Ratings based on 302 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.7 out of 5
98% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Workshop

Posted Apr 9, 2014
I enjoyed my stay and would recommend this hotel. It was great to relax in the hot tub each evening.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Paul from Cortland, NY

Hotel with history and character

Posted Apr 6, 2014
Pros: character, friendly staff
It is difficult to write about hotel stays most of the time because so much is generic. Traveling in our price range (moderate) we often end up at chain hotels that could be just about anywhere. The George Washington is different. It has class,character and charm. A very good value... so good that we booked a second night for our return north.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Tom from Conyers, Ga.

Stay at The George Washington Hotel!

Posted Jan 27, 2014
The staff was very accommodating and down-to-earth personable. They represented the friendliness of the local Winchester populus but with professionalism at every turn. From the management to the hallway room stewards, everyone was on the same que. The location of the hotel was also welcomed and appreciated.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 26, 2014
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 15, 2014 on Hotels.com
There were areas of the room that could use some up keep. The grout in the shower was all cracked and breaking. The paint in the bathroom on one wall was also very cracked. Room was very clean and comfortable though. Would stay again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Canddace from Winchester, Va.

close to edge hill

Posted Jan 12, 2014 on Hotels.com
I was disappointed that they charged me $50.00 for parking instead of $5.00 on my credit so now I have to go through the hassle of getting that changed. I also spent $40 too much for the room because had I booked through the hotel I would have had the discount. I now realize it is cheaper to go through the hotel to book rooms.....I did like the hotel and the room.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Love this Hotel

Posted Jan 10, 2014
We truly love staying at this hotel. It's historic yet modern and comfortable. It's on the edge of a fabulous downtown. Luckily, when we arrived they still had their Xmas decorations up and they were spectacular. It was beautiful. We really enjoyed everything about it.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Elegance

Posted Jan 9, 2014
We love this hotel! The rooms make us feel like royalty! The indoor pool area is the best I have ever experienced!
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Wonderful hotel

Posted Jan 7, 2014 on Hotels.com
An elegant, fun hotel. We love the Half Note bar. Unfortunately, the restaurant food and service was not very good; however, numerous great restaurants are in walking distance from the hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 3, 2014 on Hotels.com