Ratings based on 36 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
3.5 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Four hour late check in and old warn out room.

Posted Jan 5, 2015
Pros: The best thing about the Iron Horse Inn was the location, ski in and ski out. We enjoyed the hot tub, the one that was working.
Cons: The cost should be lowered drastically for the accommodations and problems with check in. Everything, except the location!!
Location: We skied both days and that was great. We had planned to eat all meals at the resort. We ate at the Library in Winter Park and it was very good.
Arrived at 4:00 to check in and was told that the room had not been cleaned. Waited about 4 hours with 10 other families to have our rooms cleaned. We had to go out to dinner even though we had a kitchen in out room and had brought dinner to prepare. We spent extra money that we did not count on. The room was not very clean including a full dishwasher of dishes that we never used. The room was old and had a hole in the ceiling in the bathroom. Very over priced for what we got.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Parker, CO

Not worth it...

Posted Jan 5, 2015
Pros: The location is good, though on the "ski in, ski out" be aware that the access is mid traverse and will require poling/walking.
Cons: Staff, parking, update the place (likely no changes in 30 years).
We had to wait until 8:00PM to check-in (should have been able to check-in by 4:00PM), because no rooms were ready. We were 1 of at least 5-6 groups that had to wait to check-in. With a 5 year old and a 7 year old, that is an issue. The parking garage has a 6'5" or 6'4" clearance, depending on the building. A standard suburban with a normal ski rack will not fit (would have been too tight in some areas without the rack...). The garage "door" was a tarp, literally. When I asked where I should park as the garage was not an option and all the outside spaces were in use, the response I got was laughter and "Do you want me to invent more spaces?" It another guest being willing to help (getting ready to leave) for me to be able to park.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Chelseafrom Denver

Beautiful Setting

Posted Sep 2, 2014 on Hotels.com
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Iron Horse Resort! The setting was so beautiful, surrounded by trees and bubbling brooks. The room was so cozy and had everything you could wish for - a full kitchen, living and dining areas and a huge balcony. It was like a little home away from home. We liked that it was secluded and such a large property that all the guests were spread out from one another. We felt like we had the whole place to ourselves. The hot tubs were a great treat after a long drive on a chilly night. I would definitely stay here again!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 22, 2014 on Hotels.com
We enjoyed our trip and plan to stay there again
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 9, 2014 on Hotels.com
Because it was off season you had to go to town (3.5 miles) for everything. All of the resorts dining facilities, along with the bar remained closed. The room I had was small, but nice and quiet.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Brian Williamsfrom Fort Collins, Co.

Great little hideaway in Winter Park resort

Posted Aug 7, 2014 on Hotels.com
I really like this place. It feels slightly removed from the resort itself but close enough to walk to. The pool and hot tub are very nice. The restaurant is only open in the winter but it is good too. The rooms are nice and the overall feel of the place is top notch.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Denver area

Posted Aug 5, 2014
Location: Walking distance to village.
Room small, expected more for the price. Room could have been cleaner and aired out. I was told we had a queen bed, I was not told it was a murphy bed.
2 out of 5
Recommended
by MsMelissafrom Colorado

Cramped, with a bed in the wall

Posted Aug 1, 2014 on Hotels.com
Upon arriving at this hotel, there was no one at reception, no one to guide us to the room, only a number to call and a maintenance guy to let us in. We were there during the Enduro bike race weekend so I would expect someone on staff. But the real shock was the room. It was about 250 sq fteet, with a murphy bed! We had to move furniture to pull the bed from the wall and there no absolutely no space for either of us to move once the bed was down. The room stunk of moth balls and was located right above the receiving docks. I was on the phone immediately to request a change. Iron Horse wouldn't do a think for me, but Hotels.com came through, and I just paid a small penalty. Don't stay at this hotel!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice weekend get away

Posted Jul 21, 2014
Enjoyed the room, very clean and comfortable, a little pricey. Liked the secure garage. Was able to cook a meal, with all the necessary dishes and utensils. Only complaint was the refrigerator made a loud noise at night.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Denver

OK for the price.

Posted Jul 12, 2014
Pros: Location and price.
Location: Near Winter Park base village.
Have stayed here several times over many years, most recently 4th of July 2014. Good location in wooded area not far from Winter Park base village. Rooms are somewhat dated. Studios have Murphy beds. Did not like room location and asked to change rooms. Was told told they were sold out but the vacancy sign was on each night. Price was reasonable. Studio is Ok for a few nights. Pool area is nice.