Ratings based on 358 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Albemarle

Nice Hotel

Posted Jul 3, 2015
Room was clean, microwave and refrigerator clean, had no problems whatsoever. Recommend to anyone.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not what I thought it would be...

Posted May 5, 2015
Pros: Staff in front of the house.
Cons: A wrecking ball!
Rooms and hotel are old and in need of upgrading. This hotel is owned by the hospital and it is run like it is. Bathroom, to quote Dudley Moore in Arthur are too small to change your mind. Front and back of hotel are on different levels and if you do not get one of the Handicapped spots behind the AC unit, your 90 year old (or other) mother-in-law has to navigate lots of steps. I would never come back here. The staff tried to accommodate us, but they did not have the room to do so. Buyer beware.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 10, 2015 by Helena, Hotel Management
It saddens me that we fell short in meeting your needs. I did enjoy speaking with you and your family while you were here with us. Even though we are rated 7 out of 36 hotels in Winston Salem through Trip Advisor, there is always room for improvement. We are also in the process of revising that back area for easier access. If you are in this area again, please allow us the opportunity to be your Host. We would love to have you and your family back. Helena Sims Front Office Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent Location Downtown

Posted Apr 15, 2015
The hotel is currently undergoing some renovation, but even with that it was comfortable and the staff was extremely helpful.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Close to Old Salem

Posted Apr 6, 2015
Was able to walk to Old Salem easily. Dinner at Hotel was good and reasonably priced.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Robert from Frederick

Nice place, friendly staff

Posted Mar 26, 2015 on Hotels
The Hawthorne exceeded my expectations. My rooms were clean and spacious with all the ammenities I expect from any hotel at this point. My only gripe was the lack of bedside electrical outlets.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by David from Myrtle Beach, South Carolina

Business as usual......in a good way

Posted Mar 24, 2015 on Hotels
Another good experience through Hotels .com, thanks
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by John from Great Falls

A 2, not a 4

Posted Mar 21, 2015 on Hotels
Visiting colleges in the area. Booked this hotel based on reviews. The hotel was in no way as good as the ratings. It was a dumpy hotel with poor customer service. Don't believe the reviews rating this as a 4 or higher. It's a 2
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by John from Baltimore

Good but not great

Posted Mar 17, 2015 on Hotels
We enjoyed our stay as a whole. There were 3 things I saw that I felt could have been better. First the handicap parking lot on the side seemed hard to get to with the fenced in area. Second in the gym the tv the clock nor the phone worked. My phone was in the room charging and I had no way to keep track of the time. I went twice during my stay and neither worked either time. The third thing is in regards to room service. We had a few late nights due to the event we attended. Everything around the hotel seemed to be closed when we returned around midnight. It would have been nice to have access to a late menu to hold us over till breakfast.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Jeff from Burlington, ON

nice and clean, but the restaurant needs help

Posted Mar 9, 2015 on Hotels
nice clean hotel, easy walk to downtown, but the restaurant is sadly lacking, service was good, but the food sub-par. 2 steaks on the menu, but don't have any steak knives.. that pretty much says it all.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Nice Hotel & Good Service!

Posted Mar 1, 2015 on Hotels
Second time staying here on business trips to Winston-Salem. Nice hotel with good, friendly service, plus the price includes a nice hot breakfast, along with the free on-site parking.