Ratings based on 10 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
80% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Kevin from Sussex

Marsh farm review

Posted Nov 26, 2013 on Hotels.com
Brilliant. Lovely rooms and ideally located near the motorway
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Lyal from Newquay

Excellent!

Posted Oct 29, 2013 on Hotels.com
I chose this hotel because it was roughly halfway from Bristol to Reading - close to the M4. I was lucky enough to get upgraded to a larger room, and it was excellent! A good sized desk with enough plug-points, a comfortable bed, a trouser press and an enormous bathroom. With friendly staff, a delicious breakfast and reasonable rates, this was a very pleasant stop-over.
1 out of 5
by Rich from UK

Avoid if you have any food allergies.

Posted Jul 23, 2013
We enjoyed our previous stay at Marsh Farm and decided to use it again. This time however there were niggles with the room, late night noise after midnight from careless collapsing of tables in the function room below, the plug didn't fit in the bath rendering it unusable and the gardener's started using machine tools before 7am. What what really upset us was that during the last visit the lady organising breakfast suggested that the hotel would be happy to cater for our special diet if we emailed them in advance as we both suffer from severe food allergies. This we duly did and received a nice email confirmation that this would be sorted for us. On arrival for breakfast the next day, we explained to the waiter that the hotel had agreed to organise dairy and soya free alternatives for breakfast. The waiter in question became angry making us feel uncomfortable and after an awkward conversation offering us Soya Milk (!) stormed out leaving us with no drinks and no offer of food. After 10 to 15 minutes he returned with Rice Milk and Almond Milk but still came across badly in the way he asked us if we had "any preference?". At this point my Wife showed the waiter copies of the emails and he became more reasonable, but unfortunately the damage was done as we both felt really uncomfortable about the whole situation. When we raised this with the receptionist when we paid our bill she apologised and said that she would get the Hotel Manger to ring us. This hasn't happened.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by single traveller from West Country

Close to M4: good stopover location

Posted Apr 23, 2013 on Hotels.com
I enjoyed the comfort of the room. There was quite a bit of road noise considering it is on a quiet country road. Surroundings lovely. Restaurant good. Service excellent.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 18, 2013 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler from Guildford

Posted Mar 18, 2013 on Hotels.com
Only critcism is they could improve the quality of the sausages at breakfast
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Notts, UK

Marsh Farm Hotel - Royal Wootton Bassett

Posted Feb 27, 2012 on Hotels.com
The main Marsh Farm Hotel is nice enough, but our visit was completely spoilt by the room being like a furnace, even with the windows open and the radiators off... It appears that the main boiler feed enters the detached accommodation block under Room 9 bathroom floor, which is too hot to stand on with bare feet and cannot be adjusted. We were not offered another room on the night and the promise of a complementary visit has come to nothing. It is also worth mentioning the loud extractor fan at the kitchen opposite, which prevents sleeping with the windows open. (Catch 22). Also, extremely narrow corridors in the accommodation block do nothing for the feeling of the place.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Powys

An excellent welcome

Posted Oct 22, 2011
I have visited this hotel twice and consider it good value given the cost and facilities. All the staff are friendly, helpful and ready to do just that bit extra that makes you feel welcome. Food is well prepared and presented, and uses quality local ingredients. Some rooms may be just starting to look a little frayed at the edges but overall it is a good place to stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from London, UK

Marsh Farm Hotel near Swindon, UK

Posted Oct 2, 2011 on Hotels.com
The staff were excellent! I stayed here and did a training course here. The staff were friendly and helpful! I really enjoyed the experience. The food was amazing, too!
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 27, 2011 on Hotels.com