Ratings based on 309 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from raleigh

Great location great staff

Posted Sep 8, 2014
We arrived late and were happy to see we'd been upgraded to a fancy room! It was so much fun! I know this can't happen every time, but the staff was great about it. Breakfast is way better than most places - lots of options, not just carbohydrates.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Maryland

Clean, quiet & comfortable.

Posted Sep 3, 2014
Pros: Convenience to the city and the Strollway, hot, full breakfast, clean room, pet friendly.
Cons: Elevator at the opposite end of the hallway to the rooms.
Location: Close proximity to the city center, great restaurants & southern hospitality, awesome trails nearby!
Convenient access to the city and the Strollway which leads through Old Salem to Salem Lake via the Greenway. The trails were our goal for this third trip to Winston-Salem this year. The side benefits are The Old Fourth Street Filling Station restaurant and Carolina's Vineyard & Hops on Marshall Street. They have the best sangria! Out of the 3 different hotels I have stayed, the Hawthorne Inn & Conference Center was the best. Awesome free full breakfast bar though the attendant could have been more pleasant. She was the only reason I didn't rate the staff a 5. The front desk staff was very pleasant and accommodating. I plan on staying here again when I return to Winston Salem in 2015!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Wonderful hotel with incredible service

Posted Aug 23, 2014
Pros: The rooms and the service.
Cons: Nothing - it was great.
Location: Close to downtown.
I loved this hotel; it is an unbelievable value. I was not expecting a whole lot and boy was I surprised. My room was incredibly spacious and clean, with a microwave and refrigerator. The bathroom was large and modern. The service at the front desk was friendly and very professional. I highly recommend the Hawthorne.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from California

Posted Jul 22, 2014
Pros: The front desk staff and the location. The beds were very comfortable too
Cons: Housekeeping
The front desk staff was very accommodating, couldn't have been nicer. The room service was fast and accurate and even delivered a little past the deadline. The maid staff however... a bit of a problem. We stayed four nights and our coffee was never refilled, one day our room wasn't ever cleaned at all. When we asked for clean coffee cups, on the day that the room wasn't cleaned, we were told by housekeeping to wash them ourselves and reuse them. We did as there wasn't much choice and had to use shampoo to clean them. Also, although our room had a kitchen, there were no utensils or dish soap or anything in the cupboards, we had to borrow silverware and plates from the restaurant on the 2nd floor. The beds were very comfortable, though, and the AC worked great.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Nashville, Tennessee

Helpful staff, comfortable room

Posted Jul 9, 2014
Hotel staff was most helpful when we needed computer and printing aid. Beds were extremely comfortable. Good breakfast compared to other hotels.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Sarah from Houston, TX

Convenient, close to downtown

Posted May 31, 2014
Pros: Hotel staff were very helpful and pleasant, especially front desk.
Cons: Rooms were a little dated. Bed spreads a little old and questionable. Fitness center quite small and limited.
Rooms were clean. It was nice to have a microwave and refrigerator. Hot breakfast was good, convenient.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Second time around

Posted May 22, 2014
I first stayed at this hotel when my son enrolled at Wake Forest and stayed when I returned 10 months later. The staff is very friendly and the inclusive breakfast buffet was an added touch. My son swam in the pool although it was a little chilly for me. I would stay here again if I'm ever in Winston-Salem again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Michael from Atlanta

Fine hotel. Food use to be better a year ago.

Posted May 7, 2014
Pros: Clean, quiet, perfect location.
Cons: Dining and breakfast experience - service is fine, food quality substandard.
Nice hotel. Perfect location. Professional staff. I stayed there many times before. My last experience: hotel is still fine, dining and breakfast... use to be much better before.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by marci from hickory, nc

Great access to downtown

Posted Apr 28, 2014
Pros: Location, not a chain.
Cons: Quietness in rooms.
Location: Old Salem, downtown restaurants, arts centers
Great hotel, however very thin walls. Could hear everything said in halls and above us. Otherwise good. Wonderful access to interstate and downtown. All back roads and no traffic.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Blair

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 24, 2014 on Hotels.com