Ratings based on 314 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Raleigh, North Carolina

Posted Oct 22, 2014
Nice hotel. Very convenient to downtown. I really enjoyed it.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from st Louis

Friendly staff

Posted Oct 8, 2014
I arrived several hours early and was able to get a room which I promptly locked myself out of. After a few laughs I received another room key.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from raleigh

Great location great staff

Posted Sep 8, 2014
We arrived late and were happy to see we'd been upgraded to a fancy room! It was so much fun! I know this can't happen every time, but the staff was great about it. Breakfast is way better than most places - lots of options, not just carbohydrates.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Maryland

Clean, quiet & comfortable.

Posted Sep 3, 2014
Pros: Convenience to the city and the Strollway, hot, full breakfast, clean room, pet friendly.
Cons: Elevator at the opposite end of the hallway to the rooms.
Location: Close proximity to the city center, great restaurants & southern hospitality, awesome trails nearby!
Convenient access to the city and the Strollway which leads through Old Salem to Salem Lake via the Greenway. The trails were our goal for this third trip to Winston-Salem this year. The side benefits are The Old Fourth Street Filling Station restaurant and Carolina's Vineyard & Hops on Marshall Street. They have the best sangria! Out of the 3 different hotels I have stayed, the Hawthorne Inn & Conference Center was the best. Awesome free full breakfast bar though the attendant could have been more pleasant. She was the only reason I didn't rate the staff a 5. The front desk staff was very pleasant and accommodating. I plan on staying here again when I return to Winston Salem in 2015!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Wonderful hotel with incredible service

Posted Aug 23, 2014
Pros: The rooms and the service.
Cons: Nothing - it was great.
Location: Close to downtown.
I loved this hotel; it is an unbelievable value. I was not expecting a whole lot and boy was I surprised. My room was incredibly spacious and clean, with a microwave and refrigerator. The bathroom was large and modern. The service at the front desk was friendly and very professional. I highly recommend the Hawthorne.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 29, 2014 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
by ballancefarm from NC

Easy walk to downtown.

Posted Jul 26, 2014 on Hotels.com
Hotel is currently modernizing. Clean. Friendly helpful staff. Food in the restaurant is mediocre. Free hot breakfast with all rooms, (average). Nice pool. Good work out room. Rooms are large and spacious excellent meeting facility.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from California

Posted Jul 22, 2014
Pros: The front desk staff and the location. The beds were very comfortable too
Cons: Housekeeping
The front desk staff was very accommodating, couldn't have been nicer. The room service was fast and accurate and even delivered a little past the deadline. The maid staff however... a bit of a problem. We stayed four nights and our coffee was never refilled, one day our room wasn't ever cleaned at all. When we asked for clean coffee cups, on the day that the room wasn't cleaned, we were told by housekeeping to wash them ourselves and reuse them. We did as there wasn't much choice and had to use shampoo to clean them. Also, although our room had a kitchen, there were no utensils or dish soap or anything in the cupboards, we had to borrow silverware and plates from the restaurant on the 2nd floor. The beds were very comfortable, though, and the AC worked great.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 10, 2014 on Hotels.com
Great folks.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Nashville, Tennessee

Helpful staff, comfortable room

Posted Jul 9, 2014
Hotel staff was most helpful when we needed computer and printing aid. Beds were extremely comfortable. Good breakfast compared to other hotels.