Ratings based on 393 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2.9 out of 5
65% of guests recommend
3.3 Room cleanliness
3.4 Service & staff
3.1 Room comfort
2.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

very noisy in the halls

Posted Sep 2, 2014
I spent two nights at the Marlborough and was awakened both nights by noise in the hallways. The first night was partiers in the hallways and the second was people fighting. SO loud and for hours. The carpets were filthy and there was food on the floor in the restaurant - which was also covered in filthy carpet. The place needs some serious work to get it up to an acceptable level for me to ever stay there again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Owen Sound, ON

If you want to change the world, stay here

Posted Aug 14, 2014
Pros: Lots to like, not the least being the staff, the architecture ... and of course the rates!
Cons: I wouldn't go too far for fear of driving the price out of reach, but a few more lamps and sockets (or USB charge stations) in the rooms would help!
Location: Easy walk to Old Market Square, Museum of Man, Planetarium, Concert Hall, Portage Place and Chinatown. U of Wpg or The Forks are a hike but doable.
Reviewing the Marlborough is complicated. A bit rough around the edges, yes, location not prime, sure, but all that is unimportant. The Marlborough is a venerable 1914 hotel at the vanguard of a revitalization of downtown Winnipeg; the owners and staff are doing an amazing, practically heroic job helping to reclaim the urban core. Admittedly, this is not for everyone. It's not for whiners who pine like Edwardian aristocrats ordering underlings about and complaining about sauces ;) This is not a Marriott -- this is like old world hotels in any European country, elegant relics of a grander age reinventing itself for the modern world. And for the price, really, whiners can go elsewhere. The staff are proud of their hotel, and rightly so. The ballroom, pub, banquet hall, even the breakfast hall ... eager staffers fumble for keys offering to open up the hall, "Take a look. It's amazing," and they were right. Visit via Google Streetview if you don't believe me. Service was prompt, courteous and enthusiastic, always a can-do attitude. The City of Winnipeg should grace them with an award. For the basics: *full* breakfast is included, except for juice or special side orders, and those were unexpectedly pricey, the pool is a hike but serviceable, WiFi works! (each floor has its own router), rooms while short on sockets are spacious and clean, and walking distance to downtown attractions. Overall, perfect for the travelling family/group/student on a budget.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Calgary, AB

Only if you have no other option!

Posted Aug 1, 2014
Pros: The pros: the free breakfast, location(downtown core) and staff.
Cons: Renovations, acoustic insulation
Felt like Jack Torrance(Jack Nicholson) in the Overlook Hotel - The Shining(1980) - a film based on Stephen King's novel of same name. The pros: the free breakfast, location(downtown core) and staff. Terrible for a week period. Ok for one or two days.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from S

Gross - do not stay here

Posted Jul 29, 2014
Pay the extra $50-$100 bucks more and stay in a decent place. Best Westerns look like fancy resorts compared to this place. Not worth saving the extra $20 and staying here! YUCK!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from estevan sk

Ok but fairly run down...

Posted Jul 17, 2014
The rooms and hallways were a little run down. The pool wasn't working ... There were 2 hobos having a domestic dispute in the hall outside my room Sunday morning....
1 out of 5
by Maureen from Thunder Bay

Won't stay here again!

Posted Jun 29, 2014
Pros: Full breakfasts included.
Location: Walking distance to the MTS Centre for the concert we attended on the second night of our stay.
When we checked in the front desk staff said we had already checked in. Which translates they gave our room away to someone else. Finally got a room the size of a postage stamp and remember we prepaid!! I still have the bruises on the side of my leg from bumping into the bed trying to get between it and a desk. We go for dinner and hubby had requested extra pillow. Got back to room to discover room unlocked!!! Called front desk as key locks didn't work, maintenance fixed door locks 2X once that night and the next morning after breakfast we were again locked out of our room, including the cleaning staff who's key wouldn't work. I demanded a different room for the second night, much better room king size bed and more importantly the locks worked. They charged us for so called upgrade!! Breakfasts were full meals but will never stay in this hotel ever again!!
1 out of 5
by Unknown

Terrible

Posted Jun 25, 2014
The hotel needs some serious updating. The hallways are old and smelly. The room is dirty and stained. The bathtroom is in a very bad condition. The overall look of the place gives a sketchy vibe. I would not recommend it.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by chukwudum from highland park, NJ

Good hotel. Proximity to downtown. Friendly hotel.

Posted Jun 21, 2014
I had a good and quiet time. They answered my needs promptly. I checked out very early in the morning and the Reception woke me up. I will still stay at Marlborough next time I visit Winnipeg.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by matt from alberta

intersting stay

Posted Jun 19, 2014 on Hotels.com
The surrounding neighborhood was interesting because at dinner we seen a man urinating in the back alley, the pool was so fun and could hear the partiers outside
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Chris from Ontario

Clean, Convenient, Quiet

Posted Jun 13, 2014
Pros: Yes, the hotel is older, but the room was clean and quiet and the staff was very pleasant and accommodating.
Location: Forks Market, MTS Centre, Portage Mall, Human Rights Museum, Shaw Park, Manitoba Museum, Pantages Theatre, Winnipeg Cinematique, Exchange District
The Security Staff/Doormen were helpful and courteous, desk staff had the reservation completed within two minutes, the room was small but very comfortable. Checkout was completed with no paperwork. My experience was comfortable and stress free. I have paid twice as much at a big name hotel (named for a historical figure) two blocks away and had to tolerate loud construction noise with only a passing apology. Next time I go to Winnipeg, this will be my first choice.