Ratings based on 1,013 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from indiana

Evening clerk could use hospitality training

Posted Jul 16, 2015
The hotel was unique, clean, comfortable, and quiet. Our only disappointment was the lack of interest and hospitality demonstrated by the evening female clerk at the front desk. The hotel cat was friendlier than she. After a decent breakfast we experienced a far more friendly reception from the day clerk at our departure.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Lynchburg, VA

Historic Hotel near Old Salem

Posted Jul 10, 2015
Pros: Everything!
Location: Old Salem is a fabulous historic Moravian settlement, with costumed interpreters. It is very close to the hotel.
This is one of the most wonderful hotels I've ever stayed at! The building is a renovated cotton mill, and is within walking distance of Old Salem. Our room was huge, with a living area as well as two beds. Everything was superb - and the price was very reasonable. They have free wine and cheese at Happy Hour, as well as cookies and milk later.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Jefferson Georgia

one night stay

Posted Jul 8, 2015
Great visit! Very comfortable beds, very clean, great staff, and a very nice breakfast!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from GA

Very lovely hotel

Posted Jun 15, 2015
Pros: I has a very nice setting, close to Old Salem, and a brisk walk up hill to the center of Winston-Salem.
Location: I did not have a car while I was here, so I walked every place.
I had a big room & bathroom, nicely decorated & comfortable.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Indiana

Great Location

Posted Jun 9, 2015
Pros: Location and architecture
Cons: Too hot with a blanket and duvet, but could remove the latter.
The hotel is near Old Salem and to the Arts District Downtown. The hotel itself is very attractive because it is very historic. The rooms were very comfortable and the staff was outstanding.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Nice, easy walk to Old Salem and Wake Forest.

Posted Jun 2, 2015
Pros: We loved the staff and the quaint courtyard.
Cons: The air conditioning did not work well and although we did not watch much tv, the tv is much too small for the spacious room.
Location: The location is great for things in downtown Winston-Salem, ie-Old Salem, Wake Forest, restaurants.
All of the staff were very friendly and helpful. We were happy with everything except the air conditioning. The room never really cooled off.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ga

Posted May 24, 2015
Just amazing to have something so old stand the test of time and be adaptable for today
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Queens, NY

Hotel with character

Posted May 16, 2015
Pros: The historic features of the hotel and the location in Salem. Wine and Cheese at 5:00 p.m. Good breakfast.
Cons: The bathrooms were somewhat out-of-date, but functional.
Location: Historic sites within walking distance. Visitors Center for information attached to the hotel. Good restaurants near hotel.
This charming hotel is located in the historic district of Winston-Salem. The surrounding is pleasant and interesting sites of the city are within easy walking distance. The room was extremely spacious, rooms and the hotel lounge are unique. Thoroughly enjoyed the stay.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from B

Too Hot

Posted May 9, 2015
I woke up in a sweat and got up to turn the air down. Nothing happened. It was too warm in the room and the AC wasn't working. Then they call my room 3 times at 11:45 to "make" sure I was checking out, when I was trying to get packed. Then when I mentioned the AC she didn't apologize or anything. She stated that was the complaint of the day and someone was called.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Raleigh, NC

Excellent Ambiance/Comfort...Lacked Tech Amenities

Posted May 5, 2015
Pros: The ambiance & comfort of the inn was GREAT!! We enjoyed our room & the unexpected treats offered (wine & dessert). The inn was in a great location.
Cons: Electronic/technological amenities....noted in above section: -no advertised HBO -awful Wifi -terrible TV static -business center not working
Location: Close to GREAT restaurants & historical sites to visit. For work purposes, it was close to downtown where the federal buildings are located.
My husband & I stayed at the Brookstown Inn for both pleasure & business. We were very impressed with the ambiance and overall comfort of the Inn. The staff was professional, helpful & friendly. The room was HUGE and furnished very well (inclusive of an updated bathroom). I was impressed by the "makeup towel" that was a nice feature. The Inn offered cheese & wine as well as cookies & milk each evening, which was a nice treat! The complimentary breakfast was delicious and very filling and I would like to mention that the dining room was furnished & set up like a finer dining brunch restaurant (very nice). The only complaints we had (which was VERY frustrating & subsequently annoying) was the lack of electronic comforts. The Inn advertised on both the website & in the room brochure that HBO was available (we watch Game of Thrones on Sunday evenings & we didn't want to miss it).....HBO was NOT available. The TV had terrible static which made it impossible to watch. When we inquired about HBO at the front desk, they said that they are aware that the Inn advertises it, but that it is incorrect. Hmmm.... My husband is an attorney and we were in Winston Salem for a federal hearing he had on Monday. It is crucial that he have internet access. The complimentary Wifi was awful. My husband had to use his personal cell phone data to "hot spot" internet, which used A LOT of data. Lastly, my husband needed to print documents to take to court & the "business center" printer did not work.