Ratings based on 55 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Canada

Lovely stay in peaceful village

Posted May 30, 2015
We were looking for a place with character and history in peaceful surroundings, something different from a hotel chain city-stay. The Penscot Inn provided exactly what we were looking for. This village is in the Mendip Hills and provided lots of opportunity for wonderful walks with amazing views over the countryside. The bed was so comfortable and the food delicious. Thanks for wonderful memories of our trip to England!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Pleasant Inn - Quiet Village - Friendly Staff

Posted Apr 11, 2015
The Inn is in a quiet and peaceful village. The staff were friendly, welcoming and helpful. Parts of the building, rooms and decor were dated, the photos online overly flattering, but this is unsurprising given that it is not a modern building. None of this detracted from our stay, which was pleasant, with a great night's sleep in a comfortable room - a relaxing get away from the city. Breakfast started at 8:00am - and as we needed to leave early, we requested breakfast at 7:45am, which they were more than happy to accommodate. If you are looking for a luxury hotel, this is not the place for you - but if you are looking for a relaxing and pleasant stay, with friendly, helpful staff for a good price, within a short distance of Cheddar then this would be a good choice. If I am in the area again, I would happily go back.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by A verified traveler

Old Fashioned Charm

Posted Mar 4, 2015 on Hotels
I was on a course locally the next day so stayed for one night. Quiet (a Thursday in February) and there was a coal fire in the bar. Nice atmosphere. The rooom was a bit tired, decoration wise, but had everything I needed. Very clean room. The TV reception was bad, and cut out from time to time - a function of being in the hills. Lovely breakfast cooked to order, with good coffee.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Paignton, Devon

Old-type pub with rooms

Posted Feb 2, 2015
Pros: It was close to the airport, comfortable and quiet.
Cons: Some attention to furnishings in the room, eg curtain rail
Location: In a very quiet village, with not much happening!
We stayed one night as we had wanted to be near the airport. The room was a bit in need of TLC, but was quite comfortable and quiet. Our dinner was good, as was the cooked breakfast.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Kerry from Greenacre

Exceptionally good value

Posted Jan 12, 2015 on Hotels
One night stop over, ideal for our requirements clean and staff very sociable
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Pernille Maj from Aarhus, Denmark

Hot towels

Posted Dec 1, 2014 on Hotels
Had a very nice stay. The towelheater had been turned on and what a nice feeling with a shower and then hot towels after long day on the road. Breakfast was great and the hosts very friendly.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Norfolk

A Quiet Retreat

Posted Nov 9, 2014
Staff very helpful with (requested) local information and advice. Breakfast was fine.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Nice location and place. Needs a little paint

Posted Oct 21, 2014 on Hotels
Lovely location and friendly family staff. Perfect location for visiting the local area and the food was 5 star. cannot fault the food and staff, but the room was constantly occupied with flies getting in from somewhere. The room carpet was unlean and the access corridor smelt and needed freshening up with parts or the building. The bathroom however was very clean. Besides the volume of flies the place was nice and we would stay again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Hampshire

Soopa Doopa.

Posted Oct 7, 2014
Pros: Every thing
Cons: A bit of a tiss up out side.
Location: my goodness lovely little village. With shop next door very handy. I went to visit Cheddar Gorge. Near buy a must see great for the hole family.
Right from the start from when I turned up all the Staff were so kind and Helpful. You can feel the Happiness in the place. This was the first time I had been away on my own, and so a little nervous. But every one made my stay so nice so much so I didn't want to leave. I really feel I turned up a stranger and left making new friends. I was able to take my little man Stanley my Dog and he love all the fuss every one made of him. I do have one thing I feel I must say and that is the 3 STAR Rating I feel is not fair they should be at leased 4 STARS. I hope the Pub reads this and if so. Thanks to all of you and hope Stan and I can come and stay again soon. All the Best. Regards. Sally and Stanley Penfold.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by J R DEW from WOLVERHAMPTON.

FIRST CLASS.

Posted Sep 29, 2014 on Hotels
FRIENDLY RECEPTION, FIRST CLASS EVENING MEAL, AND BREAKFAST.