Ratings based on 13 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.9 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from N. Ireland

Quaint hotel in gorgeous english village.

Posted Aug 14, 2014
Pros: The hotel had great character but with a modern feel as well. The staff were extremely welcoming.
Location: Set in a beautiful English Village with a few shops and restaurants and not far from Swindon for those who like the hustle and bustle of a busy town.
My family and I stayed in the Barrington arms and as there were four of us stayed in the Barrington Suite. The room was absolutely beautiful with a spacious bathroom adjoined. The family who run the hotel could not have been more friendly or welcoming and the breakfast the following morning was delicious ( and very entertaining thanks to the singing chef!). We will definitely return to the Barrington in the future.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Peter from Dover

A comfortable relaxing stay

Posted May 6, 2014
Pros: The five-bedroom ground floor extension is well away from the bar area and non-residents' car parking, which allows for a peaceful night's sleep.
Cons: It's the tiny details that make it just short of perfection; quibbles such as no tissues in the bedroom, instant coffee for breakfast, tinned tomato
Location: The location is in Shrivenham centre with all local amenities. Swindon and Cirencester are within easy distance.
I can recommend this hotel almost unreservedly because we were very comfortable there and everything is so well designed and thought out.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice comfortable rooms

Posted Feb 25, 2014
Pros: Modern clean room and bathroom
Cons: N/a
Location: N/a visiting family nearby
Staff very good, room clean and comfortable. Good breakfast.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by GK from London

Good, modern B&B/inn

Posted Nov 14, 2013 on Hotels.com
I stayed here for one night while passing through and stayed in the main building. Despite music being played downstairs it was not in any way overbearing and I had a decent night's sleep even though the floors are wooden and the building is old. The landlady was friendly and welcoming, the room was furnished well and the full English breakfast was excellent. Dinner is not served on Monday but the Prince of Wales across the road was recommended to me and the food was very good. I would definitely stay here again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by old traveller from Potters Bar

Overnight stay

Posted Oct 21, 2013
Pros: This is good for an overnight stay, in a quiet village, clean with modern basic facilities and all that is needed for a car traveller.
Cons: no suggestions
Location: Proximity to Defence Academy; nice countryside, easy access to Swindon and not far from M4 Motorway.
I chose this hotel for an overnight stay after a local visit, it was my second stay there, having done the same one year ago and being very satisfied then. The facilities are very good, the room clean and quiet and the breakfast is cooked to order. Off road car parking is provided at the rear. I could get free access to wi-fi.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Friendly little place

Posted Sep 30, 2013 on Hotels.com
Only stopped one night en-route to Torquay so did not try breakfast. Room away from main building in a courtyard very clean and modern lovely bed. Staff very friendly and helpful. Would recommend
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

a grand hotel

Posted Jul 29, 2013
this is a very nice place.had a steak evening meal and breakfast were excellent. dont know about the family rooms .you would find it hard to fault this place,
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Claire from Bridgnorth

Recent stay

Posted Jul 3, 2013 on Hotels.com
Great place to stay and felt very welcome
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by phil from ireland

good overall quality

Posted Jun 3, 2013 on Hotels.com
good clean well serviced accommodation at the right price
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 24, 2013 on Hotels.com