Ratings based on 27 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.7 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Garry

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 30, 2014 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Converted barn attached to a pub

Posted Jul 15, 2014 on Hotels.com
Everything was great, no problems but I do think the price of £80.00 per night for a single is a little steep!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Berkshire

The Red Lion Cricklade

Posted Jul 3, 2014
Pros: The friendly staff. The comfort of the bedroom room. The good quality evening meal.
Cons: Difficult to do but we could hear a guest in an upstairs room snoring so so better sound proofing but we appreciate this would be hard to install
Location: Cricklade is in the Cotswolds near a fine conserved meadow, the start of the river Thames, the Cotswolds Water Park and myriad activities
We arrived around 3 o'clock and went to the bar where we signed in and were shown to an excellent courtyard room which was very pretty and large and comfortable. The ensuite was very clean and well appointed and the bedroom was comfortable with a king sized bed, other seating, TV and tea/coffee available. The bed itself was extremely comfortable. We thought the room would be noisy as it was in the main courtyard housing the microbrewery and pretty gardens for pub guests but it was not.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by A verified travelerfrom Swansea

Posted Jun 17, 2014 on Hotels.com
I cannot praise this hotel enough. The rooms were pleasant and clean which were at the rear of the court yard and although I had to be in bed early due to an event I was taking part in the noise level was to a minimum even though there were people drinking outside. Staff were very friendly and was allowed to take my peddle bike to the room due to its cost for safe keeping and as I had to be up for 4am and would miss breakfast they supplied me with cereal, yoghurt, juice etc. The evening meal was also superb as my wife is a fussy eater. The only down side was parking as it is limited but was fortunate to find a space more or less directly outside, but that should not detract from the hotel which has a great atmosphere. Keep up the good work :-)
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Jillfrom Australia

Nice little town

Posted Jun 6, 2014 on Hotels.com
Room ok dark so can't read too much. Food ok in pub breakfast very nice same as any 4 star. Parking on street and easy to find place no issues. Yes I close for all needs and fridge in room so handy. Wifi access in room and pun so also good overall a good short stay at the right price.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by Jeanniefrom Cardross

Homeward bound

Posted May 5, 2014 on Hotels.com
We have been returning to the red lion for over 15 years! Initially there was no accommodation and we would visit because of the real ales. Then there were 2 rooms at the bottom of the building at the back. My husband and I were the 1st people to stay in room 2. A lovely room like a Spanish inca with terracotta tiles and extremely spacious bedroom and en-suite. After a couple of years the then owner developed the rooms at the top of the building. Here is where our favourite is, room 5. Now it's progressed further with the current owners, food though expensive for a pub, is excellent, all rooms are spacious and nothing it too much for the staff. The current owners are now brewing their own beer and have continued the high standard we come to expect from the red lion. It's a great place to relax and enjoy the roaring fire in the winter or the beer garden in the summer. Recommended.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Fabulous hotel / pub in great country location!

Posted May 3, 2014
Pros: History, Food & Comfort!
Fantastic historic accommodation set in quaint country town. Very clean and comfortable stay with great food. Be sure to have a few drinks in the pub & then dinner in the award winning Red Lion restaurant for a fabulous feed! Would definitely come again & recommend to fellow travellers!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 8, 2014 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Bobfrom Suitcase

Nice place

Posted Mar 28, 2014 on Hotels.com
A welcome break at the end of a working day
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Anonymousfrom Kent

A team who really care & it shows in the quality

Posted Nov 20, 2013 on Hotels.com
I travel regularly for work and this was my second time staying at the Red Lion. It's definitely my favourite place to stay offering real value for money. It has everything I need as a business traveller but the character and quality of the accommodation makes it feel like a home. The team are really friendly and attentive. But the best thing is the food: a varied menu, quality ingredients, good flavour and texture combinations. Everything is homemade with real care - even down to the chocolates which accompany the coffee. Business travel quickly becomes tedious. But I'll be volunteering for the next trip to the area if I can stay here. And maybe my family will be able to come to so they can enjoy for themselves rather than listen to me rave about it afterwards.