hotel grounds for a weekend stay. Traditional rooms and really nothing that fancy but that doesn't detract from the overall experience. The main restaurant is excellent and pricey. The brasserie is also really good and actually exceptional value. Our second stay and already planning the next visit.