Ratings based on 346 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent Location Downtown

Posted Apr 15, 2015
The hotel is currently undergoing some renovation, but even with that it was comfortable and the staff was extremely helpful.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Close to Old Salem

Posted Apr 6, 2015
Was able to walk to Old Salem easily. Dinner at Hotel was good and reasonably priced.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice enough.

Posted Feb 10, 2015
We weren't there but one night. So it's a little hard to review it on way or another.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Burlington, NC

Not far from the convention center.

Posted Jan 31, 2015
Pros: The most? The Pillows.
Cons: Video on Demand on the TV, sometimes it worked, sometimes it didn't
Location: Close enough for about a 10min walk to the convention center.
Great staff, Great pillows, Great Hot Water, Good rate, Good room, Better than average free breakfast.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 21, 2015
Clean, quiet and comfortable...... Breakfast was ok and nothing special at all, but did the job.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Midlothian, VA

Wonderful Hotel & Great Staff

Posted Jan 13, 2015
Pros: Clean and well taken care of. Comfortable beds. Large queen sized beds!
Cons: Nothing.
Location: NIce restaurants and close to downtown for site seeing.
Great location in downtown Winston Salem. The hotel is beautiful and VERY CLEAN. The staff upgraded us to a suite upon our arrival for free and after our son broke one of the mugs in the room, they waived the fee. Free breakfast buffet with hot and cold foods. The staff was very friendly and kind to our family. Would definitely stay here again, especially for the price!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 5, 2015
Pros: The location of the hotel is good; easy to get to from the highway. I liked that the room had a separate sink, refigerator and microwave.
Cons: Our room had a separate counter area with a sink it did not have a separate table area. Other rooms had table but no counter area. A table is needed.
Location: About a mile from downtown but very close to Children's Museum, decent restaurants. Not far from Old Salem.
We checked in late on Christmas Day but the staff was waiting for us, friendly and accommodating. The only issue I had was that I was not told at check in that the cook was away on vacation and as a result the hot breakfast that we were promised was not to be. So, we went to the breakfast area and were very disappointed to find stale bagels, white toast, several types of flake cereals with non-fat milk (the only choice) and mini-muffins sliced in half!!!! I can accept that it was the holidays and the cook was away but it would have been nice to have been told in advance AND to have yogurt as an option. It was particularly galling because our 19 year old son was with us in the room and we had to pay extra for him, in part, because of the breakfast! He did not eat the "breakfast." (I know that he is an adult and some places charge extra for a third adult; that was not an issue.) We were there for three nights; the cook returned ion the day we checked out. The breakfast was only marginally better with the addition of bacon and powdered eggs. The server or maybe a cook was overheard to say "I don't care; I am not putting more out. They get what they get." This was in response to a request by the hostess! We have stayed at this hotel in the past, during the summer months and actually recall a good breakfast experience. I hope this most recent experience was an aberration as I like the hotel itself and its location. The staff was friendly and helpful.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Brianfrom Florida

Holiday relaxation

Posted Dec 22, 2014 on Hotels.com
We traveled for the Holidays and this was a pleasant stopover. Breakfast was hot with good choices.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Julie Afrom Jefferson, NC

Wake Forest Baptist Hospital patient and family -

Posted Dec 19, 2014 on Hotels.com
Came to Winston Salem for minor surgery but far enough from home to need a stop over place the day before. The Hawthorne gives a wonderful discount and free shuttle for patients and family of Wake Forest. The hotel itself is very nice, staff is great, food wonderful, and SO convenient. Will stay here whether hospital related or not.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

out standing

Posted Dec 12, 2014
Pros: enjoyment
nice meet high school classmates, meals is great , pleasant stay