Ratings based on 59 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2.7 out of 5
69% of guests recommend
3.2 Room cleanliness
2.9 Service & staff
3.0 Room comfort
2.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Location was ideal for our needs.

Posted Sep 21, 2014
Reasonable all round. Location was close to places we needed to go.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 18, 2014 by Kim, Hotel Management
Thanks for your review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Please come again for your next trip.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Guelph Ont.

Good hotel close to the airport.

Posted Aug 28, 2014
Pros: As above the closeness to the airport and to our family that we were visiting.
Cons: I can't think of anything at the moment. Overall things were great!
Location: It was close to the airport and to the main arterial roads to take us to and from the downtown area and to our family in the North End.
We were very pleasantly surprised by the Thriftlodge. We booked it of course for the proximity to the airport and for the price! No complaints and we enjoyed the pool and the hot tubs. The staff was very helpful and if we had any questions they were quickly answered. Thank you!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Edmonton

Road trip 2014

Posted Aug 12, 2014
Pros: Air conditioner worked, the room was inexpensive, and there was coffee.
Cons: Not sure. Bit the front desk staff could be better trained and more informative, about how a guest gets to the room.
Location: Bad location, took forever to get there, and was not easy leaving in the morning.
Overall not bad. would avoid staying here again, although the cost wasn't bad. and I WOULD STAY HERE AGAIN IF I HAD TO.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 20, 2014 by Kim, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. Our air conditioned rooms are very comfortable and reasonably priced. We apologize for any inconvenience locating your room when you arrived. As customer service is a priority for us, we normally are very helpful when greeting new visitors, and our 24 hour front desk is always available for any questions or requests. Also, we are conveniently located very close to the airport, downtown, and many shopping centers.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Saskatoon

Worst Idea Ever

Posted Aug 10, 2014
Pros: Nothing.
Cons: Everything
Location: Close to the airport and Polo Park.
The hotel is old and needs reno. None of the staff seem to care about the customer or their jobs. The location is hard to find and in a less than tidy or safe area of Winnipeg. Do yourself a favor, pay a little more and stay elsewhere.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 20, 2014 by Kim, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. Our property is in the process of being renovated, with about 50% completed so far. Rooms and various other areas have been remodeled, including our awesome water park. Although the building may still be older, it is clean, and quiet. We are unable to respond to your comments about the staff, as you gave no details. However, all of our staff care about the guests and customer service is a priority for us. Thank you.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from p

Nice pool

Posted Jul 14, 2014
It was average stay with good swimming pool service but the rooms have little bitter smell rest everything was ok
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 1, 2014 by Kim, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. We are glad your stay was ok. Our waterpark draws a lot of guests who just stay for the swimming. Perhaps we could have done something for the bitter smell u mentioned, if you would have let the front desk know. Thank you again.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Edmonton

Just the basics done "OK" but not great

Posted Jul 6, 2014
Convenient Location , Nice Pool and Indoor Waterslide (you would never guess it had a waterslide from outside), staff was friendly and helpful. But No hot water for a shower on 1st morning OK on 2nd morning Bed Ok but not great Restaurant is small and out dated but staff friendly and basic breakfast OK Not the place to go for frills I had to get an Iron from the front desk as there is none in rooms. Fridge and Microwave in room was convenient
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 13, 2014 by Kim, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. We are very proud of our fabulous waterpark. Sorry about no hot water on your first morning. There was a leak that was not found until later in the day. There are two seating areas for our delightful restaurant, with a larger area reserved mainly for the busy lunch buffet. For our guests' convenience, we have a 24 hour front desk, and amenities such as ironing boards etc are available. Thank you for staying with us and we hope you will be back soon.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 13, 2014 by Kim, Hotel Management
Thank you for reviewing our hotel. We certainly are proud of our fabulous waterpark. Sorry for the inconvenience with no hot water, but we had a leak that was not found until later in the day. There are two seating areas for our in-house restaurant, with a larger area reserved primarily for the busy lunch buffet. For our guests convenience, the 24 hour front desk is always available for special requests, such as ironing boards, etc. Thank you for staying with us and we hope to see you again soon.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Tracy from Saskatchewan

Scary

Posted Jul 6, 2014 on Hotels.com
Would not book again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 13, 2014 by kim, Hotel Management
thank you for your brief review. Perhaps if you had been more specific, it would have been helpful in answering your review. We do not consider anything here to be scary, and have literally hundreds of guests here from week to week that enjoy our lodge, and many return frequently.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 13, 2014 by kim, Hotel Management
Thank you for your brief review.Perhaps if you had been more specific as to what you were scared of, it would be more helpful in answering your review. We do not consider anything to be scary here at the hotel. There are literally hundreds of guests here from week to week that enjoy staying with us, and return regularly.
1 out of 5
Recommended
by Dawn from Dryden,Ontario

Don't

Posted Jul 3, 2014 on Hotels.com
When room was booked was suppose to be accessible which means outside door not door at the end of hallways.No coffee pot in the room which there was suppose to be. Wifi did not work in the room.Also had to go down to front desk to get a plug for the bathtub. I do not recommend this hotel to anyone and will never stay there again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 13, 2014 by kim, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. Accessible means to us that the room is accessible by wheelchair. Sorry a room with a private entrance was not available upon your arrival, but theses rooms are very popular. Instead, we gave you an accessible room next to an exit for your convenience. Coffee pots are available on request, and discount-rate rooms do not qualify for all amenities. Also, we have a restaurant/coffee shop on site. The internet was down for a few hours, and we cannot always control technical difficulties. On our behalf, we apologize for any inconvenience. Again, thank you for taking time to review our lodge and we sincerely wish you will come again.
2 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

It was ok

Posted Jun 25, 2014 on Hotels.com
It's an ok place to stay if ur just sleeping. Was not happy about the showers water would get hot and the freezing cold and there is no fans in bathroom. no coffee pots in rooms had to buy one and the windows u can not open them
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 17, 2014 on Hotels.com