Ratings based on 68 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
99% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Munich, Germany

Comfortable stay, extremely helpful staff

Posted Jul 2, 2014
Pros: Nice bed, good bathroom, easy to find by car, friendly and helpful staff.
I missed the Dover-Calais ferry and knew I would arrive extremely late, hours after reception closing hour. I called up at the hotel up front and the staff went our of their way to make sure I would still be able to access my room even though I was scheduled to arrive after midnight! I highly appreciated that. Thank you very much! My room was just as expected: Large and comfortable enough for my trip. Large, very soft bed, nice bathroom. Very nice! Breakfast was included and was also very good. I can highly recommend this hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Anthea from Stockport

Ideal Inn

Posted Jun 17, 2014
Pros: Everything
Cons: Nothing
Could not fault this Inn. We had a comfortable, large room. Clean and quiet, even though this was a pub. The staff were very pleasant and helpful. Would certainly be very happy to stay here again.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Basic rooms, a bit noisey

Posted May 25, 2014
We had some noise from room above and outside (there are a couple of static caravans adjacent to the hotel). Staff were pleasant at check-in, dinner in the pub and breakfast.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Very comfortable four-poster bed

Posted Mar 17, 2014
Pros: The mattress! Very comfortable and because it was a king size, lovely and roomy.
Cons: We're not great fans of 'dust collector' and so would have done away with the textile tissue box covers etc. V unnecessary.
Location: It's incredibly beautiful in Somerset, good for walks and sightseeing and visiting cozy little villages. Glastonbury isn't too far away, of course.
This hotel lived up to expectation. We went for the more expensive king sized bed and were very pleased with the four poster. It was in a good sized room, quiet, v comfy mattress.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Excellent value and very friendly service

Posted Nov 13, 2013 on Hotels.com
The room had been recently refurbished by the look of it, and was to a very high standard for the rate charged. The breakfast was also excellent! All staff were very friendly and nothing was too much trouble. Highly recommended.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Lillyanna from S.Wales

Friendly and helpful staff would return

Posted Nov 13, 2013 on Hotels.com
Lovely hotel good hearty breakfast each morning.Comfortable bed with nice white sheets.Found a few hairs on the bed when we arrived but overall a nice stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by JohnD from St Albans

Great for a break

Posted Nov 1, 2013 on Hotels.com
Chose this "pub / hotel" by locatn and good reviews / rating. The room was spacious/ reasonably well appointed with a good drink tray. Staff were helpful and friendly. Good parking and a good [but not used by us] childrens play ground.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Keith from Malvern UK

Fantastic Value

Posted Oct 29, 2013
Pros: Friendly, spacious rooms and exceptionally good value.
Cons: A small lounge area for drinks after eating would have been perfect - it may have been there but i didst spot it.
Location: just outside Wincanton and just five minutes from the race-course.
An Inn with rooms, this was a bargain, spacious and spotless rooms, good breakfast and excellent steak restaurant. we stayed after Wincanton races, it was just a couple of miles from the course. Staff were very friendly and helpful, the barman even took some of our dinner guests back into town when a taxi wasn't available. the girl who checked me in was lovely, very welcoming and never stopped smiling. Would highly recommend.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by A verified traveler from Nr Southampton

Posted Sep 25, 2013 on Hotels.com
We had a wonderful stay, bed very comfy, food delicious, staff very helpful and polite. Overall we had a really good weekend
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by tom from Green Bay, WI

Fun stay in the country

Posted Sep 24, 2013
A bit difficult to find. Full English breakfast was excellent as was staff. Few amenities, good beds.