Ratings based on 244 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

A GEM!

Posted Oct 20, 2014
Pros: Quaint-restaurant on the premises
Extremely friendly and courteous staff. Easy to find
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Virginia

Beautiful decorations,but disappointing .

Posted Oct 6, 2014
Pros: The food was good.
Cons: They need to get a new mattress on the bed and new pillows in room 205.
Location: It is a pleasant little town but since we got there in the evening we did not explore the town.
The furniture was beautiful, and the decorations were beautiful however the mattress on the bed was poor. And the pillows were not comfortable either. Also there was mildew around the shower stall, and wall paper was pealing off the wall in the bedroom. The staff were pleasant. For a room that cost $91.15 a night I expected a whole lot better. Also there is no elevator, and the steps are steep.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Tim Pierce from PA

Nice place

Posted Jul 25, 2014 on Hotels.com
Room was clean and the staff was very friendly and helpful. It has old Virginia charm and the town is nice with easy access to interstate and some civil war sites. There is a nice little museum at the top of the hill as you come from the interstate into the town. Cedar Creek battlefield and Belle Grove plantation are an easy five minute or so drive from town. It is about 10 miles or so from Front Royal where you access the Shenandoah National Park which is definitely worth the trip. They charge a fee to enter the park so that is something to be aware of. Also If you like antiques Strasburg is the self proclaimed antique capital of Virginia. They have a huge antique emporium (they seem to like that word in Virginia) that is very nice. We didn't look into any of the other places so I can't comment on the quality of the other antique stores. They also had a train museum that I didn't see because of a time crunch. The only real problem I had was the slowness of the wifi in the inn.. Normally that isn't a problem but I wanted to use the signal to research sites around the area so it was annoying.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Mario from Richmond, VA

Quaint and fun

Posted Jul 19, 2014 on Hotels.com
We stayed here for a night after deciding we'd had our fill of antiseptic hotels that somehow all look the same. The Hotel Strasburg defines "quaint" with its antique-filled lobby and rooms. The staff couldn't have been nicer. Keep in mind that because the hotel is a former hospital (don't be put off by that fact) , the rooms are smaller than a typical hotel (at least ours was) and the bathroom was also compact. But, the personality of the hotel outweighs those small drawbacks. The bed was comfortable and the hotel was quiet. We had dinner in the Depot: the famous chicken pot pie for her and a burger for me. Excellent food and good beer on tap. The only glitch: the hotel wifi was excruciatingly slow. Maybe the router was having a bad day. If we're in the area, we'll be back.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Gamma from CT

Historic Inn

Posted Jul 16, 2014 on Hotels.com
Good choice for historic Strausburg! Clean charming rooms with a delightful dining room for dinner and complimentary breakfast. We would stay again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 11, 2014 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Weekend getaway

Posted Jun 30, 2014
I'v stayed several times and this place consistently delivers.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by James Voor from Connecticut

Posted Jun 30, 2014 on Hotels.com
Very enjoyable. Hotel restaurant is also top notch. Very narrow stairs to the upper floors that the elderly guests were struggling with.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by Traveler from Missouri

Expected more

Posted Jun 29, 2014 on Hotels.com
This is supposed to be a bed and breakfast. D├ęcor is very old fashioned and that fits the look of this 100 year old hotel. Unfortunately only had continental breakfast until 8, but we needed to leave by 730. Room really needed new bed, blanket and carpet. seemed more 2 star than 3.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 29, 2014
Pros: staff,food and decor
Cons: beds
Location: museum,eporium,mountain drive
Bed uncomfortable.Guest noisy in hallways,no buffers.Door,gap large underneath and noise a real problem