Ratings based on 72 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cambridgeshire

Great location and good value for money.

Posted Sep 6, 2014
Cons: The bedroom decor is a bit dated.
Location: Lovely country park next to the hotel and Swindon town centre near by.
I stayed here as a stop over on my way to the south west and chose it as an alternative to the chains of value hotels in Swindon. I received a complementary upgrade so had a larger room than I had booked. The room decor is a bit dated but in good order and clean. The hotel has a really nice terrace with seating looking over their gardens and an adjacent country park. I did not eat in the restaurant but it looked rather soulless and I gather the evening meal in largely Japanese food. Overall a good stay an I would stay here again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler from London

Tranquil Hotel and very helpful staff

Posted Aug 22, 2014
Cons: They did run out of the 'on the go' breakfast but offered me an alternative.
I stayed for one night and the atmosphere in and around the hotel was very relaxing. The staff were also friendly and very helpful - for example I ordered food but had to go out for an hour and the front desk were more than willing to accept the order on my behalf and hold it until my return. This made my evening of work less stressful and I appreciate the extra effort. I will be working in the area a few more time in the next 6 months and will definitely book again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from H

Nice location and beautiful building

Posted Aug 18, 2014
The functions on both nights of the stay meant we could not go to the Japanese restaurant which we would have liked to have experienced.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Stanley, FI

Nice Location & Lovely Grounds but...

Posted Aug 4, 2014
Pros: The location, the hotel grounds and the adjoining Stanton Park.
Cons: Get staff who want to serve the guests and cut out all of the demarcation rules about where you can sit depending on what you order.
Location: Very peaceful location but handy to Swindon and Stanton Park.
The hotel is in a great spot and the building is pretty well maintained and comfortable. The food in the restaurant is also nice but I found the staff disappointing. Nobody seemed interested to proactively offer any service;; I had to get right in front of most of them to make them engage with me.The restaurant's menu options are not clear and none of the hotel information in my room explained it accurately. If you sit down for breakfast in the restaurant you get charged for a full breakfast even if you only want continental; for continental you have to take your meal outside to eat it. Also there is a bar menu but it's not offered up as an option; just the much more expensive restaurant meal. Some of the staff couldn't have been less interested in serving me. I won't rush back.
1 out of 5
Recommended
by Me

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 5, 2014 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Mr Jones from Nottingham

Excellent, Very Relaxing and enjoyable

Posted May 24, 2014 on Hotels.com
A beautiful Hotel in a relaxing, peaceful location. That makes you feel relaxed after a hard days work. Rooms are cleaned daily plus the views are picturesque. My only complaint is the menu as a large proportion of the guest are Japanese if you enjoy Japanese food then your ok as there is not much English choice. Par that I will be back without a doubt
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by HT60 from Somerset

Lovely hotel in a great setting

Posted May 23, 2014 on Hotels.com
Fantastic room with great views across to the main part of the building and the gardens. restaurant food was delicious - Chicken Teriyaki was amazing. Friendly staff and good service, will definitely stay again.
1 out of 5
by Smurfycat from Herts

Lovely location, terrible room

Posted May 16, 2014
Pros: The setting and grounds are wonderful
Cons: see above
Initially I thought 'wow' sitting outside with a glass of wine, but after an ok dinner in the restaurant (which lacked atmosphere), i went to my room and the horror started! My mattress sagged, the room smelt, there was little wifi connection and no phone signal, the tv reception was very poor and no mini bar or satellite tv as advertised. The room looked lovely in the advert but I was given a totally different one, the decor was shabby and the bed cover etc were jaded and looked like relics from the 80's. I complained on the night but was told the hotel was full ( i doubt it) and the manager would call me, he didn't. I slept badly due to a lot of noise and the mattress was so bad my back hurt in the morning. When I checked outand complained out the staff really did not seem bothered, I left feeling angry, disappointed and tired!
4 out of 5
Recommended
by beariver from London

Different Experience

Posted Mar 7, 2014 on Hotels.com
Hotel look is good, however the room I got was extremely small and the bed was a little uncomfortable. The bathroom was big and clean. Other than the internet connection which was very slow and the signal was lost constantly the hotel was fine. I would look for another hotel if I have ti stay in the area but I would re book it in case there aren't better options.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by visitor from london

A good venue for a function and overnight stay

Posted Feb 20, 2014 on Hotels.com
This hotel is situated in a lovely park not far from the M 40 and Swindon . We held a family function at lunchtime and we were very well looked after . Our guests were most impressed by the hotel and its location .The function rooms were very light and in good condition and our rooms were very comfortable .