Ratings based on 25 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Derby

Great stay, very friendly and helpful staff

Posted Jul 22, 2014
Pros: Friendly, helpful, good value
Location: Our visit to Wells Cathedral and site seeing in the town made for a pleasant day.
Could not be better very comfortable, breakfast first class, (steak night Thursday) not to be missed ! Would stay again if in area.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Lovely hotel in a lovely location

Posted Jul 13, 2014
Happy with our stay overall but noisy floor boards when people walking past our room.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by keith and Jen from north Yorkshire

Quiet Hotel near to Cheddar

Posted Jun 28, 2014
Pros: The countryside and quiet position. The friendly staff
Cons: Small attention to some details as listed above; overall the Hotel needs some moderate refurbishment
Location: In the country with local store. Easy travel of a few minutes to main road to Bristol etc. Trip to Cheddar was about 10-15 minutes away.
The staff were all helpful and very friendly. Easy parking to side /rear of Hotel. Room was of good size(N0 6) with shower. Poorly positioned TV which was quite small and at ceiling height. WIFI worked well using their supplied code. Bathroom had no where to hang clothes or place put toiletry bags. Sink was loose.Bar and dinning areas were comfortable with good choice of drinks and food. Overall the hotel has a nice character but is in need of moderate upgrading to improve the overall score. We would consider returning.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 24, 2013 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Chara from Enfield

Comfy beds, very friendly

Posted Sep 19, 2013 on Hotels.com
Very friendly people, lovely rustic feel, bed so large and comfy, lovely food. Good base to visit Cheddar Gorge, Wells and other places in Somerset and Wiltshire, would stay again
4 out of 5
Recommended
by middle aged couple from North West

warm and friendly welcome

Posted Aug 24, 2013 on Hotels.com
Scenic location, warm welcome at reception. Good choice at breakfast, cooked breakfast was tasty and service great. Room clean though maybe a little small for the four poster bed. We stayed one night and ate at the Inn. Food excellent and well presented. Bar area a little rowdy but it was Saturday afternoon/evening.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Cider lover n Somerset lover

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 14, 2013 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by R.Heyes from Penscot Inn, Shipham

Delicious breakfasts

Posted Jul 30, 2013 on Hotels.com
The only snag was I didn't have enough time to enjoy the delicious breakfasts because they weren't available before 8am and not until 8.30 on Sunday morning when I had to go to Wells at 9am.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by traveller

Traditional Inn

Posted Jun 29, 2013
Pros: Food was very good
Cons: The place really needed a good clean and updating
Location: Beautiful situation
Lovely situation, lovely staff, the room was better than the rest of the hotel. Old building, very traditional Inn, but needs a lot of "refreshing" and general upkeep and cleaning in the public areas. For the price paid, not very good quality, but I would recommend it for the situation.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by MickyP from Northampton

Comfortable and relaxing stay

Posted May 30, 2013 on Hotels.com
We used the hotel for two nights during a holiday weekend visit to Somerset. It is ideally placed for the Cheddar Gorge Area .,The room and bed were very comfortable and the staff were friendly and helpful. The building has lots of character and is a pleasant environment. This is an ideal hotel if you want peace and quiet for a couple of days. I will certainly use it again if I visit the area.