Ratings based on 29 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Yelverton

Good break

Posted Aug 4, 2014
Made to feel welcomed on arrival. Room nice and spacious and was available earlier than the time stated. Very comfortable bed. Room nicely decorated and modern. We took our dog and this was no problem. Was able to eat in the bar area with our pet which was ideal as he is rather nervous. Good walks nearby as well. We eat in the evening at the Inn and the food was very good. Breakfast also we couldn't fault. Would stay again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Derby

Great stay, very friendly and helpful staff

Posted Jul 22, 2014
Pros: Friendly, helpful, good value
Location: Our visit to Wells Cathedral and site seeing in the town made for a pleasant day.
Could not be better very comfortable, breakfast first class, (steak night Thursday) not to be missed ! Would stay again if in area.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Lovely hotel in a lovely location

Posted Jul 13, 2014
Happy with our stay overall but noisy floor boards when people walking past our room.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by keith and Jen from north Yorkshire

Quiet Hotel near to Cheddar

Posted Jun 28, 2014
Pros: The countryside and quiet position. The friendly staff
Cons: Small attention to some details as listed above; overall the Hotel needs some moderate refurbishment
Location: In the country with local store. Easy travel of a few minutes to main road to Bristol etc. Trip to Cheddar was about 10-15 minutes away.
The staff were all helpful and very friendly. Easy parking to side /rear of Hotel. Room was of good size(N0 6) with shower. Poorly positioned TV which was quite small and at ceiling height. WIFI worked well using their supplied code. Bathroom had no where to hang clothes or place put toiletry bags. Sink was loose.Bar and dinning areas were comfortable with good choice of drinks and food. Overall the hotel has a nice character but is in need of moderate upgrading to improve the overall score. We would consider returning.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by KatyJ from Cornwall

Ideal

Posted May 7, 2014 on Hotels.com
We wanted to stay in a pub in the Mendips and that's exactly what we got. Friendly staff, great service, good position for exploring the area. Sunny afternoon sampling the Thatchers cider selection (as advised in the welcome pack) topped off our stay beautifully Would definitely stay again if in the area.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by hammered70 from luton

nice nice nice

Posted Apr 23, 2014 on Hotels.com
stayed for one night after visiting cheddar gorge. Lovely old inn with lots of history to it. Nice rooms, comfy beds, and lovely breakfast. All in all a lovely stay
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 20, 2014 on Hotels.com
We found our shower room rather cold. Our bedroom was comfortable once we'd discovered all of the four separate heating controllers
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 24, 2013 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Chara from Enfield

Comfy beds, very friendly

Posted Sep 19, 2013 on Hotels.com
Very friendly people, lovely rustic feel, bed so large and comfy, lovely food. Good base to visit Cheddar Gorge, Wells and other places in Somerset and Wiltshire, would stay again
4 out of 5
Recommended
by middle aged couple from North West

warm and friendly welcome

Posted Aug 24, 2013 on Hotels.com
Scenic location, warm welcome at reception. Good choice at breakfast, cooked breakfast was tasty and service great. Room clean though maybe a little small for the four poster bed. We stayed one night and ate at the Inn. Food excellent and well presented. Bar area a little rowdy but it was Saturday afternoon/evening.