Ratings based on 94 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.7 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 5, 2015
Hotel in between renovations. Doors not working properly. Heat not working properly. No breakfast area. No bar.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 26, 2015 by Anna Cooper, AGM, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback regarding our hotel. I am certainly disappointed that your stay was not all that it should have been. Our hotel strives to provide the best guest satisfaction and very disappointed that you did not receive that kind of service. I would like to apologize on behalf of the hotel and our team for your stay. We strive to provide the best customer service to our guest at all times. We are currently under renovations and the rooms are still being upgraded. The rooms will have new furniture and new linens when they are completed. Our pool, bar, fitness center, restaurant, and meeting spaces are also getting a fresh new look. I hope that the next time you are in our area in our area that you will choose to stay at University Hotel. I think you will be pleased with the new changes that are being made. Sincerely, Anna Cooper Asst. General Manager
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Morgantown, PA

The facility was clean. Nice lobby. Spacious room

Posted Mar 5, 2015
Pros: Check in staff was great.
Cons: Sound proofing or removal of unruly guests.
Location: Close to university and shopping. Easy access from route 52.
The experience was ruined by the inability to sleep. There was apparently a group in several rooms on my floor that were carrying on all night, slamming doors, yelling. I know this can happen anywhere, but it was awful from that perspective. At checkout, there were several of us from the third floor upset about the noise. I manage customer service and I feel she should have offered us something as far as a discount since we couldn't sleep.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 26, 2015 by Anna Cooper, AGM, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback regarding our hotel. I am certainly disappointed that your stay was not all that it should have been. Our hotel strives to provide the best guest satisfaction and very disappointed that you did not receive that kind of service. I would like to apologize on behalf of the hotel and our team for your stay. We strive to provide the best customer service to our guest at all times. We are currently under renovations and the rooms are still being upgraded. The rooms will have new furniture and new linens when they are completed. Our pool, bar, fitness center, restaurant, and meeting spaces are also getting a fresh new look. I hope that the next time you are in our area in our area that you will choose to stay at University Hotel. I think you will be pleased with the new changes that are being made. Sincerely, Hotel Management
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 17, 2015
Good location and newly renovated. The staff was very friendly.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 26, 2015 by Anna Cooper, AGM, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for your reviews of our hotel. We work really hard to serve the best guest service in a great environment. I am glad that your stay was a success. I hope that the next time you are in our area in our area that you will choose to stay at University Hotel. I think you will be pleased with the new changes that are being made. Sincerely, Hotel Management
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom New Orleans

Convenience & Comfort

Posted Feb 17, 2015
Pros: Visually, the outward appearance of the hotel is impressive. Well lit & pleasing to the eye. The interior décor & choice of colors was sophisticated
Cons: More lighting in the bathroom is needed, preferably above or around the mirror & bigger pillows on the bed would be a lot more comfortable.
Location: We didn't keep close to the hotel, but there seemed to be a lot of shopping & eating spots close by.
The hotel is being renovated/remodeled so there is work in progress. However, the work is done at the right hours and never interfered with our visit. Beautiful color choices and décor surround the rooms. The staff was very helpful and friendly.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 26, 2015 by Anna Cooper, AGM, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for your reviews of our hotel. We work really hard to serve the best guest service in a great environment. I am glad that your stay was a success. I hope that the next time you are in our area in our area that you will choose to stay at University Hotel. I think you will be pleased with the new changes that are being made. Sincerely, Hotel Management
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Close to highway...easy access!

Posted Feb 15, 2015
Pros: The receptionist is very nice and helpful.
I forgot an electrical toothbrush, had to call 3 times in 2 days to get an answer and they claimed that it was not in the room! I do remember where I put them!!!!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

enjoyed our stay

Posted Jan 26, 2015
it's under construction when we stayed and that didn't matter, they were curtious and very nice
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice renovations

Posted Jan 22, 2015
I love the new renovations. I love the room & the stay was very comfortable. I would def stay here again.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Incomplete upgrade: bathroom needs work

Posted Jan 14, 2015
Upgrades to hotel look like it will be nice when done. Bathroom lighting is currently terrible (one light behind head makes it tough to shave). Also faucet handles installed backwards (hot on right, cold on left). Was told better lighting is planned and faucet will be fixed
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very good hotel

Posted Jan 12, 2015
Pros: It was renovated and had nice decor. It was pretty close to restaurants and 10 mi from downtown Winston-Salem.
Cons: A pool would be nice.
Location: Restaurants, highway - everything is pretty close.
This is a lovely hotel - it's renovated and that was nice. We wished there had been a pool.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 7, 2015
Love the rooms and the new renovations. Would definitely come back.