Ratings based on 466 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Right off the highway

Posted Oct 20, 2014
Quick stop while traveling. No breakfast. Pool was over chlorinated.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bonita Springs, FL

Dog and People Friendly With a Cool Vibe

Posted Oct 15, 2014
Pros: Dog friendliness; clean contemporary look; bar with limited menu in lobby.
Cons: A/C-heat very loud.
Location: Just off I-81. Area appeared to have lots of fast food and casual restaurants.
I loved this hotel! I read other reviews about an unfriendly staff, but met nothing but super accommodating people. At check-in, we were given a "welcome doggie" bag with treats, a tennis ball and waste bags. The bartender/waitress/cook couldn't have been nicer, and made good food and wine suggestions. Loved the very clean contemporary feel of the whole place. My only complaint: the room air conditioner was quite loud and required constant TV volume adjustments.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

modern, open, less cluttered, enjoyed...different

Posted Oct 15, 2014
first desk staff not so great, next morning good staff and breakfast to go took a long time but was good.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

INCIDENTALS???????????????

Posted Oct 14, 2014
Pros: The rooms were very nice, and clean.
Cons: Smiles go a long long way as well as respect for the generation that gave them the rock stars depicted on their walls.
Location: Winchester is loaded with history about our great country! Lots to see and do.
My husband and I recently stayed at the Winchester, VA Aloft hotel and were quite impressed with the rooms' appearance, however, the young lady at the front desk wasn't very welcoming....smile? I was quite disappointed to discover that fifty dollars was taken out of my checking account on Monday. When I called the hotel to ask, I was told by a young lady that it was for "incidentals". I said, okay, never heard of such a thing, but when will I get it back. She informed me it would be within the week. Hmmm..was it because we booked thru Expedia or did we look like aging rock stars that might wreck a hotel room? We have traveled extensively over the years and this is my first experience with this.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from warner robins, ga

Super techie! Fun!

Posted Oct 11, 2014
Although we had a glitch with the reservation, we had a very nice stay. So much so, that we looked to see where other hotels were located!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice break

Posted Oct 6, 2014
Hotel facilities were great. Modern room furnishings; indoor pool, lounge/bar/pool table area... Only complaint is that the hotel staff wasn't very friendly/outgoing. We didn't really need anything, but they never seemed present/attentive. Really liked the room and hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from West Virginia

A modern surprise

Posted Oct 5, 2014
I had never heard of Aloft. I relied on the ratings of others and took a chance. I was pleasantly surprised. The hotel was very clean with modern (not your standard hotel) décor. The staff was friendly and helpful. I called and was able to check in an hour early! Location is convenient to shopping and restaurants Rates were comparable to other quality hotels. It was a great experience and I would definitely stay again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very Modern

Posted Sep 30, 2014
Pros: free pool table in lobby. upscale comfortable bar on site. pets allowed! nice outside lounge BBQ grill area. decent cardio room. nice modern rooms
Cons: Breakfast meals not included, all items charged al a carte. No ice or microwaves available on floors, must come to lobby area. No Jacuzzi to relax in
Location: Plenty of modern chain restaurants near by as well as mall shopping.
enjoyed the hotel. surprised at how upscale modern and fresh the décor and design was. very nice room with large modern walk in shower. charging stations for electronics on desk and power outlets everywhere! My first ALOFT experience. looking forward to future stays with this brand.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Other
by A verified traveler from Danbury,ct

Posted Sep 21, 2014
This hotel was a vast improvement from our previous nights stay at another hotel. The staff was professional,helpful and friendly. They gave us a goodie bag for our dog when we checked in. The room was clean, didn't smell of cleaning agents or disinfectants. The bed was very comfortable and the shower was good. Overall an excellent hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Students
by A verified traveler from MD

Best smelling hotel ever

Posted Sep 15, 2014
Pros: dog friendly, fresh modern decor
Cons: All dog owners are placed on the 2nd floor for quick access to the stairs/elevator. This if fine but our room was over the gym and it was loud.
Location: Shenandoah University (stadium down the street), Summit Point Raceway, quick access on and off Interstate 81.
Upon entrance to Aloft, you will smell the most fresh and clean fragrance that is on a timed-interval sprayer. It is lovely and lends to the fresh vibrant clean decor. Alofts feature modern architecture and many conveniences like Bliss toiletries, pretty bathrooms, free dog stays, inexpensive breakfast/snack option, pool and videogame area, gym, swimming pool, etc. I can't imagine staying anywhere else in Winchester, VA. It made the trip fun.