Ratings based on 20 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Jrseefrom UK

Good Value

Posted Oct 23, 2014 on Hotels.com
Nicely decorated hotel in old building with some interesting original bits (tiles in lobby). Bar was a bit noisy, even though it was only a quarter full - could do with some noise baffling of some sort - however, excellent real ales (4) at a very reasonable price made up for it, and the atrium/lounge was much quieter. Food was very good, and again very reasonably priced. Right in centre of town, but note that, being an old coaching inn with an arch through to the car park, big vehicles might have difficulty parking (we have a golf, so no problem, but might be wise to check with hotel if you have a large 4x4 or similar).
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Zulpifrom Kouvola

Tänne haluaisi uudelleen

Posted Aug 8, 2014 on Hotels.com
Hotelli sijaitsee liikennevalojen vieressä ja aikaisempii kokemuksiin perustuen, emme olleet kovinkaan ilahtuneita saatuamme automme hotellin pikkuruisesta porttikongista parkkialueelle hotellin taakse. Mikään hotellissa ei kuitenkaan vastannut ennakko- odotuksiamme. Hotellissa on viehättävät oleskelualueet ja ravintola. Aamiainen erittäin hyvä. Huoneemme oli kaksi kertaa tavallisen huoneen kokoinen ja siinä oli jopa pieni vaatehuone. Mukavuudet erittäin kohdallaan, eikä minkäänlaista ääntä kuulunut koko aikana sen paremmin kadulta kuin hotellin tiloista. Tätä hotellia voi suositella!
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Ireland

Total lack of customer care

Posted Jul 9, 2014
Pros: Food
Cons: Actually listening to the customer and dealing with issues.
Location: In the centre of Highworth - close to Swindon and other nice villages.
For three days I told staff that out TV was not working - we had one visit to confirm and no further contact despite further complaints. Took two days of asking to get an iron and ironing board. Sink leaked (I hope) so water coming up from under tiles - didn't report this because it would probably be ignored too. One shampoo between two people not replenished. No staff on site overnight. On checkout they didn't even bother to come to us - sent a cleaner who asked us to leave the keys with her. No air conditioning so very hot and stuffy even with windows open. Car park very small and narrow entrance - no priority given to hotel residents so first night we could not get in due to dinner guests. On the plus side the staff were pleasant and the food was good.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by Andyfrom Leicester

Should be perfect but lacks the extra touches.

Posted Mar 31, 2014 on Hotels.com
This should be a very nice hotel and it is apart from a few important niggles. I visited this hotel about 6 months ago and was generally pleased with it. However during my 1st visit the wi-fi did not work in the rooms, it just would not connect. With this is mind the 1st thing I asked upon arrival was is the wifi working, the answer was no, only downstairs in the bar area. As Highworth has very poor 3g connection this was annoying. Furthermore, we were told that the TV is not working and won't be for a week with the unllikely story that the man that looks after the system is based in Cornwall! On the plus point the room was very nice and well furnished with a good en-suite bathroom. The included breakfast was top quality with good quality food although as the hotel was being decorated at the time the smell of paint was present. After a few beers in the good local pubs we spent the last half an hour before bed in the hotel bar. A good range of beers were on offer and reasonably priced for an hotel. Unfortunately after the young lady who served us finished her shift there was nobody around to serve us, after about 15mins of waiting we gave up and went to bed. In conclusion this is a very nice hotel but is woefully understaffed. If the hotel addressed these issues then it would be a great hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by D cardwellfrom Hampshire

Full of character and great food

Posted Mar 26, 2014 on Hotels.com
We have stayed here before and went back because this hotel feels very welcoming and the staff were great. We had a very early start so they put breakfast trays outside our rooms with milk and juice in bowls of ice! Dinner was great and our room comfortable. Not posh but really very pleasant and convivial.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Johnfrom Nottingham

Most enjoyable stay

Posted Mar 15, 2014 on Hotels.com
This was our first time in Highworth en route to the Cheltenham festival and we were very pleased with our choice of the Highworth Hotel . After a friendly welcome , we were shown to a spacious ,well equipped room . It was a perfect location for exploring the town and we returned to enjoy the reasonably priced evening menu . The hotel has style and character and offers good value . We will definitely return when touring in the area .
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Lukefrom Kettering

Overall good

Posted Feb 1, 2014 on Hotels.com
Very impressed with the food, it was delicious, compliments to the chef! Nice to see and try some good local beer too. Staff were helpful, especially Julie who was on shift in the morning. She was very nice :-) I had the room "High Street", which is a very nice room however I was very disappointed with the tv which didn't work properly and was impossible to tune in. Also, the bathroom window didn't shut properly which made the bathroom freezing. Also the bathroom door would not shut or lock which was annoying. Overall happy with my stay, would return again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Great hotel handy for Swindon

Posted Dec 22, 2013
Pros: Decoration, staff, bar, meals, room
Cons: Internet, Portion sizes, room servicing, reception
Location: Work in Swindon
Essentially a very nice hotel with pleasant staff. Reception facilities are a little odd being in a sort of cupboard but bar, lobby and restaurant were very pleasant. Decoration was to a very high standard only a few minor issues that stopped me giving an excellent. A couple of light bulbs were out in the room and bathroom and the sealant on the side of the bath needed to be renewed. High Noon had internet but it wouldn't connect in fact it was difficult to get WiFi anywhere in the hotel despite ther being a strong signal. Evening meal was of a high standard but I don't like eating steak off a chopping board and the portions were a tad small for me. Had to wait for the chef to come in, in the morning between 7:30 and 7:45 so getting breakfast before an early start at work is a little risky although well worth waiting for. All in all though very good value for money.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by K Davisfrom Wirral

Need time on your hands and layers of clothing

Posted Dec 15, 2013 on Hotels.com
After completing the challenge of manoeuvring my vehicle through the very narrow 100 metre tunnel into the rear car park, I was greeted by Ben the assistant manager who was very professional in describing the hotels various areas and then showing me personally to the designated bedroom which was quite pleasant in its decor and fixtures and fittings. Unfortunately thereafter I was very dissatisfied with the slowness of service by other staff coupled with the fact that there was not one single radiator in the complex that was working and accordingly my visit to the dining room was very uncomfortable with the coldness that we had to endure. Check out was very slow coupled with indecision from another member of staff. I must emphasise that although all staff that I met were very polite, a distinct lack of training in each persons duties was definitely apparent. I was fortunate enough to acquire a promotional deal and can safely say that it was worth every penny which included my breakfast. If the temperature and service speed were enhanced and certain staff better trained, then I could have written a better review.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Salryconfrom Leicester

A nice surprise.

Posted Nov 29, 2013 on Hotels.com
This is a quality hotel. Nice and clean with good amenites. The only downside is that is that there is no phone signal (on Three) (not the hotels fault) and I could not connect to the free WiFi that the hotel could not sort out. The breakfast was a full English that was made up of good quality ingredients. The area is good with a few good pubs etc on hand. The driveway is narrow to the carpark but not a problem for a car, you would not get a van through it but I have a 5 series BMW and I got down it without folding the mirrors...just. I will certainly be using this hotel again.