Ratings based on 371 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.2 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
3.5 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
3.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

close to casino

Posted Nov 22, 2014
Pros: The room was very clean. The receptionist was very pleasant and very helpful.
Cons: The was in desperate need of updating.
Location: Tim Horton's was next door. The hotel was close to the casino and close to shopping.
.My experience at the hotel was good. The staff was very helpful and location was good.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Toronto, Ontario

Nice, clean, comfortable

Posted Nov 10, 2014
Cons: No elevator!
Location: Close to the highway and shopping
Affordable, clean room, comfortable beds. Easy to get to, shopping and restaurants nearby. Would definitely go back.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Okay Stay

Posted Nov 4, 2014
Pros: The room was adequate for the price and was centrally located.
Cons: The room could use a microwave and the bathroom could be a bit larger with a counter.
We requested a pet friendly hotel and since we are used to staying at La Quinta were surprised that we were charged an extra $20.00 plus tax for our pets. In our mind pet friendly means pet friendly with no extra fee.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

cheap but ugly

Posted Oct 25, 2014
Pros: staff nice
Cons: whole building
Location: good location
sink leaked water . d├ęcor out of the 1970 . old musty smell through out hotel.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Toronto

Needs some updating....

Posted Oct 24, 2014
Pros: The price is right IF you get a decent room. For me, convenience to the location I was working in.
Cons: General maintenance of the rooms.
Location: I go to work and back again, I do not go there to do other things.
This hotel is priced right so I never expect much. I have stayed in this hotel on numerous occasions, for business reasons. It is convenient for my work but this time I saw many things that aren't getting attention. There was a lot of mildew around the bath area, the sink was on crooked legs and the toilet was on again/off again flushing. The sink was very slow to empty of water. The ceiling over the bed was flaking. The price is quite low although has been raised considerably since I first started staying there but any price increase is not warranted because no upkeep of the hotel is being done...each year I go there it all gets worse. Maybe I was just put into a bad room this time so I will most probably try it again next year and if I get the same kind of room I will look elsewhere in future. My stay is normally for 4 nights each year. I would not want to spend another 4 nights in that particular room or one like it !
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Ontario

Will Not Return

Posted Oct 20, 2014
Pros: It was close to downtown.
Cons: Decor, smell.
Location: Tim Horton's right next door -- where I chose to go for breakfast, instead of complimentary continental -- which was laughable.
I've paid less and stayed at better. The room was very dated, and smelled awful. Thankfully, I did not spend much time there.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Toronto, Ontario

Decent place for an overnight night stay

Posted Oct 19, 2014
Pros: Conveniently located close to downtown and Devonshire mall. Also the Tim Hortons next door is great.
Cons: Washrooms are a bit small and old and definitely need to be renovated.
Location: Located close to downtown, Devnoshire mall, Caesar's Casino, Windsor riverside trail. Also quite close to University of Windsor.
We were in the Windsor area and stayed here overnight. Check-in was nice, quick and smooth. Beds were comfortable and WiFi connectivity was good. Free parking is available around the building and finding a spot was very easy. Hotel and rooms were very clean. The washrooms were a bit small and dated. The lighting in the room was dim but it didn't bother me much. The hotel is reasonably priced and is just a few minutes drive from downtown, casino, Devonshire mall and University of Windsor. The complementary breakfast was also good. A Tim Hortons is located right next door which adds to the overall convenience. Overall it's a nice simple hotel. Would recommend for short stays.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Cornwall, Ontario

It's a room

Posted Oct 19, 2014
Pros : Hotel staff were great. There was a plate of complimentary chocolate chip cookies waiting for us at the check-in desk. The hotel was SUPER EASY to find, and is close to lots of restaurants and stores as well as to the Windsor-Detroit Tunnel. The continental breakfast was very nice (cereal, toast, waffles, toast, fruit, juice, milk, coffee, tea). There was a refrigerator in the room. The room was clean and quiet. Cons : The room was a little on the small side, but that's fine for one-night stays. There aren't any elevators. The phone didn't have any cord attached to it.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom London

We were very disappointed.

Posted Oct 15, 2014
Pros: The staff was about the only pleasant thing about this hotel.
Cons: The rooms need a facelift and they need to smell better. Better breakfast.
Location: Didn't explore!
I really thought Howard Johnson was a good name for a hotel. I was wrong! This hotel smelt old and is very outdated. The continental breakfast was disappointing. They should at least have eggs. They really need to check out other hotels to see what they are missing.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom aylmer ON

hotel by a busy road

Posted Oct 6, 2014
Pros: i like the price for it being one of the better hotels out there
Cons: update the rooms a little- mainly just tv and bathroom
Location: right off a main road, close to most of the popular amenities. etc caesars windsor was under 10 min depending on traffic. close to downtown.
overall the hotel itself was fairly nice but the room( or mainly just bathroom) was quite outdated. our room smelled like it had been smoked in even though we requested non-smoking. the bed was too hard for my taste but some people like something that firm. besides the smell, everything seemed very clean and nicely organized. my biggest complaint is the noise! partly from outside traffic(if you have one of those rooms) but wasnt too bad during the night surprisingly. The cleaning staff however woke us up around 8 or so which to me was too early.