Ratings based on 41 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Norfolk

A Quiet Retreat

Posted Nov 9, 2014
Staff very helpful with (requested) local information and advice. Breakfast was fine.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Hampshire

Soopa Doopa.

Posted Oct 7, 2014
Pros: Every thing
Cons: A bit of a tiss up out side.
Location: my goodness lovely little village. With shop next door very handy. I went to visit Cheddar Gorge. Near buy a must see great for the hole family.
Right from the start from when I turned up all the Staff were so kind and Helpful. You can feel the Happiness in the place. This was the first time I had been away on my own, and so a little nervous. But every one made my stay so nice so much so I didn't want to leave. I really feel I turned up a stranger and left making new friends. I was able to take my little man Stanley my Dog and he love all the fuss every one made of him. I do have one thing I feel I must say and that is the 3 STAR Rating I feel is not fair they should be at leased 4 STARS. I hope the Pub reads this and if so. Thanks to all of you and hope Stan and I can come and stay again soon. All the Best. Regards. Sally and Stanley Penfold.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Brighton

Beautiful country inn located on a quiet green

Posted Sep 27, 2014
Pros: Helpful staff
Cons: Bar and pub needs a bit of updating
Location: Near to Cheddar Gorge and Glastonbury and Bath
Really friendly staff and great ciders in the bar. The hotel has real character, but the bar was a bit dated. The breakfast was fantastic.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom South Devon

Friendly homely atmosphere

Posted Sep 22, 2014
Pros: A real character country pub with high standards.
Cons: Grapefruit was the only "wet" fruit for breakfast which conflicts with the widely prescribed Statins. Twin beds a bit narrow for a larger person.
Location: Nice rural village close to Cheddar, Wells and Bristol Airport.
Food was good quality and well cooked. Appreciated hot chocolate and quality oat biscuits on the tea tray in the room. A family owned establishment run by friendly and polite people who were very helpful and attentive. Our dog was also welcomed.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 19, 2014 on Hotels.com
2 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Disappointing

Posted Aug 18, 2014 on Hotels.com
Great location, however menu was over priced and food below average. When asked if everything was ok I told the waitress thet the crab cakes had no crab in them, they were just potato cakes. No comments or any explanation came back, this starter was £6.95, the main meals were bland and the salad was no more than a garnish. The hotel is quirky, but in need of TLC, decor is poor, hallways are shabby and not well maintained. On the plus side the beds were very comfy. The owners were not eager to please, felt at times that we were an inconvienience. Hospitality training would benefit the staff, apart from the young lady behind the bar who was very helpful and friendly, maybe she could give the others some lessons!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by guestfrom Herts

First class accomodation

Posted Aug 6, 2014 on Hotels.com
Ideal stop over if traveling to the west country, Great hosts, room clean with individual character, excellent breakfast, a very enjoyable stay and looking forward to visiting again when next en-route to Cornwall
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Yelverton

Good break

Posted Aug 4, 2014
Made to feel welcomed on arrival. Room nice and spacious and was available earlier than the time stated. Very comfortable bed. Room nicely decorated and modern. We took our dog and this was no problem. Was able to eat in the bar area with our pet which was ideal as he is rather nervous. Good walks nearby as well. We eat in the evening at the Inn and the food was very good. Breakfast also we couldn't fault. Would stay again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Steve dayfrom Lincolnshire

Great breakfast

Posted Jul 30, 2014 on Hotels.com
This is a very family run hotel, all hands on deck, nothing too much trouble. Our two night stay enjoyable, we only had breakfast but this was of a high standard. If you are looking for a value for money rather than a posh bedspread then this is just that, value for money. Great location for days out. Would we return or recommend this hotel to friends? Yes
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Derby

Great stay, very friendly and helpful staff

Posted Jul 22, 2014
Pros: Friendly, helpful, good value
Location: Our visit to Wells Cathedral and site seeing in the town made for a pleasant day.
Could not be better very comfortable, breakfast first class, (steak night Thursday) not to be missed ! Would stay again if in area.