Ratings based on 108 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 7, 2014
Pros: We liked the friendly service and receprtion.
Cons: Larger towels
The hotel is a vintage 50s/60s motor inn. The manager was very friendly and knowledgeable about the area and very willing to give directions and other tips. Both the next doo restaurant and the Mexican restaurant done the road were enjoyable. The room was comfortable and smoke free.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ankeny, IA

The hotel location was easy to find.

Posted Oct 2, 2014
Pros: Low price.
Location: Circus World Museum, International Crane Foundation, and Devils Lake State Park are only minutes away.
We chose Thunderbird because it did not offer and charge for frills that we didn't want and wouldn't use.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from waukesha

Very convenient to devils lake,and circus museum.

Posted Sep 20, 2014
made reservation for wrong day and staff were very nice about switching days even tho they were practically sold out.only thing is motel is right on very busey street .
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Renovated with nice bathroom.

Posted Aug 16, 2014
Pros: Handy to various places.
Cons: Not sure. Perhaps breakfast of some sort.
Location: Walmart not too far away. Famous and historic Shoe Box toward downtown.
Found the motel clean and updated. Staff helpful. Quiet motel..
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by Debra J from USA

Take the Chance...

Posted Jul 24, 2014 on Hotels.com
... an impromptu overnight led us back to Baraboo and this quaint little motel. It looks like a shady lady -- but let me tell you, the updated room and fast, quality check in was WONDERFUL. [We'd spend two nights in a 'chain' hotel in Dubuque, IA and we NOT satisfied at all!!] The room was clean, the beds comfortable. It was a Sunday evening and the rates we low. There was a microwave and fridge that came in handy for our leftovers. 10% off at the diner across the parking lot with your room key!! We booked this via HOTEL.COM on the way to the Thunderbird and when we arrived 15 minutes later, they had our reservation printed out and our key ready for us when we walked in the office door. We didn't expect a lot out of this little gem other than some sweet memories [and a GREAT name] to tell our friends about, but boy were we fooled. It was an EXCELLENT experience!!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

it was a clean hotel and the staff was friendly

Posted Jul 16, 2014
a good experience.would stay at thunderbird again,
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by bob_t442 from punta gorda FL

Nice location and facility

Posted Jun 26, 2014 on Hotels.com
Pleasantly surprised to get a quality room at a quality location after arriving in Baraboo on the Hot Rod Magazine 20th Anniversary PowerTour. The hotel exceeded my expectations. Comfortable room with refrigerator to keep my perishables fresh and refreeze my ice packs for the next day.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

recommended

Posted May 17, 2014
If you just need a place to stay in Baraboo, the Thunderbird is ideal--clean, cheap, convenient to restaurants. My room, at least, had been recently redecorated, with flat-screen tv, free Wi-Fi, etc.
2 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 6, 2014 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by HD from SD

Posted Mar 24, 2014 on Hotels.com
definitely worthy of 50 a night