Ratings based on 103 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Renovated with nice bathroom.

Posted Aug 16, 2014
Pros: Handy to various places.
Cons: Not sure. Perhaps breakfast of some sort.
Location: Walmart not too far away. Famous and historic Shoe Box toward downtown.
Found the motel clean and updated. Staff helpful. Quiet motel..
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

it was a clean hotel and the staff was friendly

Posted Jul 16, 2014
a good experience.would stay at thunderbird again,
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

recommended

Posted May 17, 2014
If you just need a place to stay in Baraboo, the Thunderbird is ideal--clean, cheap, convenient to restaurants. My room, at least, had been recently redecorated, with flat-screen tv, free Wi-Fi, etc.
2 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 6, 2014 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by HD from SD

Posted Mar 24, 2014 on Hotels.com
definitely worthy of 50 a night
4 out of 5
Recommended
by abby from janesville

Posted Mar 17, 2014 on Hotels.com
Linens on bed could be nicer. More coffee condiments overall stay lovely
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Mike from Chicago

Perfect place to crash

Posted Mar 14, 2014 on Hotels.com
We stayed here for cheap and were completely satisfied. We came out for some skiing at Devil's Head and needed a place to stay. Came upon this place. Extremely clean with a flatscreen TV, fridge, and microwave too! If I knit picked, I could comment that the showerhead was installed for a midget. No biggie though. Walking distance to gas station/grocery store, and a bar/bowling alley down the street. Highly recommend. We will stay here again!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Veronika R from Chicago, IL

Great location near Cascade Mtn

Posted Mar 11, 2014 on Hotels.com
My sister and I usually rent a cottage in nearby Poynette this time of year, but being short on time and money this year, we opted for a quick overnight only trip and go snow tubing up at Cascade. The Thunderbird was conveniently located just 12 miles up WI-33 in Baraboo, and was only about a 15-20 minute drive to the motel from Cascade. There was nobody in the office, but a sign directed me to dial 0 and wait for someone to pick up, and the manager/owner came right down to check us in. We'd pre-paid through hotels.com, so he gave us our key and we were all set. He was very nice. The room was on the ground floor, had 2 queen sized beds, flat screen tv, microwave and fridge, and was very clean, the bathroom spotless, and the water pressure in the shower was awesome. The one flaw in the shower was the height of the shower head, it was rather low, and I'm short! The motel is near several restaurants, and not far from the town's business area. The Four Star Family restaurant was next door, so we walked over for a late lunch. I slept pretty well, it was quiet in the area. In the morning when we were leaving, I took the key back to the office and the manager he asked me if the room was ok, did I sleep well, would I stay again, etc. I thought that was a nice touch. The motel is close to Devil's Lake state park, and while I'm past my camping days, I'd definitely consider hiking/biking at Devil's Lake and then stay at the Thunderbird at night!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

The bathroom was freezing, no heet got into it.

Posted Mar 3, 2014
Pros: Everything was fine except the cold floor in bathroom.
Cons: The heat going into the bathroom.
Location: The stupid Ho-Chunk casino where nobody wins!!!!!!! Won' be going there too soon.
The owner is great, friendly, but the bathroom was freezing, even after we warmed up the room. Everything else was fine. Would spend another day or two there in the future.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by John from Denver

Great Business Motel

Posted Mar 2, 2014 on Hotels.com
This is a good family run basic motel that is central to all your needs in the greater Sauk County area. The rates are good, the place is clean and there is an outstanding restaurant next door that discounts meals for patrons of the motel.