Ratings based on 108 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.7 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom WV

Under renovations and unsafe

Posted May 4, 2015
Pros: The room was clean
Cons: It should be closed down during renovations...it is unsafe.
The entire floor where the lobby is was under renovations. I have never seen anything like it. the outside was mud where sidewalks should be and the inside was full of dust from re-finishing sheetrock, I can't believe they would be allowed to be open while taking on such a project. I would not have booked there if I had known it would be in such a mess.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom jacksonville, fl

great hotel...once the renovations are complete!

Posted Apr 19, 2015
Pros: with the renovations, the room was very nice.
Location: we were visiting wake forest university and the location was great.
we were visiting wake forest university for campus day. the location was very convenient to the school. once the renovations are complete, the hotel will be very nice. however, currently, the lobby/reception area is a big mess! the room was very nice. however, i have two complaints: 1. for a short person like me, the sink in the bathroom was a little high and so it was kind of difficult to wash my face. 2. the noise from the hallway was very loud and i discovered why...the door is not wide enough for the door frame. you can actually see out to the hallway!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Atlanta, GA

Nice hotel that's under renovations

Posted Apr 18, 2015
Pros: The modern look the renovated floor and rooms.
Cons: They should provide better pillows. The pillows were half the size of a regular pillow. Also they should install a refridgator in the room.
Location: Restaurants and shopping are located a block away.
Even though the hotel was in the middle of major renovations, our room was complete with new modern furnishing/bedding. The room exceeded my expectations considering the renovations.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Atlanta

Not 3 Star as rated by Expedia

Posted Apr 16, 2015
Pros: Location
Location: Great location, it is near a wide choice of restaurants and close to the highway.
Should not be rated 3 Star until renovations are completed and maybe not even then. The two most disappointing things were the fact that the bathroom had no light over the mirror and they furnished the renovated room with old, beat up furniture.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom virginia

Overpriced and poor service

Posted Apr 9, 2015
Hotel was undergoing renovations and management made no attempt to separate the work from their guests. Hotel was noisy as early as 8am, both elevators were filthy and reeked of paint thinner. Staff was lazy, never having someone at the desk for check in or check out, and not responding to calls. TV service was spotty and fridge inoperative.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 5, 2015
Hotel in between renovations. Doors not working properly. Heat not working properly. No breakfast area. No bar.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 26, 2015 by Anna Cooper, AGM, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback regarding our hotel. I am certainly disappointed that your stay was not all that it should have been. Our hotel strives to provide the best guest satisfaction and very disappointed that you did not receive that kind of service. I would like to apologize on behalf of the hotel and our team for your stay. We strive to provide the best customer service to our guest at all times. We are currently under renovations and the rooms are still being upgraded. The rooms will have new furniture and new linens when they are completed. Our pool, bar, fitness center, restaurant, and meeting spaces are also getting a fresh new look. I hope that the next time you are in our area in our area that you will choose to stay at University Hotel. I think you will be pleased with the new changes that are being made. Sincerely, Anna Cooper Asst. General Manager
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Morgantown, PA

The facility was clean. Nice lobby. Spacious room

Posted Mar 5, 2015
Pros: Check in staff was great.
Cons: Sound proofing or removal of unruly guests.
Location: Close to university and shopping. Easy access from route 52.
The experience was ruined by the inability to sleep. There was apparently a group in several rooms on my floor that were carrying on all night, slamming doors, yelling. I know this can happen anywhere, but it was awful from that perspective. At checkout, there were several of us from the third floor upset about the noise. I manage customer service and I feel she should have offered us something as far as a discount since we couldn't sleep.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 26, 2015 by Anna Cooper, AGM, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback regarding our hotel. I am certainly disappointed that your stay was not all that it should have been. Our hotel strives to provide the best guest satisfaction and very disappointed that you did not receive that kind of service. I would like to apologize on behalf of the hotel and our team for your stay. We strive to provide the best customer service to our guest at all times. We are currently under renovations and the rooms are still being upgraded. The rooms will have new furniture and new linens when they are completed. Our pool, bar, fitness center, restaurant, and meeting spaces are also getting a fresh new look. I hope that the next time you are in our area in our area that you will choose to stay at University Hotel. I think you will be pleased with the new changes that are being made. Sincerely, Hotel Management
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by A verified traveler

University Hotel

Posted Feb 26, 2015 on Hotels.com
The hotel was very clean considering that it was under construction. There were signs apologizing for convenience. Despite the construction, very nice decor and a high level of comfort. The only thing that I was disappointed in was that I was not informed or reminded of the continental breakfast by staff. I think that should be a part of the check in process. Overall, I enjoyed my stay and would definitely book it again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 17, 2015
Good location and newly renovated. The staff was very friendly.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 26, 2015 by Anna Cooper, AGM, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for your reviews of our hotel. We work really hard to serve the best guest service in a great environment. I am glad that your stay was a success. I hope that the next time you are in our area in our area that you will choose to stay at University Hotel. I think you will be pleased with the new changes that are being made. Sincerely, Hotel Management
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom New Orleans

Convenience & Comfort

Posted Feb 17, 2015
Pros: Visually, the outward appearance of the hotel is impressive. Well lit & pleasing to the eye. The interior décor & choice of colors was sophisticated
Cons: More lighting in the bathroom is needed, preferably above or around the mirror & bigger pillows on the bed would be a lot more comfortable.
Location: We didn't keep close to the hotel, but there seemed to be a lot of shopping & eating spots close by.
The hotel is being renovated/remodeled so there is work in progress. However, the work is done at the right hours and never interfered with our visit. Beautiful color choices and décor surround the rooms. The staff was very helpful and friendly.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 26, 2015 by Anna Cooper, AGM, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for your reviews of our hotel. We work really hard to serve the best guest service in a great environment. I am glad that your stay was a success. I hope that the next time you are in our area in our area that you will choose to stay at University Hotel. I think you will be pleased with the new changes that are being made. Sincerely, Hotel Management