Ratings based on 41 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 17, 2014
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by David Adams from Newport, Shropshire

Good location

Posted Jan 8, 2014 on Hotels.com
Arrived in the dark before the 6.30 opening time, but the proprietors were very friendly and the single dinner and three breakfasts were excellent, in fact almost too much - lunch was not required. The Hotel was ideally situated for visits to the GWR Railway Museum at Swindon, Avebury, Marlborough, and the Butterfly farm. Alternative meals were available at the Angel in, and the Churchill near Wootton Bassett. The bar service was limited at night but a good pub was found at Lidiard Millicent. David & Margaret Adams
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Keith from Liverpool

Great escape

Posted Dec 3, 2013 on Hotels.com
Really enjoyed our stay, it was an escape from the rat race, quiet location and the food served at this hotel is excellent. The staff were very polite and couldn't do enough, but think we just booked at an extremely busy period. Every table was taken up this place was so popular with the food. Would definitely escape here again ****. Absolute snip at the price too.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by prof from Northern Ireland

Posted Nov 25, 2013 on Hotels.com
Nice Hotel, Great staff.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Ian from UK

Great Value, great food

Posted Nov 4, 2013
Simply cant fault this place, lovely Wiltshire pub and huge room.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by James from Bedford

Nice clean pub/hotel with polite and helpful staff

Posted Oct 28, 2013
Pros: Cleanliness and helpful staff
Cons: Good free WiFi signal available in rooms Iron/Ironing Board available to borrow or in room
Location: Nearby Hook
It was a little out of the way, but was a nicely presented hotel room, which was clean and had good Digital coverage for TV channels. Mobile service was a little iffy, and WiFi didn't really work in the room I was in (And I would imagine any of the rooms) - but WiFi was freely available in Bar area. No iron available, but owner took my shirts away and pressed them for me, which was very nice. Food was well cooked and plentiful - I never got to a dessert as had had too much in the starter and main course.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Karl from Devon

Very good top end pub/hotel

Posted Oct 24, 2013
Pros: Staff. Location. Rooms. Food.
Cons: Wireless internet extended to the rooms.
Good out of town location, but very easy to get to M4/Swindon. Great manager and friendly, helpful, professional staff. Food is of a very good standard, priced very well for the quality and with a good variety. Rooms are good, clean and generally well equiped. The only honest critisism I could make is that the wireless internet only works in the bar area.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Effort from Pickering

Really lovely hotel

Posted Oct 11, 2013 on Hotels.com
We thoroughly enjoyed out stay. The hotel & gardens are attractive, the room delightful, service excellent and the breakfast very good. With the windows wide open, we could hear the M4, but it didn't spoil our sleep.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by DavidW from Hertfordshire

Friendly Service, great food.

Posted Oct 8, 2013 on Hotels.com
Very pleasant stay in a quiet and clean room. Excellent meal in the evening. I didnt get to try the wifi but its always good to know its there.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by David Earney from Frome

Overnight stay for birthday party

Posted Oct 4, 2013 on Hotels.com
Second stay. Food really good. Room very clean with coffee and tea making facilities. Service was good and the breakfast was as good as any I have eaten. Would recommend this hotel/pub without hesitation.