Ratings based on 43 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.3 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
3.4 Service & staff
3.0 Room comfort
3.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified travelerfrom Fort Collins, CO

Nice, centrally located, old school

Posted Aug 21, 2014 on Hotels.com
Great little place, right off the main drag. This is an old-school type of ski lodge (think simple European chalet, wood paneling, lofted bedrooms), so if you are expecting all of the bells and whistles you might be disappointed. However, the rooms were quite comfortable, definitely affordable, and have a unique charm. Cool place!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by 6th Honeymoonfrom Co Springs, CO

Perfect Location, Perfect Price!

Posted Jun 24, 2014 on Hotels.com
My husband and I had a great time, room was exactly as stated and lodge was exactly near downtown as we wanted! It was perfect! We had fun playing ping pong and relaxing in the room and relaxing in shops and restaurants nearby!
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 6, 2014 by Scott, Hotel Management
Happy Honeymoon, we are working on updating the ping pong and game room....adding darts. Did you try the Karaoke?
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 20, 2014 on Hotels.com
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Jimfrom Centennial, CO

You get what you pay for.

Posted Apr 21, 2014
Pros: I just needed a place to sleep for a night, and paying for a bunch of stuff that i wasn't going to use was a waste of money in my case.
Cons: Most everything about the hotel could be upgraded. Rooms are clean but there's really no amenities, other than a hot tub.
Location: The location is good for easy walking to various bars and restaurants in downtown Winter Park.
If you need a cheap place to stay in Winter Park that is centrally located and you don't plan to spend much time in your room, i would recommend this hotel. Otherwise, move along to search for other nicer places. It's a decent place to crash with a Euro-style layout, but the rooms are small, need updating, etc... Don't expect much in the way of 'service' or great amenities and you won't be disappointed. It's a place to go sleep that is near lots of bars and restaurants, nothing more.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 6, 2014 by scott, Hotel Management
Dear Jim - Thank you for taking the time to review The Viking Lodge and Ski Shop. What many guests like about our lodge is that it is located in downtown Winter Park with excellent access to restaurants, bars, bike trails and in the Winter the free shuttle stops right in front of the lodge. Yes our rooms are small and if you are expecting amenities of larger chain hotels The Viking Lodge is probably not the right fit for your vacation. We do have a hot tub and game room with a ping pong table and pool table.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

If you just need a place to sleep and shower-save$

Posted Mar 19, 2014
Pros: Hot tub, microwave, sink, icemachine & coffee machine in lounge. Had to find staff in ski shop if you wanted anything, but they were really friendly
Cons: Fan in the bathroom! Extra set of towels, pillows, linens in the room somewhere since there is no housekeeping.
Location: The shuttle to Winter Park is very close and convenient. However, it is faster if you drive to a park 'n ride at Winter park.
If you're looking for a cheap place to stay in Winter Park close to the mountain this is your place. Not all their rooms are the same, we elected for a double bed room. It is very small but functional. The toilet had about 4 inches on either side from the wall. There was no window or fan for the bathroom (so might want to bring an airfreshner if you know what I mean...) The t.v. was small and didn't have a ton of channels, but it was fine. The walls are a little thin, but since there aren't that many rooms it was a pretty quiet place. Shower was small, but worked great. Its right in the middle of big shopping/eating complex - a very convenient location. Perfect for a couple who don't plan on spending a lot of time in their room, and/or don't mind being a bit in each others way when they are there. We would ski all day, go in the hot tub, shower, eat, watch tv, then go to bed. We brought a cooler and filled with ice to keep food cold.
2 out of 5
Recommended
by Edwardfrom Denver

Hostel Stay

Posted Mar 3, 2014 on Hotels.com
This is a hostel-like lodge. If you've traveled in Europe & Asia through hostels with private rooms then you've got a good idea of what to expect - creaky floors, gaps in the ceiling, no drapes over the door window, musty-smelling mattress and linens. If you just need an inexpensive room & you're very accommodating, then this may work for you. Staff are friendly. Very convenient location.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Peter Simmonsfrom Warwick

Great value

Posted Mar 2, 2014 on Hotels.com
Staff all charming and helpful. Ski and boot hire within hotel. Ski bus stop right outside. Ice rink across car park below covered parking
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by avisobe

nice place

Posted Feb 23, 2014
everybody was so nice. free hot chocolate in the lobby lol everything was great. the only thing was that the lodge is wood so you hear every step people take outside and the heater make noises, but if you don't mind about a little noise it's a great place, close to everywhere. rent your skis there! much cheaper!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Try somewhere else

Posted Feb 17, 2014
Although the people were nice, this hotel looked and smelled like it had been built in the 1950's and has had no updates since. It was a roof over your head, and that is about it. It's probably worth paying a little more and staying in a newer hotel closer to the slopes and with a few more amenities.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Ashleyfrom Atlanta

Awesome Location

Posted Jan 28, 2014 on Hotels.com
Overall this place isn't bad despite the age. It was very close to Winter Park Resort and within walking distance of shops and restaurants. Only cons are thin walls and tricky check in process. I would definitely stay here again on my next trip. Great deal for sure.