Ratings based on 307 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not such a romantic valentine's weekend

Posted Feb 16, 2015
Pros: leaving
Cons: everything
Package included evening meal first night, so had table reserved in the Italian restaurant, waitress tried to set menus' on fire when placing them on tea light. Then we were offered the special offer on the drinks that night was a bottle of Prosecco £30 but on offer at £15, seeing as the cheapest bottle of wine was £20 we opted for that which was quickly brought to table, asked for ice bucket but was told no ice. Food was a choice from a set menu which resembled mums been to Iceland. Breakfast, wait for table while they clean up and free tables, no juice, no butter, no yogurts, frozen bread for toast. cooked breakfast selection ok.Decided to try pub next night for food. asked for steak sandwich no steak. ordered 2 drinks and was overcharged when challenged the barman he decided to ask me how much it should cost. Room ok but didn't really want the fruit pastels that were on the floor behind the sofa with a few weeks worth of dust all over them. On check out not much on customers relations can only describe the receptionist as trying to hard to do her impression of Joyce Temple Savage and not really interested in any feed back what so ever. To sum up have stayed in many other Village hotels and have never had any issues but definitely would not use Swindon again.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Very cold hotel

Posted Feb 2, 2015
Pros: Breakfast.
Cons: Training for staff, additional radiators in the bedrooms and double beds in rooms instead of two single ones pushed together.
We were looking forward to celebrating my husband's Birthday at this hotel, but unfortunately the weekend stay turned out extremely disappointing. We booked an Upper Deck Room, which included some extras. Although there are some additional niceties in these rooms, things such as shower caps, ear plugs, individual toiletries are missing. Also a double bed! The hotel had pushed two single beds together, which was very surprising! There was a slight difference in the height of each mattress, which made it an uncomfortable stay. The lack of heat in the room was our main grumble. The room only had one radiator,which was on and producing lots of heat, but it was not sufficient for the size of the room. We were offered additional blankets by the hotel staff, but we still had to sleep with our socks on! Unless the hotel sort these complaints, I would not recommend!
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Cardiff

chosen because 4 star rated mystery offer

Posted Jan 19, 2015
Pros: easy to find, plenty of parking
Location: we visit the Swindon railway museum which was excellent and the outlet shopping. Also visited the Cotswolds which is close by.
room comfortable but decoration very dark (black,dark grey and burgundy) grouting missing on bathroom floor, bathroom floor flooded. Breakfast with plastic table clothes, no sweetener or salt and pepper on tables, no separate knives for buttering toast. It was the first hotel I have ever been to where I saw people at breakfast in their pyjamas and dressing gowns and onesies!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom essex

Lots around so a very easy stay

Posted Jan 18, 2015
Pros: All the amenities and the very friendly and helpful staff
Location: Great Indian Restaurant and Cinema very near by
What i loved about this hotel is the location as it is really close to a great Indian Restaurant and a cinema and as the hotel has a spa and gym there was loads to do after work. The Italian restaurant within the Hotel is fair for an evening meal however they do some great deals, for the breakfast it was great. My favorite part though was the on site Starbucks, something to look forward to after work.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Wales

Shopping trip

Posted Dec 30, 2014
Pros: The pool and jacuzzi were good; the breakfast was very good and the meal in the Italian restaurant was excellent value for money.
Cons: The pillows, & restaurant was very cold on the night we dined, as it was xmas period and is usually closed on a sunday night this could be the reason
Location: We stayed to be near Swindon outlet for shopping.
The hotel was a good value base, and the staff were extremely helpful and efficient, and I would definitely use the hotel again. The rooms were good, the beds comfortable, but the pillows were really hard and need changing.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Burgess Hill, West Sussex, UK

Comfortable hotel with a good atmosphere.

Posted Dec 28, 2014
Pros: Staff were friendly and rooms were very comfortable.
Cons: N/A
Location: Hotel is in a leisure park, There is a restaurant just down the road and a cinema, laser tag and more restaurants across from the hotel.
Really nice hotel, stayed in a upper deck room, Very comfortable and clean. Bed was extremely comfortable. Would recommend for getting away for a long weekend as everything you could need is either in the hotel or very close by.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom UK

Pleasant two night stay

Posted Dec 1, 2014
An enjoyable two night stay in this "urban resort" hotel. Facilities are great although some of the carpets in communal areas were starting to look a bit grubby. Reception staff were friendly and helpful and the service was really excellent. We were offered an upgrade to a suite for the first night and then went back to standard for our second night. The previous weekend we'd spent one night in an upper deck room and it's that experience of staying in three grades of room that prompts me to make a comment about the bathrooms. The size of bath in each of the three grades of rooms is identical with a shower over the bathtub. We'd have liked to have the luxury of being able to share a bath or even a shower but in each grade of room space was tight. The higher grade rooms are certainly bigger and have a few touches of luxury but the extra space could have enhanced the rather cramped bathrooms rather than the living areas. The rooms we stayed in were spacious, the beds comfy, the decor smart and the suite room had a lovely balcony. Staff kindly moved our luggage to the standard room for our second night. The restaurant, pub and coffee shop staff all provided a memorably polite and efficient service and all seemed happy to be there. Food was both tasty and well presented. Staff at breakfast and checkout on our final morning were really stretched with a number of large parties but were able to deal effectively with all that was thrown at them. Pity about the bathrooms.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel

Posted Dec 1, 2014
Cons: Sound proof the interconnecting door
Location: Cinema and Bowling close by.
This hotel is in a good location with entertainment facilities in walking distance. Both the Italian restuarant and the Pub delivered good service and food quality. I would not recommend a room with an interconnecting door as the noise coming from next door was loud, but the hotel staff moved me to another room which was good.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Swansea

Good facilities, great service, excellent location

Posted Nov 25, 2014
My daughter and I stayed Saturday night and had a great weekend. I would suggest pre booking your spa treatments in advance. I left ours until the Thursday before and luckily had the only appointment left, available. The staff in the spa were very nice and the whole experience was enjoyable and relaxing. The pool was a little busy as would be expected, considering it was the weekend. McDonalds and Asda are a 2 minute walk across the carpark and there is also a cinema close by. The Swindon Designer Village is within a short drive. The rooms are clean and comfortable. We spent Saturday night watching the Rugby in the hotel bar. There were a number of televisions and they catered for both Rugby and Football. The food was also reasonable. However, the drinks were expensive and I would advise asking for a red card, which gives a discount on certain drinks.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Not going again.

Posted Nov 24, 2014 on Hotels.com
Room's lighting was horrible with bright white light saving bulbs. A big turn off. Same for bathroom, felt really basic.