Ratings based on 291 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom UK

Pleasant two night stay

Posted Dec 1, 2014
An enjoyable two night stay in this "urban resort" hotel. Facilities are great although some of the carpets in communal areas were starting to look a bit grubby. Reception staff were friendly and helpful and the service was really excellent. We were offered an upgrade to a suite for the first night and then went back to standard for our second night. The previous weekend we'd spent one night in an upper deck room and it's that experience of staying in three grades of room that prompts me to make a comment about the bathrooms. The size of bath in each of the three grades of rooms is identical with a shower over the bathtub. We'd have liked to have the luxury of being able to share a bath or even a shower but in each grade of room space was tight. The higher grade rooms are certainly bigger and have a few touches of luxury but the extra space could have enhanced the rather cramped bathrooms rather than the living areas. The rooms we stayed in were spacious, the beds comfy, the decor smart and the suite room had a lovely balcony. Staff kindly moved our luggage to the standard room for our second night. The restaurant, pub and coffee shop staff all provided a memorably polite and efficient service and all seemed happy to be there. Food was both tasty and well presented. Staff at breakfast and checkout on our final morning were really stretched with a number of large parties but were able to deal effectively with all that was thrown at them. Pity about the bathrooms.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel

Posted Dec 1, 2014
Cons: Sound proof the interconnecting door
Location: Cinema and Bowling close by.
This hotel is in a good location with entertainment facilities in walking distance. Both the Italian restuarant and the Pub delivered good service and food quality. I would not recommend a room with an interconnecting door as the noise coming from next door was loud, but the hotel staff moved me to another room which was good.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Swansea

Good facilities, great service, excellent location

Posted Nov 25, 2014
My daughter and I stayed Saturday night and had a great weekend. I would suggest pre booking your spa treatments in advance. I left ours until the Thursday before and luckily had the only appointment left, available. The staff in the spa were very nice and the whole experience was enjoyable and relaxing. The pool was a little busy as would be expected, considering it was the weekend. McDonalds and Asda are a 2 minute walk across the carpark and there is also a cinema close by. The Swindon Designer Village is within a short drive. The rooms are clean and comfortable. We spent Saturday night watching the Rugby in the hotel bar. There were a number of televisions and they catered for both Rugby and Football. The food was also reasonable. However, the drinks were expensive and I would advise asking for a red card, which gives a discount on certain drinks.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom UK

Nice hotel, good location.

Posted Oct 14, 2014
Pros: The gym is excellent, the staff very friendly and helpful.
Cons: Speed of service in the pub and restaurant, quality of food in restaurant. Heating in the rooms
The staff were excellent, the room a bit cold, so a heater was brought up which helped a bit. Food in the Italian restaurant a bit disappointing. My ravioli was cold and my husband's linguini was inedible. This was taken off the bill by the lovely staff, but not a great experience.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Wiltshire

Nice hotel Italian brilliant

Posted Oct 6, 2014
Pros: Big rooms, spa, Italian restaurant comfy lobby very welcoming
Cons: The pub need to speak to the italian about how to treat customers felt very welcome in there & as if nothing was a bother pub complete opposite
Location: Excellent location, watched a film sat night at cineworld.
3 course meal in the Italian 1st night Iain excellent to the point we ended up going back again the 2nd night because we thought the other restaurant staff was terrible & so rude.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Convenient and close to local amenities

Posted Oct 1, 2014
Pros: The staff friendliness Hotel amenities Breakfast!
Cons: D├ęcor - the rooms are a little tired
We stayed at this hotel when travelling to Swindon for a friends birthday party. The hotel staff were all so pleasant and accommodating and the facilities at the hotel are great for a weekend get away. The breakfast we had in the Italian restaurant was beautiful - by far the best breakfast we have ever had whilst staying in a hotel. The leisure facilities were nice and clean and lovely for a Saturday morning swim/Jacuzzi and the sports bar was great for a Saturday afternoon chill out. The rooms were a little tired and the hotel could possibly do with a little refresh but all in all, for a weekend on a budget, we could not fault the hotel. We would definitely stay again.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by A verified traveler

Restaurant Full

Posted Sep 29, 2014 on Hotels.com
Disappointed that couldnt get restaurant booking until after 9.00 p.m. as fully booked. Hotel seems a little grubby in communal areas though this could be due to the volume of people staying overnight as it was incredibly busy
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 23, 2014 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Ray

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 23, 2014 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by mcfrom merthyr

work related

Posted Sep 22, 2014 on Hotels.com
Very good - staff at checkin were polite, staff in the bar were very nice - only minus points 1) no air con, and 2) the walk from the lift, if you book a room you dont want it to be in the 40's such as 144 as I did, first floor fine, but the walk to the room was too long from the stairs, ask for a low number....