Ratings based on 74 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Positioned well to break the long journey to Cornw

Posted Jul 26, 2015
Pros: Position in town
Cons: Creaky floorboards throughout hotel.
Location: Markets river stour plus interesting shops in town and plenty of pubs with good food at reasonable prices
Hotel provided a welcome break after a Long journey. Wimborne was found to be a very pleasant and interesting town with a beautiful church and history. The undercover market on Friday am was very good.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

2 nights stay at the Kings Head

Posted May 18, 2015
I stayed at the Kings Head for 2 nights, and I was disappointed to find that my room had not been cleaned after the first night. Otherwise, the hotel was excellent, and the staff were extremely friendly.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from london

In a lovely town.

Posted May 11, 2015
Pros: Nothing at all anymore.
Cons: Everything ,also get the lift working, all rooms are upstairs, it was very hard work for us if you are over 60 or are disabled.
Location: Wimborne is a lovely town with everything to do.
Have been staying here for years, but I am afraid it has slowly gone downhill, also yet again Lift not working. Will be staying elsewhere , only trouble is there are not a lot of B&B s around.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Weekend in dorset

Posted Apr 29, 2015 on Hotels
Could be lovely but lift not working and no hot water in rooms all day Saturday. Breakfast on Saturday only one waiter rushed off his feet and hence poor service. Pity because breakfast was good.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Chris from Esher

Lovely place, would come back.

Posted Apr 14, 2015 on Hotels
Really nice family room with a bed for our son, great view of the roof tops from the room. Lovely area. First day breakfast staff seemed to be a fill in crew so not everything arrived together, but the second breakfast was much better with staff who seemed to know what they were doing. Staff on the whole seemed pleasant.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Christine from Surrey

Would love to stay again - if no dog hairs.

Posted Apr 12, 2015 on Hotels
Lovely. Only grips alot of dog hairs on sofa and chairs. Didn't feel room was clean.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Mark from Leicester

Very friendly hotel

Posted Apr 2, 2015 on Hotels
Staff very friendly and food great. Have stayed there in the past and always found it very good. Only issue for me is if you like real ale then the quality could be better!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Julian from Wolverhampton

First visit but not the last

Posted Mar 23, 2015 on Hotels
Great town great place to stay - only stayed one night but will be back.Staff very friendly and professional,food is to a very high standard,room was perfect - can recommend this to anyone who is planning to visit the area - good value for money
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by John Lane from Bridport

Second Stay

Posted Mar 14, 2015 on Hotels
Last stay December 2014. This stay 12 March not quite as good. It seems they need more staff. One waitress trying to serve breakfast on her own until 9am. Help came but it appears most guests came early as when help arrived, only half an hour left for breakfast servings! Hotel seemed very booked. Communication between Reception and Dinning room not good. Booked a table for 6.30 when we arrived at 2pm. No booking had been made when we went to the Dinning Room so we had to be content with eating in the bar. At least the Waiter & Waitress were understanding so all was well eventually. Food very good as previous.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Susan from Banbury

Old and full of charm

Posted Feb 23, 2015 on Hotels
very nice hotel, a little dated in places but full of charm. Staff were friendly and helpful. Food was very good. Breakfast and evening meal top class. Only complaint was the very noisy floor boards ! But I guess it is a very old hotel. Parking was a bit tight in the hotel car park.