Ratings based on 171 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Music too loud

Posted Mar 30, 2015
Pros: Front desk person at check in was pleasant.
Cons: No music during breakfast would be better than loud music with TV blaring.
The music in the breakfast area was annoying and too loud. When I asked the two people at the desk to turn in down they said they could not because it was in an office that was locked. Breakfast was mediocre.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Would not stay there again

Posted Feb 2, 2015 on Hotels.com
Overall it is an OK hotel because it is in a very good location. But the elevator is very old and the doors will hit before it stops closing and opens back up. The elevator buttons on the third floor doesn't light up and you have to keep pressing it about 7 times before the elevator will activate to come to the floor. The room I stayed in (room 321) had a mildew smell and the bed is old and hard. The toilet would flush after pressing the handle 3 times. The breakfast was good and the hotel staff was very friendly.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Friendly staff, old hotel

Posted Jan 9, 2015 on Hotels.com
The staff was courteous and customer service oriented. It is simply an old property in need of a makeover.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by cynthia

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 9, 2015 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Greensboro, NC

Clean and updated hotel in central Winston Salem

Posted Dec 19, 2014
Pros: Close to other stores/restaurants, clean, updated, quick check in
Cons: Parking lot is kind of small but not a big deal
Had a wedding in downtown and didn't want to pay the higher fees for closeby hotel rooms so we chose this one. Very good price and only a 7 minute drive from downtown. It's basically on the outskirts of a shopping center with a Panera Bread and Harris Teeter so you can grab anything you may have left at home.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Comfortable, clean hotel with helpful staff.

Posted Dec 5, 2014 on Hotels.com
Comfortable, clean hotel. Helpful staff.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom NC

Nice hotel close to Wake Forrest Baptist Hospital

Posted Nov 19, 2014
We stayed at the Holiday Inn Express Winston Salem Downtown West four nights. We were looking for a hotel near Wake Forrest Baptist Hospital. The hotel is the closest to the hospital, and within walking distance. Staff was friendly and helpful. The room was spacious and clean. The beds were very comfortable. Breakfast had a nice variety and exceeded our expectations. A family member called and requested some items to be put in our room prior to our arrival. The staff ensured the request was taken care of. I would definitely recommend this hotel.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Scottfrom Tennessee

BAD DECISION

Posted Oct 17, 2014 on Hotels.com
Just a terrible experience with respect to amenities. The TV's barely work at all - nothing but static on all but a few channels. No concessions made though I stayed ofr three nights at 150 per night by the time taxes were included. DO NOT book this hotel. They are way behind others of the same price. How can a hotel sell you a room with no TV for 150 dollars with a straight face ?
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Paul and Robinefrom Canada

The Finest of Hotels

Posted Oct 3, 2014 on Hotels.com
Our stay at this hotel was the best experience we could ask for... The staff , all went above and beyond our expectations. Very courteous, knowledgeable of the area and helpful in all aspects.....the hotel itself was clean ... The breakfast buffet was always awesome... We would definitely stay here again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Charlotte, NC

Best value and location in Oak Bluffs

Posted Aug 25, 2014
Pros: Value, Staff, and location.
Cons: Upgrade to electronic keys. (Although, actual keys kind of went right along with the MV feel)
Location: Right next to downtown, marina, park, and ferry.
We stayed at the Surf Side Inn over a beautiful August weekend. The Inn is right across the street from the ferry and the marina. You could not ask for a better location in Oak Bluffs. We walked everywhere as everything was right there. The staff was exceptional. Everyone was extremely nice, and ready to help with any questions or services that we needed. The rooms are clean, with a nice little open closet area to store your bags and hang your clothes. Definitely made the room more comfortable. We spent some down time having drinks in the courtyard, which was nicely maintained and made you feel a little secluded. Overall, this was a great hotel for the money. The rates were the cheapest in the area, so I was concerned that it was a dirty hotel. However, I was extremely happy that my worries were completely wrong. Great value, Great location, and Awesome staff/owners.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 7, 2015 by Director of Sales, Hotel Management
Thank you for the 5-star review Mike!